We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, spacious and a great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Villa Maillot

Save Saved
You added La Villa Maillot to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
La Villa Maillot
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   143 avenue de Malakoff, 75116 Paris, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free room upgrade
Ranked #130 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Comfortable, spacious and a great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2009

The hotel is a former embassy so the location though not in the thick of the action is conveniently located with the metro, train and bus stations within walking distance. Even the airport shuttle is about two blocks from the hotel. The rooms are comfortable, actually a tad roomier than your standard European size. The bathroom is luxurious with marble all around. Bathrobes and slippers await inside. Bed is comfortable and the sound-proofed windows will allow you to have a good night sleep after all the excitement of the city. Staff is excellent, superb. My only issue is that I wished the room had a balcony...but I knew it didn't when I booked it.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    50
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
23
86
8
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Corsham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2009

I stayed here in mid-October with my girlfriend on a short break. I found the hotel to be clean, compact yet well appointed. The staff were very friendly and helpful, and didn't even bat an eyelid at my appalling French.

We did not eat at the hotel, and chose to sample some of the many restaurants and brasseries in the area. The choice of cuisine is vast but of course cost can be extremely variable!

We walked to many of the popular tourist attractions from the hotel as I feel they are within easy walking distance (although others may differ) and allow you to soak up the wonderful atmosphere and beautiful surroundings.

Transport links are excellent - Porte Maillot is 600m walk from the hotel where you can connect easily to the Metro or Bus to the airports.

Definitely worth a second look.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
directionLVM, Manager at La Villa Maillot, responded to this review, November 2, 2009
Dear 519mcnel,
Thank you for your kind comment.
Please advise us when coming back to Paris.
Best regards.
Thierry DECHAUX
HOTEL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2009

Stayed here for one night due to the 50%+ discount I found on a travel site. Booked a deluxe room for €180 per night, which sounded reasonable if not exactly cheap.

Room was street-facing on the 7th floor, high enough to avoid the worst of the street noise. Room was a typical size for Paris (i.e. small) but big enough for a double bed, easy chair and work desk. Furnishings were adequate if not spectacular. Room was immaculately clean, bed was comfy and the bathrobe and slippers are a nice touch.

The problems with this hotel are in the small details. I phoned to request an iron shortly after checking in, and was told I had to travel down to the basement and use the ironing board set up in the massage room. More of an annoyance than a problem I suppose.

The WiFi service is eye-wateringly expensive (€24 for 24 hours) and not especially good - the connection is slow and drops out periodically - I must have logged in 6 or 7 times throughout the evening, and trying to watch video news clips took forever.

TV service is equally poor - a limited range of international channels and practically no pay TV to speak of (2 films plus porn), also the TV was maddeningly quiet - even at full blast I couldn't hear some channels while the room window was open. If some hotels can offer 50+ channels, why can't they all??

The breakfast buffet was good, if a little limited in comparison to other hotels I've stayed at. And at €25, it certainly doesn't represent good value. I understand this is very lucrative for hotels, but this price seems excessive - even if I were staying at the George V or the Ritz, I wouldn't expect to pay more than this.

Overall not a bad choice for a short trip - I can live without TV as I had work to do, but if I were staying on a leisure break I wouldn't feel I was getting real value for money with the poor quality of the in-room services and dining.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
directionLVM, Manager at La Villa Maillot, responded to this review, November 2, 2009
Dear Kevlondon,

Thank you fo your comment.
Good to read about your experience at La Villa Maillot.
Regarding ironing, we do agree, it is not that simple to go out the room for such request. The only thing is we are not aloud by firemen to bring iron and ironing board in room ! We probably did not explain why during your stay.
Regarding wireless internet, apparently we had trouble from broadband provider, as we have subcribe for guest a 8MB link.
About breakfast, please note that rate for Continental package at the Ritz in Paris is 35Euro. We offer the full buffet for 25€.
Thank again for your comments, it does help us to improve and keep up to date
Very best regards
Thierry DECHAUX
HOTEL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2009

Wonderful hotel. Very nice staff. English, German, Spanish speaking staff.
Very nice breakfast.
Two blocks from the Metro trains.
Four blocks from the Congress Center.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena,CA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2009

My husband & I spent our last night in Paris at La Villa Maillot. We have not stayed in this part of Paris before but we would stay here again on our next trip. We moved over from the Westin Paris (5 stars) which was much more expensive and very impersonal. La Villa Maillot staff was very nice, pleasant and helpful, the room was large by Paris standards (larger than our room at the Westin). Across the street is a very nice grocery store and pharmacy, and there are many great restaurants nearby. Also, Paris Metro, RER and SCNF train stations are about 1 block away. The location is not so much in the heart of the tourist scene, which we prefer, but you do have to walk further (or take the train) to get to some of the sites.

