We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location excellent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN La Tour Notre Dame Saint Germain des Pres

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN La Tour Notre Dame Saint Germain des Pres to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN La Tour Notre Dame Saint Germain des Pres
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 rue du Sommerard | 5th Arr., 75005 Paris, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up To -30% Off Room Rate
Ranked #420 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Aberdeen, Scotland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Location excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2007

Booked this hotel because of what appeared on the website to be a good location .... top marks for this as it was only a couple of blocks away from Notre Dame, the Seine and transport in any direction! Also, smack bang in the middle of the Latin Quartier and all the restaurants etc .... fantastic! Cannot fault for cleanliness or anything to do with the room.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Staff helpfulness
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    218
    58
    17
    17
See reviews for
47
217
21
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2007

We got a really good online rate by booking direct from the hotel's website. This place is newly renovated. The rooms were small (as with any other European hotel). Although i didn't have any problems with room size, I would recommend anybody size 12 and up to ask for a room with a bathtub. I can imagine it could be a tight sqeeze in the shower stall! Other than that, everything at the hotel was brand new, bathroom newly tiled, 20' flat screen TV, air conditioning. There was even a safe in our room. The staff all spoke fluent English and were very helpful. As for location, it was 15-min walk to the Notre Dame, 3 subway stops from Gard du Nord (good location if you're taking the Eurostar). The restaurants around that area are cheap, only 16 Euros for a 3-course dinner. I would highly recommend lunch at Le Pre Verre (2 blocks from hotel). The food was amazing!!
Would definitely stay at this hotel again!!

  • Liked — newly renovated, everything brand new
  • Disliked — shower stall was tiny
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laurenbyrnes
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2007

Great location. Free Breakfast. Clean. New. What more could you ask for? Would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesund
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2007

First of all: The staff were especially nice, more than expected. We have stayed at many different hotels and the service here was very good.

Yes, the rooms and corridors are a bit small, but I think thats common in downtown Paris. The rooms were extremely clean, no problems using the bath tube.

Breakfast was good, maybe a little expencive and It was exactly the same every day, but ok for those who doesnt like to go out without breakfast.

Very good location. Tips: We had dinner at Le Coupe Shou (11, Rue de Lanneau) several times: very good.

Regards Three Norwegians

Stayed July 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2007

We stayed five nights, and the staff was probably about the friendliest I've ever encountered (among hundreds of hotel stays). The room was recently redecorated, and the bathroom appeared to be completely remodeled. The room was typically small and might be hard to manage for very large people, but it was more than adequate. It was also very quiet (the room was off the street), and the location can't be beat (Notre Dame is maybe two city blocks away). We will absolutely stay here again.

  • Liked — location, staff
  • Disliked — no complaints
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2007

We stayed a week in this hotel at the beginning of June 2007. It was a very adequate hotel as far as European standards are concerned. It is in the Latin Quarter which was full of night life and great little places to eat. It was close to Metro stations and within walking distance to Notre Dame, where we found ourselves most evenings watching the street performers. The service at the hotel was not as friendly as it could have been but it was not bad. The rooms (we had three) were small but very managable. We would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — Front desk
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2007

We stayed in this hotel for 6 nights during the first week of June. We were told by our travel agent that this was a small, charming "boutique" hotel at the back of Notre Dame. Little did we know that this was a "Best Western" - I have stayed in Motel 6's in the U.S.A. that were much better than this.

This hotel is NOT near Notre Dame, it is too far away to walk there, it only has a view of Notre Dame (if you are lucky enough to get a room without a view of a wall). It is in the Latin Quartre of Paris, which is one of the most dangerous and worst neighborhoods, most taxi drivers didn't even know how to get there because the people who live there are too poor to afford a taxi.

When we arrived there were two (2) people behind the desk. I was with three 80 year old women and the man behind the desk would not help us with our luggage, even when he was asked.

This hotel smells. The rooms are very small, my friend couldn't even open the closet doors as the bed was in the way.

I found many darling hotels around the Rue St. Honoree that were less expensive and really were charming.

This hotel is about 5 blocks from the Sorbonne University and I suppose if you had business there this hotel might be a place to stay, but there are other, much nicer hotels in this area.

As an aside, never book a trip through the BARATTO INTERNATIONAL TRAVEL AGENCY in Santa Barbara. I could have booked a much better trip myself using the internet.

I do love Paris. Because we stayed in this hotel, for what we spent in taxi fares we could have stayed at the Ritz.

  • Liked — Hated our accommodations.
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN La Tour Notre Dame Saint Germain des Pres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN La Tour Notre Dame Saint Germain des Pres

Address: 20 rue du Sommerard | 5th Arr., 75005 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#331 Family Hotel in Paris
#378 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#475 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN La Tour Notre Dame Saint Germain des Pres 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western La Tour Notre Dame Saint Germain des Prés is very well equipped and situated in the hart of paris ; 5 minutes walking from the Cathedral Notre Dame de Paris, the Sorbonne University, the Pantheon ; and the beggining of the Seine cruise.At the beginning of the metro or RER B and C transports, you arrive directly from the airport to our hotel in one way, and go to the eiffel tower in 20 minutes.we wish you a very pleasant stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN La Tour Notre Dame Saint Germain des Pres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western La Tour Notre Dame Hotel Paris
Best Western Hotel Paris
Best Western Paris
Paris Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN La Tour Notre Dame Saint Germain des Pres, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.