We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yet Another Wonderful Stay at the Regina” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Regina Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Regina Hotel to your Saves list
Regina Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Place des Pyramides, 75001 Paris, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #253 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Berkeley, CA
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Yet Another Wonderful Stay at the Regina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

This was our sixth or seventh stay at this hotel. I have posted several reviews, so this one will be brief. We always book the Deluxe rooms, which are larger and better appointed. I recommend this, if your budget allows the splurge. I don't think I have ever commented on the housekeeping before, so I will do so now. I have stayed at some very fine hotels, and the Regina has some of the best housekeeping I have encountered. Our room was spotless EVERY day. Now, don't expect marble and granite galore. That is not the Regina's style. Expect a very European hotel -- this means heavy on charm and history but not full of high trendy style. Expect some creaky floors, some faded carpets, a few pieces of chipped furniture -- but lots of old world elegance. The service is always excellent for us, with professional, courteous professionals at every turn. The Regina is pure loveliness to us. We would not stay anywhere else in Paris, and cannot wait to return. Love it!!!!

Room Tip: Don't bargain hunt at this property. Save your pennies and splurge on a Deluxe (or suite) room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IDHANA, Responsable relations publiques at Regina Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Kenya2010,

It is a great pleasure to know that you are a loyal guest and that your expectations were met and even surpassed. Thank you for sharing your opinion with us. It is wonderful that you return time after time and that we continue to make your stay memorable.

We are pleased to see that you found Regina Hotel convenient and you liked our large Deluxe room.

Our team is trained to offer the best customer service and to be assured that our guests have an enjoyable stay. In fact the housekeeping team has an excellent training to care about our guest.

The charm of Regina hotel is a nice way to discover an old world of elegance and history. We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again in the future.

We look forward to welcoming you again at Regina Hotel and please do not hesitate to contact us at should you have any specific request.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    155
    53
    26
    31
See reviews for
115
212
25
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

The location was amazing, and the Staff, especially the Concierge couldn't be faulted. The hotel has a luxurious boutique feel, especially in the lobby and the bar and restaurant areas. The rooms are on the small side, but still have the luxurious feel that is apparent when entering the hotel. We would definitely stay here on our next trip to Paris.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The exceptional experience begins with the staff at the front desk, friendly and very willing to help. The location at the Tuilleries Garden and Le Louvre is great for getting to major attractions either by walking, the preferred method when in Paris, or the metro stop is just accross the street. Also great for just stolling to the islands and to the Left Bank. Rooms vary of course, the most desirable are those with the fantastic views fo the Gardens and the Eiffel Tower. Charming bar and lunch room. Also a Starbucks is just a block away. Just had to mention it. The Hotel has free Wifi. A word of caution: be very careful when walking long the Rue de Rivoli, pick pockets and gypsies are ever present. This seems to be everywhere though so don't let this stop you from experiencing the tourist location.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IDHANA, Responsable relations publiques at Regina Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Carol C,

Thank you for your detailed feedback on your visit to Regina Hotel.

We are pleased to read that you found our location convenient with a beautiful view of the Tuileries Gardens and the Eiffel Tower from you room. We are happy to read that your room has suited to your needs.

The staff at the front desk has an excellent training to welcome our guests with friendly, professional and dedicated attitude.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I spent 4 nights in August 2012 at the Hotel Regina. While the location of the hotel can't be beat -- across the street from the Tuileries and the Louvre, don't let them put you on the mezzanine level! You will have little natural light, no view, and a lot of noise if you're next to the Rue de Rivoli. A room across the hall looks over a rooftop. The hallways on the upper levels are beautiful and if you were able to get onto one of the upper floors, you should be able to see the Eiffel Tower in the distance. For the price of the hotel, I expected better. Even spoke to the manager about moving to an upper level to no avail. This was August! People I met later on had stayed very nearby at a small hotel, Hotel du Continent, very clean and much less expensive! I'll try it the next time, because the Regina offered no full service restaurant -- only bar food unless you happened to be there for lunch. So why not stay somewhere else just as conveniently located even if the other location offers only breakfast?

