We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Has lost its charm” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Champs-Elysees

Champs-Elysees
Avenue des Champs Elysees, 75008 Paris, France (Champs-Élysées)
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Private Tour
$168*
and up
Private Tour: Paris City Sightseeing and Seine...
Ranked #65 of 637 Attractions in Paris
Type: Scenic/ Historic Walking Areas, Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Cultural
Activities: Shopping, People-watching
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Perhaps the most famous street in Paris, this wide, tree-lined avenue is home to the city's chic restaurants, shops and boutiques.
Paris
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Has lost its charm”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

A regular visitor to the Champs-Elysees I can tell you that it has completely lost its charm and attraction. There is just nothing special about it anymore. Too many high street stores and fast food restaurants. One could be anywhere. What a shame on Paris.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,424 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,546
    1,129
    563
    139
    47
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dover, Delaware
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
98 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Best Christmas lights anywhere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We arrived in Paris hoping to see the Christmas lights on the Champs-Elysees as we had seen on Youtube. Our first night there was a little disappointing because the lights weren't on yet. (It was still very nice because the Champs-Elysees is nice anytime.) But to our delight they were turned on Thanksgiving day. This must have been a coincidence since Thanksgiving is our holiday and not theirs. At any rate, the Christmas lights were magnificent. The whole length of the Champs-Elysees was light up like--well like a Christmas tree. There were little cottages with food and gifts. Christmas music played everywhere. Really nice.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“OK if you've never been”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

This summer was my 3rd visit to Paris, and once again, the Champs-Elysees did not thrill me. If it's your first trip to Paris, by all means, walk it. It is, after all, still quite unique, and it's cool to say that you've walked the avenue. But then again, there's so many tourists and foreign retailers that it's just not a genuine experience. When you go in the busy summer months, you're likely to get stuck in a massive crowd, and the amount of homeless people is saddening. While walking with my boyfriend down the avenue, I needed blinders to avoid getting a surly mood from seeing throngs of tourists and beggars.

Thinking of buying something nice? Well, that wallet at Louis Vuitton will be cheaper in New York, and probably any other city; just keep that in mind if you're on a bit of a budget and want a memento from Paris. But then again, if you can afford Vuitton, then you don't care, right? So take a stroll if it's your first time, and be wowed by many unexpected things. But at least be sure to check out L'Arc de Triomphe at the end of the avenue; for if there's anything worthwhile from the eye strain and foot pain from braving this street, it's seeing this beautiful monument and the crazy traffic circle surrounding it.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biddeford, Maine
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fantasic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We reached the Champs-Elysee's very easily, metro drops you off right on it. right in front of the Arc. I ad a great time seeing the arc and then just strolling down the street looking at all the great shops! and since i went around Christmas time, the little Christmas village, well big one! was terrific!!!! So many great shops and many great gifts :)

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuzla, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
87 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Avenue...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

If you are going shopping and have enough money,this would be a perfect avenue for you.Our priority was to see and feel the city,and did not buy anything in Champs-Elysees.
There are a lot of shops,mostly famous ones,but we liked a lot more street performers and chestnut trees all the way.
Avenue is pretty broad,and it is very nice for walk.When you visit Arc de Triumphe,go down Champ-Elysees to the Place de la Concorde,you will enjoy that walk.
I don¨t know if you are going to like it or not,but it is the most famous avenue in the world,and if you are in the beautiful city of Paris you just shouldn¨t miss it.
Whisper melody of Joe Dassin¨s song,relax and enjoy...

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Champs-Elysees also viewed

 

Been to Champs-Elysees? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Champs-Elysees, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.