We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Beginning To Our Food Journey” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kei

Kei
5, rue du Coq Heron, 75001 Paris, France (Louvre / Palais-Royal)
+33 (0)1 42 33 14 74
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #102 of 13,200 Restaurants in Paris
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Louvre / Palais-Royal
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Beginning To Our Food Journey”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

We started in Paris for our holidays and Kei didn't disappoint.
Food, Service and The Chef set the bar high.
Chef Kei has a great palate and we loved the journey he took us on. His dishes were seasoned well and plated clean. I'm glad Kei was one of our chosen restaurants for 2 people who love food.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    48
    14
    1
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Excellent food, at a price though”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

The place: contemporary chic, large tables, but noisy during our dinner as 2 groups of businessmen were quite loud during all the dinner... The service: excellent, each course arrives 7mn after the end of the previous one, well organized ! ... the food: surprised set menu . The mix of flavours maybe too subtile sometimes to distinguish all the tastes, but very good overall, and the first 6-course menu is filling enough, incl mise en bouche and cheese on top of it. Special kudos for the slow cooked gambas, the veggie starter, and the deserts. Lots of creativity overall. Only downside was the "iberique cochon", the meat was nothing special, we've had much better in traditional restaurants... the price: 98€ for the cheapest set menu at dinner, and minimum 10€ for a glass of wine, be ready for it !!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“very creative french cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

unique menu full of colors and surpises. actually french, the only japanese touch being a low use of cream and butter

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Fantastic Dining Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We recently went to Kei and had a sublime experience. Before touching the food, the staff need a generous nod. They knew everything we wanted without having to be asked, and left us alone when we wanted to be left alone. They explained the food and personalized the experience. Can't say enough good things about them.
For food we had the complete menu, which was:
1) Amuse Bouche of four items. a. small spiced frittata, b. spoon of flours of olive (foam, oil, olive itself), c. beet macaroon, and d. something my mind has forgotten.
2) first course of avocado and crab meat soup with caviar
3) cold salad of vegetables with salmon
4) red wine risotto with freshly shaved black truffle from Tasmania
5) sea bass
6) beef
7) two deserts - peach melba with raspberry coulee and raspberries and a trio of small deserts including dark chocolate truffle, caramel dipping sauce and sticks.

The descriptions naturally don't do any of the food justice. The perfect simplicity of the presentation hides the complex preparation that goes into such food, but speaks much of the chef and his origins. Much food I have eaten here in Japan is meticulously prepared by presented with simplicity that belies the work that does into it.

With a bottle of wine, and paying extra for the truffles and the beef our evening came out to under US$600, which we were happy with. You could do a trip to Kei for much less than this though if you wanted to.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
“Very good, but below my expectations...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

It was not amazing as I expected, but is a very good restaurant. We went for lunch and we choose the most complete menu (85 euros). Everything was very well prepared but in my opinion nothing had the "wow" factor. The best for me was the dessert. I don't know if I was with a very high expectation, but I think is a restaurant that you could try, because as I said, the food is very good, the ambiance is very nice, the service is very attentive and the price is quite reasonable for the level of the restaurant, specially for lunch.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kei also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Kei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kei, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.