We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean Hotel with Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Daunou Opera

Save Saved
You added Hotel Daunou Opera to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Daunou Opera
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 Rue Daunou, 75002 Paris, France (Opéra)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #524 of 1,796 hotels in Paris
Sentosa Island, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Clean Hotel with Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

If you are looking for a hotel that is easily accessible by public transport with lots of shopping and restaurants around the hotel, this hotel is for you.

Pros:
- Great location
I came by the metro from Paris est train station. It was really an easy metro ride by line 7. I had a big lugguage so it helps that there is an escalator at the exit of the metro station. The hotel is 3 min walk from the exit.

Went to CDG Airport by Roissy bus which is around less than 10 min walk away. It was super convenient.

- Friendly staff
Service with a smile. Wonderful hotel staff!

- Quiet room
We sleep like baby :)

- Spacious room
Booked the superior room. And it was spacious considering we had 2 big lugguage and there was still enough space for both of us to move around easily. There is a double bed and a single bed in the room.

- Clean and well-maintained room

Cons:
- Luggage storage security
This hotel is almost perfect. However, I hope that they can improve by issuing a lugguage tag for redemption of lugguage. Although the storage room is locked, they did not verify if we were the rightful owner of the lugguage. The hotel staff just opened the locked door and we just take our lugguage and go.

Highly recommend this hotel to anyone going to Paris.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    55
    120
    45
    8
    12
See reviews for
67
72
18
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Booked by my daugter, this was going to be a surprise whatever the outcome. It is understated compared to all the grand hotels in the vicinity and tucked away in a narrow little lane. We relied heavily on the comments on Tripadvisor when deciding and were not let down. The descriptions were accurate and dependable.

The staff were very friendly, very helpful, had great local knowledge and spoke fluent English. We were able to drop our luggage in pre check in and the room was more than sufficient for my wife, daughter and myself. We took the advice re the front rooms (which right on cue were automatically booked into). We asked politely for an alternative, waited for 5 minutes while someone spoke to someone else and voila - an extremely quietly located room which provided us with excellent sleep. The beds were spot on as well.

We were looking for location, economy and a 3 bed room with good, clean amenities - Hotel Daunou Opera delivered. Great breakfast, lunch and dinner options all around within 1-5 minutes level walk - we loved the choice and loved the food - and very reasonably (cheap by Australian standards) priced. An easy 15 minute level walk to the Louvre and Jardin de Tuilleries, shops all around, another 5-10 to D'Orsay across the river. In the other direction, 5-10 minutes to L' Opera, 10 more to the Paris Hard Rock Cafe. Moulin Rouge, Arc de Triomphe, Nortre Dame, Eiffel Tower are all about 5-10 Euros away in a taxi in each direction. It's a great location.

I rate this with five dots because it suited us perfectly. It is a boutique hotel and will suit most travelers not needing 5 star services. We recommend thoroughly.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Spent 3 nights at Daunou Opera end of August'12. On first impression the hotel is very small, just a door way on the street next to a bar but upon entering it we were pleasantly surprised. The hotel staff were all excellent no matter what time of day, we travelled as a family and they were wonderful with my daughter. We stayed in a triple room on the top (6th) floor, the room was spacious and clean, with a good sized bathroom. Both bedrooms had a flat screen tv mounted on the wall, a mini bar if you needed anything and a hairdryer in the bathroom. Towels were replenished daily and the room cleaned, beds made up nicely, we didn't take breakfast in the hotel but found Starbucks near the Louvre, along with numerous places down the back streets.

The Opera House and metro were under 5 minutes walk and the Louvre took only 10/15 minutes to walk to also. This was my first time staying in the Opera area, I felt safe at all times even returning late at night, the area can be expensive but we found pletny of nice places to eat and there's a supermarket not too far.

I would gladly return to this hotel and would recommend it for families, singles and couples alike. The road has several lively bars that I would have loved to try had I not been travelling with a child and the noise didn't disturb us at all.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stockholm
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here already 3 times,and i like it a lot.
The location close to the opera and just across the new york harries bar ,you really need to visit that,you will be blown back to a movie from the twenties.
The breakfast was ok ,and staff was friendly.They refurbished the rooms and I have to say ,very good now,for the price ,this is the best in Paris,do not mind the small entrance ,the hotel is bigger then you think in the back.

Stayed September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

This is our 2nd visit (first one was in December 2011). The hotel is extremely well-located, 3-5 minute walk to the Opera (& metro station) and another 3-5minute walk to major shopping centres Printemps and Galeries Lafayette.

The hotel room is clean and well-maintained and fairly spacious (we had a triple). However, the bathroom was a little small, but nothing we couldn't accept.

Service is good, helpful, efficient, polite and friendly. We never had any problems/issues.

In all, a hotel which was very good for money.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

2 blocks from Paris Opera and subway stop. Clean and reasonably priced for Paris. We needed a triple room which is not easy to find and although the room was small, it was acceptable by Paris standards. Nice bathroom.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Daunou Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Daunou Opera

Address: 6 Rue Daunou, 75002 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opéra
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#419 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Daunou Opera 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel with large rooms in a traditional Parisian building - In heart of Paris near the Opera. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Cheap Tickets and Otel so you can book your Hotel Daunou Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Daunou Opera Hotel
Daunou Opera Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Daunou Opera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.