Room Tip: Insist on being above the mezzanine level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IDHANA, Responsable relations publiques at Regina Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Guest,
We do apologize for not replying sooner.
Thank you very much for staying at the Regina during your stay in Paris and for having taken the time to share your detailed feedback on Tripadvisor.
Your appreciations are of great importance in evaluating and improving our services and facilities and we strive at all times to maintain the highest level of hospitality.
Indeed our rooms on the mezzanine floor are located on the Rivoli street arcades.
The windows are double glass which normaly stops the noise.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon and show you different rooms.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Dunmow, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Having booked a 5 night stay here, we arrived with much anticipation of an enjoyable stay. This was my first (but not my wife's) visit to Paris.

The hotel has a magnificent facade, and is in a great central location (opposite The Louvre').

Upon arrival, the staff were friendly, and very helpful (offering to take our luggage etc). The Hotel interior is a delight, overall being typical of this kind of Hotel.

The room was very clean, and pleasant enough. Not large, but adequate. However......... We were surprised that the bed was only a standard double (4'6") - unusual these days, but hey ho. Much worse though, I found the bed to be so firm as to be quite uncomfortable. Whilst that is a subjective point, what isn't, is that our room was immediately next to a plant room. All through the night, we had to put up with the noise of what can be best described as sounding like a bath filling. This was very loud, and meant of the whole 5 nights, I didn't have one decent night's sleep - and at £350 per night is frankly disgusting. The room should either be not used as a bedroom, or have effected sound-proofing (can be done fairly easily). Had it not been for this, I would have scored higher. IF YOU ARE CONSIDERING THIS HOTEL, THE ROOM WE STAYED IN WAS 535 - AVOID!! Yes, we could have complained, but we didn't.

Sadly, the room had no view beyond an inner courtyard, but to be honest that didn't worry us too much. Wired / Wireless internet and room safe were provided at no additional cost, which was good (charging for these kind of things is a pet hate of mine). TV was provided (but with very limited content) - fair enough, but the usual Pay Per View movies at 14 Euros each is (in my view) extortionate. I guess though, you pays your money........

Breakfast was included, and was exceptional, and I do mean exceptional. The variety (absolutely everything you could want including "cooked" (eggs, bacon, sausage etc), cheeses and hams, cerials, fresh fruit, selection of pastries etc. The juices were freshly squeezed whole fruits. Since the format was buffet, it did mean we were able to have as much as we wanted. Everything was extremely fresh, and extremely good quality. We observed that (particularly with the pastries), they would regularly replace with fresh once they had been there a while! Tea was the ubiquitous (but lovely) Kusmi (choice of various), served in the (seemingly) traditional cast iron (Japanese style) tea kettles. We loved these, and have sourced online to purchase one. Oddly, one morning saw my (my wife preferred coffee) tea arrive in a pot (kettle) with no lid! Since I tend to prefer to eat before drinking tea, I brought to the attention of a member of staff noting that the tea would become cold quickly. My response was (not rudely, but not particularly helpful either) that they had lost the lid, in a manner that seemed surprised that I had commented thus, and what's the problem? I would have been far more relaxed about this had they at least offered to replace as soon as one with a lid became available, or something similar. How very bizarre that going to all the trouble they do with the food and freshness etc, they would serve tea in a pot without a lid!! This in itself though did not in any way really detract from the overall breakfast experience - never had better.

In summary, were it not for the room noise issue, I would have rated higher, and happily returned, but because of this definitely won't. For this kind of cost, I expect better!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IDHANA, Responsable relations publiques at Regina Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Garry SH,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our Hotel. Your comments are important to the success of our organization, as we rely on you, our guests, to improve our level of service.

As you know we have a great central location and we hope you appreciated the view of the Tuileries Garden and Eiffel Tour from your room.

Regina hotel has a magnificent façade and the interior has a lot of charm and history.

Furthermore Regina staff must to be helpful and friendly to welcoming our guests. Our rooms are clean thanks to the excellent job of our housekeeping staff.

We are very sorry that we were unable to meet your expectations.

