We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice apart hotel , located on the river bank” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Citadines Saint-Germain-des-Pres Paris

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Citadines Saint-Germain-des-Pres Paris to your Saves list
Citadines Saint-Germain-des-Pres Paris
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   53, ter Quai des Grands Augustins, 75006 Paris, France (Odeon / Saint-Michel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #239 of 1,773 Hotels in Paris
Miami
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Nice apart hotel , located on the river bank”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

Room was small but ok ! The bed was a convertible . I was little be disapointed ...

Room Tip: Ask fo a river side and for a real bed and not a convertible .
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,000 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    487
    400
    71
    21
    21
See reviews for
422
342
29
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

I have been on work contracts to Paris twice, and both times I have had accommodations at Citadines St Germain. Understand that I could never afford to stay here in my real life. That being said....

Firstly, you should fully consider the location... Located on the Left Bank, in the heart of Paris, Citadines SGP is ideally situated between Notre Dame and the Louvre. It is only two blocks from Place St. Michel (and RER/B or various metro connections). One can not find a better location to see most of the essential Paris sites by foot or public transport. The location provides easy access to the following by foot: The Rodin Garden/Museum, Luxomburg Gardens, The Latin Quarter, St. Germain Des Pres (area), Pont Neuf, The Louvre, Tuileries and the shopping of Les Halles...restaurants and shopping also abound.

Called "Apart-Hotel" the rooms consist of a bedroom, separate lounge, toilet, kitchen (two burner cook top, fridge, mircowave/covection unit, stocked with kitchen utensils) and separate bathroom. Most rooms have a couch which is actually a trundle bed and VERY comfortable.

The views from the rooms on the back side of the building (rooms ending in the 02-11 area) have some of the most spectacular views you can imagine in Paris. You gaze out your window as the sun sets against the backdrop of the Eiffel Tower. Rooms on the opposite side of the building face Notre Dame/Seine. Certain rooms also have balconies.

The staff is friendly, professional, and eager to help. All are multi-lingual (You may easily be served in French, English, and Spanish). Certain employees also speak: Arabic, Italian, and Vietnamese.

Breakfast is 14 Euro, but should be considered as much better fare than your standard continental breakfast. Fresh French bread (with various accouterments), hard/soft boiled eggs, country ham slices, cereals, waffles, cheeses, juice, make up a splendid start to your day, should you so choose.

Daily and weekly cleaning service is offered (additional fees apply). Guests also have access to laundry facilities (5euro for wash cycle and 4 euro per drying cycle).

The price is not cheap: at 210 Euro per night, most would not consider this for their typical vacation stay. However...Should this price fall within either your personal budget, or your business expense report guidelines, I highly recommend a stay here. They have made me feel like it is my home away from home. They are quick to offer guidance when needed, and privacy when required.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrassa, Spain
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Citadines Prestige Saint-Germain-des-Pres is situated in a five minutes walk from the Louvre Museum and in the other direction, a two minutes walk from Notre Dame cathedral. The location is excellent and you can arrive to the Concorde Square in a 20-25 minutes stroll across the Tuilleries.
The rooms in the hotel are spacious and very well equiped. Very comfortable bed, big and light bathroom and kitchennette with all the necessary equipment (fridge, oven, cook and dishwasher).
The only slight disappointment in the hotel was the breakfast. Very little things to choose from and quite expensive. I recommend you buy whatever you like for breakfast and have it in your own bedroom.
Also, for diner, the hotel is just in the middle of the Latin Quarter, so lots of nice restaurants and bistros with good prices are nearby.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

Spacious, bright, spotlessly clean apartments in a superb location. It is worth paying extra for the river view of the Seine. The kitchenette is tiny but the bathroom and rooms are a decent size (premier one bedroom with sofa bed). Service was excellent, launderette was expensive but worth it. Even the sofa bed was comfortable! Highly recommended and will stay again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

