We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad meal unrecognized” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Chez Fernand

Chez Fernand
127 Boulevard du Montparnasse, 75006 Paris, France (Saint-Germain-des-Pres)
+33 1 43 27 47 11
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6,812 of 13,870 Restaurants in Paris
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Bad meal unrecognized”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We had read the reviews and this restaurant was in walking distance from our hotel so seemed a good choice, however ... My husband and I both ordered the cote de boeuf with pepper sauce. Mine was very good however my husbands was very overlooked and very tough to the point he could not eat it. Our waiter was nowhere in site to be even able to flag him down and advise him. When he finally arrived, I was done my meal and my husnand explained that his steak wasn't edible. The server did offer another steak dinner but by this time the meal was done. We ordered a dessert and when the bill came there was no recognition of the problem ( although this may be a north American policy. When my husband said he didn't feel he should pay for a bad steak the server said it wasn't his fault and he could have had another one. So a bad steak can happen anywhere but you don't want it to happen here cause the response was much less than expected

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    34
    10
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous Little Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

This is a great place to get some good food with great ambiance! Lots of locals eat there so you know it is good. After dinner and wine walk the streets in the area which is loaded with bars and shops. This place was a graet find.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great recommendation from the hotel staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

The staff at Hotel d'Aubusson recommended this restaurant. They made reservations for us and it was a good that they did. Even with reservations we had to wait for 20 minutes before being seated. The restaurant is so small that you must stand in the dinning room to wait for your table. The waiter was nice enough to give my wife and I a complimentary glass of wine while we waited.

When we were seated, we got a great table. The one right in front of the window is a perfect table for two. The food was very good. We went for the specials listed on the board. I had the duck breast which was cooked perfectly and my wife had the boeuf bourguignon. She enjoyed their interpretation but commented on the lack of carrots, onions, and mushrooms that she has found in other recipes. We had a very good bottle of wine recommended by the waiter that went perfectly with our meal.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buchanan, Michigan
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Cozy Restaurant with Great Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Yummy food with a Good variety of selections. We ate there three times, once with a graduate of a New York culinary school and another with wine experts from California. They were all very pleased. The service was quite good except for one evening when the server was harried.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Went back for a return visit before departing Paris...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We had such an amazing experience here the first time as tourists, we wanted to make it our last meal before we left Paris (until we can return again, of course). My wife had beef bourguignon that was amazing one night and the shank of lamb the next visit. I stuck with seafood both times and the scallops and later the sea bass were also delicious.

What really separated them was the wine pairing recommended by our sommelier/waiter and the chocolate soufflé dessert. It was simply the amazing French meal that you would envision if you were traveling in from somewhere else.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Fernand also viewed

 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Chez Fernand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chez Fernand, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.