We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent dinner, great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Chalet Savoyard

Le Chalet Savoyard
58 Rue de Charonne, 75011 Paris, France (Bercy / Nation)
01 48 05 13 13
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Le Chalet Savoyard is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6,363 of 13,870 Restaurants in Paris
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Bercy / Nation
Description: In a warm atmosphere in the heart of Paris in the 11th arrondissement, this stylish restaurant attracts all lovers of authentic Savoyard cuisine made with genuine local products.
Picton, Canada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Excellent dinner, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We visited this restaurant on our last night in Paris. It was a 15 minute walk from the apartment we were renting and we went on a Sunday night. We didn't reserve and luckily they squeezed us in - within ten minutes there was a line up and that continued through the evening. We didn't have the fondue or raclette since we didn't think we could eat that much. I had the savoy ham entrée and my spouse the savoyard salad which include the ham in it. Great discovery for me as it was the first time to have that ham. We both had the chicken scallop and it too was great. The best part of the evening was watching the hustling staff. They just never stopped racing around the restaurant but were smiling and helpful when asked questions.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    87
    21
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
boston
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Excellent place for Fondue in Paris”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

They don't speak English nor do they have an English menu but they are very accomodating and the food was delicious. We're fans of the Melting Pot stateside, but they need to take a lesson from this place.

It's not the most "romantic" place you can go in Paris - and certainly not as much fun as Refuge de Fondue, but it was still very nice. You do sit tucked back from the road, so you don't have the traditional Paris eating on the street experience. But the courtyard was quite nice.

I don't eat bread so they brought us potatoes and vegetables to dip in the cheese. The fondue itself was incredible. Perfect. We followed dinner with Fondue de Chocolat - served with a plate full of fruit. Simple, but excellent.

Highly recommend. Open late (we went at 10pm). Enjoy!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Traditional food in contemporary setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

It's hard to find traditional food in a contemporary setting but Chalet does just that. I hope it makes it because of course Savoyard cooking is heavy and might scare away the trendy crowd but the cuisine here is excellent as well as the atmosphere. Excellent terrace.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“excellent raclette”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

actually it was second time i've tasted it.
it was great. big raclette cheese with potatoes, ham ..etc
it was hard to eat at once everything because that cheese heating so fast . so I have to eat them quickly.
but I liked it so much
the prices also great. around 20euros per person.
If you want to try it, just come here.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“The worst fondue I've ever ate”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

I've visited this restaurant twice . The first time I took a salade '"le chalet" and a tartiflette, good but not something special. The second time, a fondue savoyarde ( "their specialty") impossible to eat and full of oil! The staff also , very slow impolite and ironic when we've told them that we were not satisfied . They gave us the check and they've told us to not come again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Chalet Savoyard also viewed

 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Le Chalet Savoyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Chalet Savoyard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.