We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Understated and convenient” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Daunou Opera

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Daunou Opera to your Saves list
Hotel Daunou Opera
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 Rue Daunou, 75002 Paris, France (Opéra)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #577 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Understated and convenient”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Booked by my daugter, this was going to be a surprise whatever the outcome. It is understated compared to all the grand hotels in the vicinity and tucked away in a narrow little lane. We relied heavily on the comments on Tripadvisor when deciding and were not let down. The descriptions were accurate and dependable.

The staff were very friendly, very helpful, had great local knowledge and spoke fluent English. We were able to drop our luggage in pre check in and the room was more than sufficient for my wife, daughter and myself. We took the advice re the front rooms (which right on cue were automatically booked into). We asked politely for an alternative, waited for 5 minutes while someone spoke to someone else and voila - an extremely quietly located room which provided us with excellent sleep. The beds were spot on as well.

We were looking for location, economy and a 3 bed room with good, clean amenities - Hotel Daunou Opera delivered. Great breakfast, lunch and dinner options all around within 1-5 minutes level walk - we loved the choice and loved the food - and very reasonably (cheap by Australian standards) priced. An easy 15 minute level walk to the Louvre and Jardin de Tuilleries, shops all around, another 5-10 to D'Orsay across the river. In the other direction, 5-10 minutes to L' Opera, 10 more to the Paris Hard Rock Cafe. Moulin Rouge, Arc de Triomphe, Nortre Dame, Eiffel Tower are all about 5-10 Euros away in a taxi in each direction. It's a great location.

I rate this with five dots because it suited us perfectly. It is a boutique hotel and will suit most travelers not needing 5 star services. We recommend thoroughly.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    140
    50
    10
    12
See reviews for
75
81
20
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Spent 3 nights at Daunou Opera end of August'12. On first impression the hotel is very small, just a door way on the street next to a bar but upon entering it we were pleasantly surprised. The hotel staff were all excellent no matter what time of day, we travelled as a family and they were wonderful with my daughter. We stayed in a triple room on the top (6th) floor, the room was spacious and clean, with a good sized bathroom. Both bedrooms had a flat screen tv mounted on the wall, a mini bar if you needed anything and a hairdryer in the bathroom. Towels were replenished daily and the room cleaned, beds made up nicely, we didn't take breakfast in the hotel but found Starbucks near the Louvre, along with numerous places down the back streets.

The Opera House and metro were under 5 minutes walk and the Louvre took only 10/15 minutes to walk to also. This was my first time staying in the Opera area, I felt safe at all times even returning late at night, the area can be expensive but we found pletny of nice places to eat and there's a supermarket not too far.

I would gladly return to this hotel and would recommend it for families, singles and couples alike. The road has several lively bars that I would have loved to try had I not been travelling with a child and the noise didn't disturb us at all.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stockholm
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here already 3 times,and i like it a lot.
The location close to the opera and just across the new york harries bar ,you really need to visit that,you will be blown back to a movie from the twenties.
The breakfast was ok ,and staff was friendly.They refurbished the rooms and I have to say ,very good now,for the price ,this is the best in Paris,do not mind the small entrance ,the hotel is bigger then you think in the back.

Stayed September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

This is our 2nd visit (first one was in December 2011). The hotel is extremely well-located, 3-5 minute walk to the Opera (& metro station) and another 3-5minute walk to major shopping centres Printemps and Galeries Lafayette.

The hotel room is clean and well-maintained and fairly spacious (we had a triple). However, the bathroom was a little small, but nothing we couldn't accept.

Service is good, helpful, efficient, polite and friendly. We never had any problems/issues.

In all, a hotel which was very good for money.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

2 blocks from Paris Opera and subway stop. Clean and reasonably priced for Paris. We needed a triple room which is not easy to find and although the room was small, it was acceptable by Paris standards. Nice bathroom.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

This hotel is located to the opera district and in walking distance to the Louvre. The hotel was always clean, and the customer service was mostly helpful. Just so you know, they take your hotel room key from you at the front desk every time you leave for "safety precautions". I didn't understand why and I felt like no one could fully provide an explanation for this. The housekeeping services were wonderful.
It was 3 of us and we stayed in the Duplex which was quite comfortable. The bathroom was quite large, but had a bathtub only with an extension off the tub for shower-like capabilities. Many restaurants nearby, Chez Clement was my favorite. Overall, I would stay there again if I wanted to stay in that area of Paris.

Room Tip: Ask for more than one room key, and keep one with you in case someone is not at the front desk which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Daunou Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Daunou Opera

Address: 6 Rue Daunou, 75002 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opéra
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#402 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Daunou Opera 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel with large rooms in a traditional Parisian building - In heart of Paris near the Opera. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Daunou Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Daunou Opera Hotel
Daunou Opera Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Daunou Opera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.