Our room was at the back of the hotel and was quiet, except from occassional comings and goings of other guests.

2 minor complaints: The mattress could have been more comfortable (a little saggy), and despite the fact that this is supposed to be a non-smoking hotel, it was clear that someone was smoking in the hotel. The cigarette smoke permeated our room through the air conditioning. I recognize that the hotel has no control over guests who choose to flout the rules and smoke in a non-smoking room, but at least spare the rest of us by making adjustments to the ventilation system.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
directionLVM, Directeur at La Villa Maillot, responded to this review, October 12, 2009
Dear imovemtns,
Thank you for your comment.
We took good note of your remarks about the mattress and will check it.
About smoking and non-smoking, as you mentionned we are not able to manage smokers requesting non-smoking room as they do not support smell of cold tobacco.
Hope to welcome you soon again.
Regards.
Thierry DECHAUX
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2009

Picked this hotel after reading good reviews on Trip Advisor and felt let down. Traveling with 2 friends and the room could barely hold 2 of us and our luggage. It was ridiculously small and they knew in advance there would be 3 of us. When we complained they accommodated us -- by "letting" us pay full price for an upgrade to a suite. The suite was only accessible by climbing 20 stairs on a narrow staircase. Wallpaper was stained, rugs seams were exposed, pull out sofa bed for 3rd person would not close, jets on jacuzzi tub did not work. Elevator broke, alarms went off, just a real disappointment. Overpriced and underwhelming. Photos of spa on web site are misleading. Tiny, tiny room.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
directionLVM, Directeur at La Villa Maillot, responded to this review, September 28, 2009
Dear PS92,
Thank you for your review.
Sorry to read you were disappointed.
Apparently, we missed the information about the third person and that was the start of several bad experience even if the front staff made the upgrade in the dupleix suite in order to accomodate all of you in a better way.
Please note that elevator and alarm are well back in service. Security is now very sensitive.
We took good note of your comments about stains and sofa (already repaired).
Please also note that space in Paris is much smaller than in the US. Our bedroom size is valid for 5 star category and we only have 4.
Nevertheless, we hope that your Paris trip was enjoyable and trip back home comfortable.
Best regards.
Thierry DECHAUX
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2009

Based on TripAdvisor reviews, booked six nights here due to its proximity to Porte Maillot (métro, known restaurants). Service is above average; rooms are showing their age at this point. The manager/owner genuinely seems interested in the satisfaction of his guests, so I am cutting him a fair bit of slack with this review.

What is quite painful is the internet access: €39 for three days of spotty connections regardless of where you are in the hotel. It regularly resets itself (i.e. drops the session) with no warning -- quite disruptive. After three days of this (at a steep price), I stated that the service was below my expectations and they could either refund me the €39 or give me another three days for free (which they did).

Other than one day when only a single bath towel was left following a service, most everything else is acceptable (buy why were the elevators not vacuumed at all?) A bit more investment in the wi-fi (a necessity these days, even for leisure) and more attention to details would make this a top destination.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
directionLVM, Manager at La Villa Maillot, responded to this review, September 28, 2009
Dear Skwirl,

Thank you for your comments.
Apparently, you were expecting my answer!!

I have copied my IT company about your Wi-Fi review and expect to have some better solutions to implement in a near future.

Elevator is vacuumed several times a day, the only thing is that new carpet is in dark color and shows quickly dust. we plan to change them again with an appropriate color.

Hope you have enjoyed your Parisian stay and have a safe trip back in California.

Best regards.
Thierry DECHAUX
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Villa Maillot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Villa Maillot

Address: 143 avenue de Malakoff, 75116 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#67 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#91 Business Hotel in Paris
#125 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#252 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Villa Maillot 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within a stone’s throw from the Champs Elysées, the Avenue Foch and the Congress Center, la Villa Maillot, a private four-star address completely renovated in 2013 by interior designer Patrick Ribes, offers a contemporary and warm atmosphere combining modernity and classicism.You will enjoy our new bar lounge 'The V' and its fireplace, our conservatory and its Japanese garden. Chill out in our Spa, sauna and steam bath or relax in the massage room.A boutique hotel chic & cozy, between business and lifestyle, dedicate to you delightment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, AvailPro, Tingo, Venere, Priceline, Otel, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Jetsetter so you can book your La Villa Maillot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Hotel Paris
La Hotel Maillot

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Villa Maillot, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.