We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Au Relais

Au Relais
48 rue Lamarck, 75018 Paris, France (Montmartre)
01 46 06 68 32
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3,347 of 13,462 Restaurants in Paris
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Montmartre
Charleston, SC
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We were in Europe for two weeks and this our best dinner!! Fresh food and friendly waitress. All four of our party had a great dining experience!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    34
    8
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good value food in beautiful setting off the tourist track”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

My mother and I stopped off at Au Relais after a visit to the Sacre Coeur. And what a find it was! Well away from the tourist trail of the Place du Tertre, we felt like we'd stepped in to eat with the locals. I had a cheese burger and my mother had a quiche. The portions were generous, the wine good value, the service speedy and friendly - all for an extremely reasonable price. Will definitely be back!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“A good, solid neighborhood bistro”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Whenever we stay in our friends apartment on the back (non-tourist) side of Montmarte, Au Relais is our local. Even though Edouard has retired, the new owners have carried on the tradition. It is an archtypical neighborhood bistro. The tables outside are always full of locals sipping wine or coffee and talking away the time. The inside is typical, too. Small tables set very close together. That is one of the things we like about the place. You get to know your neighbors. This time there were two delightful ladies from Florida on one side with whom my wife shared travel stories. On the other side was a friendly Parisian who ordered the same entree I did, Langue de Beouf, and we had a fine time discussing it and other related body parts. The service is attentive without hovering. The customers are more locals than tourists. The food is well prepared. The prices are reasonable. Give it a try.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
217 reviews 217 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Good French food and pleasant service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

I have now eaten here a couple of times, and enjoyed it each time. Last night I came for dinner with a neighbour, and we all enjoyed our food. Each course was a decent size, and tasty (the cheese based starters we had were delicious). There are daily specials which are reasonably priced. The house wine is good and not expensive.

The restaurant is a few minutes walk down the hill from the Sacre Coeur, on the northern slope of the hill. This is a pleasant part of Montmartre, and off the main tourist drag. Therefore the service and food are better, as the restaurant has to rely on locals rather than tourists, and locals wouldn't come back if it was poor quality.

The service was warm and friendly. The staff were all young, but attentive, and taking their jobs seriously. At one point my neighbours chair broke (long story cut short), and she fell to the floor. The staff could not have been more helpful and apologetic as they helped her get back up!!

It is a good venue for both lunch and dinner, with a buzzing atmosphere. For those who don't speak French, they do provide an English menu, but this doesn't mean that this is a tourist restaurant, it is full of locals from the neighbourhood.

The restaurant can get busy, and each time I have been the restaurant has been full. Few people seem to make reservations, so if you turn up early you should get a seat. They have some outside seating which is great in the summer (or for the smokers!).

There is only one toilet for both sexes, so you might have to wait a moment, but I have never noticed a long queue.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Food was good, the service not so much”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

A lot of mistakes were made with our food: we asked for 2 glasses of wine but instead got a 1/2 liter karaffe, my girlfriend asked for fries but got patatoes (I did get the fries) and the medium stake was cooked rare. It also took a while before we got the bill.
Apart from the steak bring rare, the food tasted good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Au Relais also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Au Relais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Au Relais, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.