We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic, chic, charming and affordable, what more could anyone want???” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel du Haut Marais

Save Saved
You added Hotel du Haut Marais to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel du Haut Marais
7 rue des Vertus, 75003 Paris, France (Notre Dame / Marais)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 1,793 hotels in Paris
Tintagel, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Romantic, chic, charming and affordable, what more could anyone want???”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Spent 3 nights here with my boyfriend...couldn't wish for a sweeter more comfortable and romantic place to stay. Our room was tiny but so comfortable it didn't matter (you just have to be organised and shove everything in the wardrobes!) The room had polished wooden floors, beamed ceiling, cast iron radiators, comfy bed and was sweetly decorated with framed Degas pencil sketches, and vintage-style wallpaper.It had lovely touches like funky pull out bed lamps (like pull out shaving mirrors!) and interesting bits and bobs that gave the room character. The best bit was the two person shower...a walk in shower with two shower heads so you can shower together without fighting about bits getting cold! Being a soppy girl, I loved that! Being on a tiny cobbled side street the room was silent and only a 10 minute walk down to the Seine, or two minutes from the Metro (which you have to go to as The Arts et Metiers platform is decked in copper with port holes and a whole Jules Verne theme-really cool!) Didier is charming and helpful, breakfasts are sumptuous in the vaulted cellar, and we tried 3 of the restaurants on their recommended list, all fantastic! Great location, the Louvre and Musee d'Orsay within walking distance (25 mins) and the Marais district itself full of wonders. I could rattle on for ages but to summarise, if you want to stay somewhere chic and charming with character and history and a central location, then you can't do better in my opinion!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    97
    30
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
70
7
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Really, a re-cap of all the other positives expressed by other reviews:

* Great Location - tucked away in a quiet, atmospheric quarter of the Marais but only a 15 min stroll to Notre Dame

* Great Character - lots of artistic touches and the breakfast cellar is a real experience.

* Great Breakfasts - Baguettes and croissants may not sound too exciting but the quality was outstanding and continuously replinished These breakfasts really set us up well for the day.

* Great Accomodation - 5th Floor apartment very comfortably held 4 adults, even with all our bulky winter clothes.

* Great Hosting - Didier & Marc ensured we had an extremely comfortable and enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johannesburg
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights in the small apartment (perhaps about 45 sqm, tastefully furnished in country style without frills) on the fifth floor of this delightful hotel (more properly, a guest house) in mid-January 2013 at a very reasonable price of E198 per night, breakfast included. Didier makes for a helpful, if often flustered, host and ensures that everything fucntions like clock-work. The apartment has a very comfortable queen-sized bed, a large and comfortable sleeper couch in the lounge, good linen, a properly equipped kitchen and small but efficient bathroom (with shower) in which the towels were changed every day. There is a small lift which makes life considerably easier when you have been trudging around the town all day. We faced into the little elementary school opposite the hotel which is very charming, but the apertment has windows facing other roof-top views which made one feel one could live there. Breakfast was good but not exceptional: orange juice, tea/coffee, croissants, baguette, 2 kinds of cheeses, ham, fresh fruit, prunes, yoghurts, jams. The closest metro is Ars et Metiers, about 5 mins walk, and Reamur-Sebastopol is about 10 mins away if you need better connections. Free and efficient wi-fi. There are only downsides: (1) that the hotel is in the quieter part of the Marais, about 10 mins walk through usually deserted (and rather run-down) lanes and cobbled alleys to the main hub of the restaurant/bar scene. The area seems to have been taken over by lots of Chinese wholesalers dealing in endless cheap bijoux and handbags, and ugly little Chinese restaurants; so it doesn't really feel like the Marais closer to Rivoli or Vosges, and lacks the charm of the 5th or 6th arondissements. (2) the breakfasts, after 5 days, became a little boring: a change in the type of jam ham or or cheese or pastry would have been most welcome. I would stay here again but would first make enquiries about the area which is fast developing into something quite different from what one would expect of the Marais: not unsafe at all, just tending to be dull and, thanks to the endless kitch jewellery, decidedly unchic.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

I lived in Paris for many years and speak French so know it extremely well, these days I live in London with my French wife (and 3 boys) but still regularly visit Paris. Almost every time I stay in a different hotel, constantly looking for that special place and this is one of them. If only I could get a room here more often I'd be a regular.

