We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great non-valentine dinner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Bistro T

Le Bistro T
17 Rue Campagne Premiere, 75014 Paris, France (Montparnasse)
01 43 20 79 27
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Save up to 40% when you reserve online *
Le Bistro T is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3,226 of 13,133 Restaurants in Paris
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Montparnasse
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A great non-valentine dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015

On a friend's stopover in Paris, when most restaurants were doing Valentine specials, we found this lovely restaurant on Lafourchette.com. On entering, the first thing I noticed were the immaculate white tableclothes at a time when such niceties are quickly disappearing. The menu is presented on a home-printed single sheet of paper attached to a clipboard with only about 5 choices per dish - appetizer, main, dessert (maybe others I did not notice). This limited but ephimeral menu seemed to be a guarantee of fresh ingredients, and so it turned out to be. On the menu, there is a suggested wine pairing for each dish which is a great way to go, especially when having fish for an appetizer and meat for the main. The portions are small, but the food is excellent. The duckling was served with perfectly cooked carrots and the parsnips were to die for. I would have loved to have a bit more of these. Also, the service was fine, always a pleasantly rare surprise in Paris.

  • Visited February 2015
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    28
    5
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Leicester UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Bistro in Montparnasse”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2015

Excellent french bistro with a good menu. Each dish has a suggested wine to accompany it so if you are happy to drink wine by the glass rather than buying a whole bottle, this works very well. We found the choices were well matched and of high quality. Service was friendly, good and not over done. Not cheap, but average for this part of Paris and this quality of food.

  • Visited January 2015
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leongatha, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Try the "dos de cabillaud"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Service and ambience excellent. Foie gras de canard refined and well presented. Dos de cabillaud highlight of the meal: delicate, perfectly cooked fish, with tasty accompaniment of ribbons of green and yellow courgettes. Recommended wine, available by the glass, was reasonably priced and very pleasant. Dessert of globe chocolat did not quite live up to expectation: it looked spectacular, and the chocolate was of high quality, but the rhubarb was undercooked.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good Bistro, great for dinner, outstanding for lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Good bistro type food. Friendly staff. Dinner prices are what to expect in a good bistro in this area of Paris. But as the street is residential Montparnasse with few businesses or offices around, the place is seldom full at luch time and luncheon prices are a bargain, Remember Jean Seberg in "Breathless" ("A bout de souffle") This bistro is rue Campagne première,a couple houses down from the one where Jean Seberg and Jean-Paul Belmondo lived their last night (in the film), and where Jean-Paul Belmondo dies after being shot by police (in the film). Incidentally Jean Seberg happens to be buried in Cimetière Montparnasse, 400 meters away, a must after-lunch walk for movie buffs. But whether one remembers Jean Seberg or not, this Bistro T is a place to enjoy good life, good food and good wine.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great food / excelente comida Francesa!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

The food was very good at this restaurant. They do not have English menus. So if you don't speak or read French, that could be a problem. I recommend to learn the basics, chicken, beef, bill pease, etc. Then just point and let them serve you. The place was attended by an older couple who seem to be the owners. So they went out of their way to ensure we liked the food. We would definitely go back. I had a salad, my husband had beef and my 7 year old who has a picky taste had the chicken. The chicken was tender and juicy. My daughter ate it all (that usually means it is very good).

Excelente comida francesa. No tienen menús en Ingles lo que puede ser problema. Pero la comida lo vale. Te recomiendo que aprendas las palabras básicas: pollo, carne, cordero, la cuenta, etc. La comida es my buena.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Bistro T also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Le Bistro T? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Bistro T, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.