Room was of good space for 4 people. The only problem is that the bathroom was separated on "two units", one with shower and sink and the other with the toilet itself. Room had one king size bed and a sofa-bed. Also a small kitch with stove and dish-washer.
Highlight for the hotel location, walking distance (< 1km) from Notre dame and Louvre museum. Also very close to a very good spot for restaurants, with several options.
Internet was free and of very good quality.
I definitely recommend this, both for business and for tourism.
Breakfeast was not included and we decided not to have it on the hotel. The breakfeast offered is not worth the EUR 14 charged for it. You can use a coffee machine for free on the lobby.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester / Hampshire
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

We have stayed in apartments in UK, USA and France several times. This was a tricky one purely because it was SOOO expensive that I guess we were expecting more. The trouble is that we dont have any prior knowledge of apartment or recent hotel prices in Paris.

We booked the apartment for a family trip and we were fortunate to pay with 'points' from an award I received at work. We booked an apartment for 2 adults and 2 children. When we arrived, they offered us, at no additional cost, 2 separate studio apartments instead, which we accepted. They also allowed us to book in early which was great as we had been travelling since 3 in the morning!

The apartments were small, but clean and very useable. What they didnt have, which we were expecting, is an area where you could eat (though they had basic kitchen facilities) so we ate out every meal apart from breakfast. Neither did they have any sort of lounge area. It was really like a hotel room with a kitchenette.

When I saw the cost of the apartments I was stunned, at €350 per apartment per night, so €700 for the pair of apartments. We pay around £200/250 per night for significantly larger apartments in London (which sleep 4 people). Those apartments also have a lounge area and dining area, menaing you can control your costs by eating in rather than going out for lunch and dinner for every meal.

Clearly, if reading this you'll be comparing to other apartments and hotels so you can make a valid judgement.

The apartments were superbly located and pretty quiet for central Paris (quiter than most hotels I have stayed in). The staff were superb, and there was free tea/coffee/water etc in reception area, which was a godsend as coffee in the local cafes left you very little change from €10 for 2 coffees.

So overall it was a positive experience, though I'd struggle to 'highly recommend'.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

We stayed at the Citadines Saint-Germain-des-Pres over New Year's 2012. It is a superbe location, right on the Seine, just down from Notre Dame on way and the Loivre and the Musee d'Orsay in the other direction. It is located in the Latin Quarter with hundreds of quaint shops, restaurants and museums within walking distance. The hotel is modern, spotlessly clean and the staff are very helpful. Our suite had a kitchenette, was spacious by Paris standards. The only drawback was that the windows are not soundproof and we found that we were woken up sometimes by the garbage being collected in the street at 5 am. We will definitely stay there on our next visit to Paris. We were also surprised at how pleasant Paris is in the winter time. It was not cold, just a little rainy, but very comfortable for walking around outside.

Room Tip: A room opening onto the street is great because it opens onto a quintessential Paris streetscene. Bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Citadines Saint-Germain-des-Pres Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines Saint-Germain-des-Pres Paris

Address: 53, ter Quai des Grands Augustins, 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Odeon / Saint-Michel
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#137 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#155 Family Hotel in Paris
#163 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#259 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Citadines Saint-Germain-des-Pres Paris 4*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Paris in one of its most attractive districts, this Apart'hotel sits on the banks of the Seine opposite the Pont-Neuf, and is just a short stroll from Boulevard St-Michel. It is located in a legendary quarter, the crossroad of all cultural trends, where charming cafes, antiques dealers, art galleries and stylish fashion boutiques abounds. The banks of the Seine are lined with second-hand book dealers. From here, you can admire the magical view - the Pont Neuf and the ile de la Cite, with the Vert-Galant headland and the Place Dauphine, the Conciergerie (medieval prison) and, a little further downriver, the prestigious Louvre Museum and Musee d'Orsay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Amex, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Citadines Saint-Germain-des-Pres Paris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines Prestige Saint-Germain-Des-Pres Hotel Paris
Citadines Paris
Citadines St Germain Des Pres

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Citadines Saint-Germain-des-Pres Paris, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.