To start with I was greeted like a long lost friend, the couple who run the place, Didier & Marc were relaxing in the reception (really a lounge), if I wasn't rushing back out again I would have stayed for a drink. The rooms are superbly decorated, tastefully and spacious. Not the typical plastic you find in even the 4 star places.

If you're not familiar with Paris, it's pretty much in the heart of the city, certainly the part you'd be walking around at night. Excellent for restaurants, a short walk from the Centre George Pompidou, Place des Vosges and smack in the middle of the wonderful Marais.

This is a small place, I think technically it's more of a Chambres d'Hotes than a hotel but it's the sort of place you'd want to live in. If you can get a room here, go for it, wait for me to get my booking in first though.

Room Tip: Getting any of them is a good achievement
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chew Magna, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

I chose this hotel for our base in Paris for several reasons. Firstly for its excellent reviews, but also because it offered us two rooms (travelling with two teenage daughters) for a very reasonable price. We were greeted very hospitably even though we were quite a lot later than we said we would be. We were expecting small accommodation and they weren't wrong! Even the stairs were tight. But it was all very beautifully put together and well looked after. The breakfasts were really lovely, quite simple but plentiful, and served elegantly by the host. The WC by the breakfast room is worth a trip to Paris on own! The Hotel Haut Marais is a little gem tucked down a quiet little side road, but a stones through from some very Iively and interesting areas. A real winner and an excellent price too.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford Haven
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

I think it has all been said before but would like to add my compliments too.Very quick response from Didier each time I emailed, no matter how trivial my request may have appeared!We travelled with hand luggage only and were very pleased to learn that shampoo, shower jel and hair drier were all provided, not always the case these days. Each day the towels were changed and bottles of water were replenished. The hotel is in a very convenient location for walking or taking the metro. We had not planned to do the latter but as it poured all day we were able to visit a few museums without getting too wet.
Celebrated my birthday in a restaurant recommended by Didier, we were not disappointed. Every one was so friendly. And if we ever got lost and much to my daughter and husband embarressment I asked someone for directions, they went out of their way to help, with either google map on their phones or actually walking with us until we were sure where we were going. Most impressed.
We would be happy to return to this hotel. If I did have one very small criticism it would be that the lighting in the rooms is very atmospheric but not good for reading or putting on your makeup!
Hope you enjoy as we did.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

We chose the Hotal du Haut Marais mainly because of all the good reviews they received on Tripadvisor, and we're so glad we did! We reserved well ahead of time through e-mails with Didier, and he was always very prompt, friendly and courteous with his replies to all our questions. This made the reservation process go very easily and smoothly. When we finally arrived at the hotel, we felt as if we were old friends, and were warmly welcomed by Didier, who also provided us with a map and information about things to do in the area. The room was small but had all the amenities we needed, including free wifi, and the bathroom was quite spacious. Both the room and the bathroom were spotless. Also, the sheets and towels (nice large, fluffy white ones) were changed every day, which is not always the case, even in some well-known hotels. The breakfast room in the basement was charming, and the breakfast itself was excellent. We also enjoyed meeting some of the other guests and chatting over breakfast. Did I mention the location? This hotel is located close to many major attractions, and we walked almost everywhere in the center of Paris. But even though it is centrally located, it is on a very quiet side street, so we slept very well at night. I would classify this hotel as something between a bed & breakfast and a boutique hotel, and it was perfect for us. We highly recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel du Haut Marais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Haut Marais

Address: 7 rue des Vertus, 75003 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Notre Dame / Marais
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 1,793 hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Paris in the Marais district, close to Beaubourg, the Hotel de Ville, Place des Vosges, Ile Saint-Louis, the Hotel du Haut Marais overlooks a quiet and pedestrian street of old Paris and was completely renovated in early 2010.Composed of only five double rooms, 2 suites and 1 apartment for 4 people, we operate not as a regular hotel but like guesthouse. We welcome you with us since we live on site.We want to offer you the comfort of a traditional hotel with the friendly atmosphere of the guesthouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel du Haut Marais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel du Haut Marais, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.