We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay in Paris” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel du Haut Marais

Save Saved
You added Hotel du Haut Marais to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel du Haut Marais
7 rue des Vertus, 75003 Paris, France (Notre Dame / Marais)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 1,794 hotels in Paris
Haifa
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“A great place to stay in Paris”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

We chose the Hotal du Haut Marais mainly because of all the good reviews they received on Tripadvisor, and we're so glad we did! We reserved well ahead of time through e-mails with Didier, and he was always very prompt, friendly and courteous with his replies to all our questions. This made the reservation process go very easily and smoothly. When we finally arrived at the hotel, we felt as if we were old friends, and were warmly welcomed by Didier, who also provided us with a map and information about things to do in the area. The room was small but had all the amenities we needed, including free wifi, and the bathroom was quite spacious. Both the room and the bathroom were spotless. Also, the sheets and towels (nice large, fluffy white ones) were changed every day, which is not always the case, even in some well-known hotels. The breakfast room in the basement was charming, and the breakfast itself was excellent. We also enjoyed meeting some of the other guests and chatting over breakfast. Did I mention the location? This hotel is located close to many major attractions, and we walked almost everywhere in the center of Paris. But even though it is centrally located, it is on a very quiet side street, so we slept very well at night. I would classify this hotel as something between a bed & breakfast and a boutique hotel, and it was perfect for us. We highly recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    105
    33
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
77
7
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Devon, Pennsylvania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Convenient, safe location. Very friendly, informative host (Didier). Small but very clean, well designed room. Excellent breakfast buffet. The street, blocked off to traffic, with an elementary school directly across from the hotel, was quiet at night except for an occasional, loud talking party goer.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

A friend and I decided to go to Paris. We both have been there before. I have stayed in different places over the years (left and right bank) but I prefer staying close to the Centre Pompidou area. The things I would like to say about the Hotel du Haut Marais in short is the following:

great location, very friendly hosts, small but very well provided rooms, very clean, stylish bathroom, fantastic breakfast buffet

I will definitely stay there again.

you cannot stay any better for

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

I liked this hotel because it worth for value, the reasonable price, i especially liked the restaurant, they made a special decoration for it. My room was lovely, well-decorated, a desk table accompanying with a light lamp. The helpful manager showed many things to do and i decided to book a city trip included with sailing boat on the Seine river. I would recommend this hotel !!!

Room Tip: lovely room was deluxe
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We really enjoyed our recent stay at the Hotel Haut Marais. It's in a great location, is reasonably priced, has small but stylish rooms with breakfast & WIFI included. We loved staying in the Marais and being able to walk most places was a huge bonus! We would definately stay at there again & would highly recommend it.

Make sure you get directions on your way out because it's on a small sidestreet & can be a little hard to find.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Pros: Updated decor, updated bathrooms, good location in the Marais, good price that includes a continental breakfast
Cons: very small room (even by Parisian standards), owner who could use a bit more customer service skills (especially when compared to our other stays in France).

As the owner will tell you, this property is more of a guesthouse than a hotel. Because it's off a main avenue, it's quiet at night. But if you need to sleep during the day, the fact it's across from a school playground makes a nap difficult.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, FL
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

My husband and I visited in September (2012) for 4 nights. We stayed in the 5th floor apartment with my sister and her husband. There was plenty of room for the 4 of us. We all LOVED it! It is a charming, meticulously clean, old building that has been renovated and well maintained. In a fabulous neighborhood, close to the Arts & Metiers Metro station and within walking distance to many great restaurants, shops, etc. The owner, Didier, is charming, accomodating, friendly and helpful, and also gives you your privacy. You are a guest in his home essentially. The breakfast provided is excellent, more than enough food, fresh fruit, croissant and baguettes, and coffee of course! Everything about it....terrific. and not to leave out...the French poodle, Dixie...adorable!

Room Tip: The apartment has a separate bedroom with a queen size bed. There is a pull-out bed in the living r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel du Haut Marais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Haut Marais

Address: 7 rue des Vertus, 75003 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Notre Dame / Marais
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 1,794 hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Paris in the Marais district, close to Beaubourg, the Hotel de Ville, Place des Vosges, Ile Saint-Louis, the Hotel du Haut Marais overlooks a quiet and pedestrian street of old Paris and was completely renovated in early 2010.Composed of only five double rooms, 2 suites and 1 apartment for 4 people, we operate not as a regular hotel but like guesthouse. We welcome you with us since we live on site.We want to offer you the comfort of a traditional hotel with the friendly atmosphere of the guesthouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel du Haut Marais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel du Haut Marais, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.