We would like to apologize on behalf of the hotel and its team for the inconvenience caused by the noise. About the uncomfortable bed, you may also be interested to learn that we have started a full refurbishment of our guest rooms.

We would take pleasure in welcoming you back after our refurbishment is completed to have a better experience at Regina Hotel.

Once again please do accept our apologies and we do hope that the remainder of your trip to Paris was most enjoyable.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Mary, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Bonjour,

Regina hotel is magnificently located right in the heart of Paris, close to all the major hotspots.
We loved its charm and service, for 5 days.
The hotel has a beautiful French Parisian character; yes it's a little older, but that is what gives it character. The rooms were very clean, the accommodations were excellent, and the concierge service was second to none, very friendly, thorough, and helpful.

My only disappointing factor was that the bar was only open till 11pm on one of the evenings. After full day of tours, and walking through Paris, a nice refreshing adult beverage would be nice.

I recommend the Regina.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed in the Regina for 4 nights during August 2012. The hotel is wonderfully located, right accross the Tuileries garden and the Louvre. Three different metro stations are right around each corner (don't expect to find it easily as I found the French metro stations very poorly marked - but it's there!) A few minutes walk to the Opera and Lafayete Galleries, and ofcourse hundreds of french cafes and bistros.

The hotel itself has atmosphere and the staff are friendly and helpful. I cannot comment on the breakfast as we opted not to take it.

As for our room itself: decent size, comfortable and clean with a nice bathroom. Unfortunately our room (103) looked out into a massive concrete wall... which was tragic as I'm really not that picky but since we payed a lot of money, I would have liked to see a little of Paris from the window... a side street, some ugly rooftops, a flower box, a mureal on the devastatingly grim concrete wall, anything really! It felt like a really nice cell in a prison... OK mabe that's a little over dramatic! The hotel's airconditioning was broken the first night, but they had it fixed the very next day and even left a complementary bottle of wine in the room to appologize. The wine was horrible but I guess it's the gesture that counts.

All in all a really good hotel in a lovely location, just ask for any other room than 103... or 203, 303, 403, etc, I'm guessing they're all suffocated by that slab of dreadful concrete.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Regina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regina Hotel

Address: 2 Place des Pyramides, 75001 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#111 Family Hotel in Paris
#131 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#217 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#367 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Regina Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The prestigious Regina Hotel belongs to a long French tradition of luxury hotels. In the heart of the trendy district which is home to fashion design, shopping and museum, Paris aficionados will find the ideal place to stay, across the Louvre museum and the Tuileries Garden. Thanks to its wonderful situation, the capital's major attractions are just a stone's throw away including the Palais Royal and the Champs Elysees. From here, the luxurious Place Vendome, Orsay museum and the shopping centre Les Halles can be reached within 15 minutes on foot. Furthermore, the 'Tuileries' and 'Pyramides' metro stop at 150 meters provide quick and easy access throughout the city. First opened in 1900 for the World's Fair, Hotel Regina welcomes you in an intimate, spacious, sophisticated haven, where fine woodwork and designer lighting reinforce its anchor in Paris' history. This fully air conditioned property offers an array of services including a 24 hour reception, concierge, room service, laundry and limousine service amongst other. Furthermore, complimentary wireless Internet is accessible throughout the property. Each of the 119 rooms at the Regina Hotel in Paris has been elegantly furnished with antiques and period furniture, creating a traditional and luminous decor. Modern in-room amenities include a safe, direct dial telephone and flat screen television with satellite channels. Some of the bedrooms offer breath-taking views of the Louvre museum, the Tuileries Garden and the Eiffel Tower. Let yourself be charmed by its pretty La Terrasse (opened on sunny days) and its staff dedicated to your personal needs. In its British atmosphere of the hotel bar, you will enjoy a drink or a cocktail from our Chef Barman. You will have also the opportunity to relish teas and pastries from Laduree. For lunch and dinner the restaurant of Salon Rivoli will propose you a French and seasonal cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Hotel.de, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Regina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Regina Paris
Regina Hotel Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Regina Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.