We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Waldorf Madeleine

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Waldorf Madeleine to your Saves list
Hotel Waldorf Madeleine
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12 Boulevard Malesherbes, 75008 Paris, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #520 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

This is a nice boutique hotel in a great location. It was walking distance to some attractions & close to the metro. Our room was small and keep in mind it can get quite noisy being on a main street. Breakfast was good, but the dining area was small....it did allow us to meet a nice couple from Australia (as you spoke to people because you were so closely seated)!! Overall it was a good stay & the beds were comfortable. Also, the staff was very helpful.

Room Tip: Ask if they have rooms off the main street for a quieter stay!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    92
    29
    19
    7
See reviews for
27
104
10
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

I have stayed in many of the small hotels in the Madeleine area and this is certainly one of the better ones. As the buildings in the area are traditional it is difficult to convert them well into large hotel rooms, but this hotel has managed to maintain nice size rooms that are not on the totally on the compact and Bijoux side of the force.

The location is excellent for going sightseeing around Paris and many places are within reasonable walking distance, there is also a Metro station right around the corner.

The rooms are very nicely laid out, the beds comfortable with nice linen and in the bathroom there was a bath and not just a shower. I stayed in one of the back rooms rather than on the main Boulevard which was very quiet and I slept very well.

I didn't have the breakfast in the deal so went around the corner to a cafe and had something there.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

I'll keep this short and sweet.

This is a very good boutique hotel in a very good location which isn't far from the Louvre and other attractions.

We had our room on the top floor and the room was modern and clean. The only gripe I had was breakfast could have been better with more room for seating.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

Checked in on the 5th of October and stayed for five nights. Loved the location! Room was tiny, but bed and pillows very comfortable; and, the bathroom was more or less roomy considering Paris standards. Staff was very attentive, there were two staff members in particular who spoke Spanish, Stefan was so helpful with helping us get reservations at restaurants or just simply explaining some of Paris' idiosyncrasies... :)
We felt it to be a good value~

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josette R, Gérant at Hotel Waldorf Madeleine, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Celi W,

I would like to thank you for your time, it is very important for us that our guest share their thoughts about their stay at the Hotel Waldorf Madeleine.

We hope to see you soon at the hotel for your next stay in Paris.

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Absolutely fabulous, professional service, accommodation and staff. I truly was delighted and loved staying in Paris and its was really due to the service and staff of this hotel. Every time I had a personal issue, query or need the staff fulfilled it promptly with professionalism. I required urgent dental assistance and within the hour I was promptly seated in front of a noted french orthodontist who not only corrected the problem but it was at minimal cost. My brother was able to join me here as a last minute decision where they accommodated him with the same exceptional service as I received. He was impressed with the service as well as the vicinity of the numerous French icons for example the Louve, Eiffel Tower etc. I am delighted and truly grateful to them for accommodating this very rare family event and their support, guidance and assisting me towards my next destination while traveling alone to the Middle East.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josette R, Gérant at Hotel Waldorf Madeleine, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear Nrcocker,

I would like to thank you for your time, it is very important for us that our guest share their thoughts about their stay at the Hotel Waldorf Madeleine.

We hope to see you soon at the hotel for your next stay in Paris.

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Coast, Ooh, Ess, Ahh
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Recently spent a couple of days at this hotel. I was unimpressed. For starters the hotel fronts Boulevard Malesherbes which can be quite busy and noisy. On my arrival I was informed that I had a room on the 6th floor and that the lift was not functional. So on this visit that was not a lot of fun. To be fair they did discount the room rate for this visit for the inconvenience. My room was small but functional in a minimalistic way. The bathroom had a good shower setup. The breakfast room was too small &congested for me to opt for it given the close proximity of a variety of good cafes. Excluding the lift issue I felt like there were better options in Paris and the same area and I thought the room rates were out of line for what you get at the Waldorf Madeleine.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josette R, Gérant at Hotel Waldorf Madeleine, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear Nova,

We thank you for your opinion about the Hotel Waldorf Madeleine and our staff.

I'm really sorry for what happened during your stay among us and i will make sure that your message will be considered.

You need to know that you have booked an hotel in downtown and the noise cannot be removed completely despite the double glazing of the rooms.

We hope to see you soon for your next stopover in Paris.

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel many times over the past ten years. It is in a terrific location, very comfortable and clean. This past visit we experienced the best service we have ever had in Paris. Mark was at the desk several times this weekend and he was the best. Extremely friendly and really was helpful with our weekend. We will be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josette R, Gérant at Hotel Waldorf Madeleine, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear Boston,

I would like to thank you for your time, it is very important for us that our guest share their thoughts about their stay at the Hotel Waldorf Madeleine.

We hope to see you soon at the hotel for your next stay in Paris.

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Waldorf Madeleine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Waldorf Madeleine

Address: 12 Boulevard Malesherbes, 75008 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#241 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#306 Family Hotel in Paris
#340 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Waldorf Madeleine 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Waldorf Madeleine is conveniently situated between the districts of Madeleine and Concorde, nearby some of Paris most fascinating cultural sights. Stroll along and go window-shopping in the rue du Faubourg Saint-Honoré.The 45 well-appointed bedrooms have been decorated to offer business travelers or weekend breakers a warm and intimate setting throughout their memorable stay in Paris.Creation in 2011 of 19 new rooms: “Premium”, “Privilege” and "Prestige".High-quality materials, modern bathroom, design furniture, espresso coffee maker, iPhone dockModern and refined comfort in a hotel which also has soul...A free Wi-Fi access is available in the hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Waldorf Madeleine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldorf Madeleine Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Waldorf Madeleine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.