We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Near the Opera, a charming hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Opera Drouot

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Opera Drouot to your Saves list
Villa Opera Drouot
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Rue Geoffroy Marie, 75009 Paris, France (Montmartre)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #659 of 1,792 Hotels in Paris
Acqui Terme, Italy
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Near the Opera, a charming hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2011

Very nice hotel in a charming old buliding.
A typical palace in the centre of Paris, close to the Opera, near the underground station.
From the hotel you can walk through the long boulevards of the French capital with bars, bistros, restaurants and any kinf of shop.
Perfect place for a young couple, like my and my girlfriend.
Rooms are not too big but any detail is perfect.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    56
    28
    19
    18
See reviews for
23
66
6
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

Located within 15 minute walk of the Gard du Nord, the staff at this hotel are really friendly and helpful - happy to make suggestions for local eateries and bars and photocopy pages of the city A-Z for you etc. The room was very comfortable and extremely clean, the shower was hot and towels replaced daily. It was well located for the Grads Boulevards and Passages and easy access to the metro. My only disappointment was that I had assumed breakfast was included and it wasn't (my fault not theirs, I hadnt read the website properly!) and for 15 euros it was more expensive than eating out locally. There is a supermarket opposite and they tend to start unloading at 8am which could be a pain if you are on that side of the hotel as we were, however we were often so tired from walking around all day it did not effect us that much.
My only recommendation for this hotel is that they consider having tea and coffee making facilities free of charge in their rooms so you could make an early morning or late night cuppa (so essential for us English travellers!). They provide evening meals on room service but no hot drinks. We did not want to go home!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 202 which was lovely, general recommendation is read the website well so you don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

When you enter the Hotel Opera Drouot you know that you are somewhere slightly different. The period furniture and paintings in the modest-sized reception reveal this hotel's pretensions and the accommodating, smoky-voiced 'dame d'une certaine age' attired all in black makes you pay attention. We had only paid 120 euros for our one-night stay, so our hopes were for good eating nearby, a comfortable bed and clean bathroom, all with a touch of historic style. The lift, as mentioned by others here, is an ancient artefact in itself, and requires a delicate touch. Burgundy wall furnishing in the hallways require you to peer carefully at your room number before upsetting your neighbours by trying their locks. Once in, the grand bed with footbench, seating area and large-sized bathroom meant we were happy. We had the bedroom which is featured on the hotel website, with violin motif sitting atop the headboard - the room wears the painted-on livery and attending decorative ornaments rather like a slightly overmade-up grand dame of the nearby Folies Bergeres. But the charm is there, and outside are authentic cafes and restaurants such as "La Bontendrie", where we had marvellous food at affordable prices. The 4-star rating for the hotel is a mytery. Maybe the rooms atop ours, with split-level design and views of the Eiffel Tower, would have drawn 4 stars from us. It's definitely not worth more than the price we paid per night, but it is a welcome change to the pastel-blue-and-yellow-duvet formula which we detest. Air-conditioning must have been working as it was 30 degrees in Paris in August. Al in all, a charming enough experience in an interesting quarter of Paris but don't book the high prices attached to direct booking.

Room Tip: Room with the violin motif has a great bathroom and is roomy for 2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

"You know how it is when you can't believe that you've got a great bargain, then feel let down?? A bit like getting a bargain at Primark, only to discover after 2 washes why it was so cheap?That how this place is .................."

I have "borrowed" this text as it is a perfect summary. Vastly over rated and overpriced unless you have booked a "bargain" with Lastminute.com!

Perhaps I would be less critical if the temperature had not been 32C outside and 35C inside! Air conditioning out of action and still advertised as a "feature". Could not sleep and could not breath. Each time we left a window open to get some airflow - the cleaners closed them for the day!!

I found Reception staff friendly and helpful - but the overall experience was hard work.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

My daughter and I stayed here for only two nights and wishes it could have been longer! The reception staff were friendly and very helpful, which made us feel welcome and enriched our stay.
The rooms were very 'French' and comfortable with a good-sized bathroom. We didn't have breakfast as we wanted to try the restaurants round about, so can't comment on that.
The location is really great, we were able to walk to the Museé du Louvre really easily, passing L'Opéra and Le Bourse and were also so close to Galerie LaFayette and Printemps, plus other good shopping.
Montmartre was also nearby as were the lovely Passages and we were near to Metro Grands Boulevards.
The astonishing thing was that we originally booked for the Pavillion Opéra Bourse (3 star), but on arrival were directed to this lovely 4 star hotel. We had a wonderful stay and would certainly return.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011

I stayed here for 1 night by accident (hotel I was originally supposed to be in had overbooking and sent me here instead). Location is good, central Paris and close to metro, but hotel itself is definitely not 4 stars and at €175 per night, which is what I paid, it is definitely overpriced. I will not come here again.

I was staying on top 6th floor where rooms are split into two levels: normal level is a desk and bathroom, attic level is the bed. I found the room dark and sad (dark wallpaper and furniture + very little light), bedroom hot (couldn't open the roof window because it was raining), and couldn't use the shower because the temperature knob was not working properly so there was only very hot water. And by the way, the hotel has nothing to do with either villa or opera, no idea where the name comes from.

At a lower price (closer to €100-120) I would have given it an "average" rating but at higher price it's just not worth the money.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011 via mobile

Was very nervous from what I've read but should of known better to take it with a pinch of salt. The hotels website photos are just what you get although they do look a little more worn. our safe was Broken so let passport and money in the room.....and it was quite safe. Lovely breakfast room with yes a small but nice spread. All staff were very helpful and friendly and nothing was to much trouble. There's a subway on the corner a supermarket oppersite and about a 3-4 minute walk to the nearest metro grand boulevards and a 20min walk to GAre de Nord. We enjoyed it and would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Opera Drouot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Opera Drouot

Address: 2 Rue Geoffroy Marie, 75009 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montmartre , Opéra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#285 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#461 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Opera Drouot 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Baroc styled boutique hotel, located in the very heart of Paris, near Opera Garnier and department's stores. Decorated like a theater, with silk draperies, velvet, golden furnitures... the charming Villa Opera Drouot will also provide you all contemporary facilities like free high speed wifi access, and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Villa Opera Drouot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Opera Drouot Hotel Paris
Hotel Opera Drouot
Opera Drouot Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Opera Drouot, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.