We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellently located Parisian hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel les Jardins du Luxembourg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel les Jardins du Luxembourg to your Saves list
Hotel les Jardins du Luxembourg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5 impasse Royer Collard | 5th Arr., 75005 Paris, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,089 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Excellently located Parisian hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2014

We stayed at this hotel twice during our latest trip to France, October, 2014. Its major selling point is its wonderful location on the Left Bank within easy distance of museums, great restaurants and the park, of course. It is a three star hotel which means, among other things, that the rooms are not at all large--very compact, in fact. They are, nonetheless, perfectly comfortable and stylish in an off-beat sense. As others have reported, the shower did tend to spray on the bathroom floor regularly which required some mopping up. We found the staff to be very accommodating, efficient and friendly. The free WiFi was unreliable on upper floors but better on lower floors. The breakfasts served left a little (or a lot) to be desired. All in all it is a good value hotel in a distinct location on the Left Bank.

Room Tip: if possible, choose a lower floor because the WiFi will be more accessible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    52
    23
    11
    7
See reviews for
11
39
9
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2014

This hotel has a great location, just a few steps from the east side of the Luxembourg Gardens. It's a quiet street, because it is an "impasse" or "dead end." The staff were very friendly and helpful. The WiFi was "funky", not a great signal on the top floors, and you must renew the connection every time you get on the elevator or stop using the WiFi for a few minutes. The breakfast is nothing to rave about, but "adequate."

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgefield, Connecticut
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Friends of ours who are frugal travelers recommended this hotel to us, and trusting their pick, we stayed here for 6 nights. The hotel itself shares a similar name to a number of hotels around Les Jardins du Luxembourg, and our online receipt happened to not have the street address printed on it, so be sure you make a note of it!
The hotel is situated well-in on a deadend street, so nicely quiet at night for a city such as Paris. Our room seemed to have sound proof glass, because once you opened it, you could hear a little noise at night, but nothing like a night in New York! This is a consideration because air-conditioning in Paris is not like what I suspect most of us in the US are used to, so we found opening the windows at night often was cooler than what the room A/C could achieve... hence some city sounds along with it.
To tour Paris, we felt the location was terrific. The hotel is a two minute walk from the "B" Line Metro stop (Luxembourg) on Rue Saint-Michel, and only a 5 minute walk from there to Boulevard St.-Germain. Another 5 or so minutes in that same direction, and you are at the Seine, Musee D'Orsay, Notre Dame, etc. Of course, Les Jardin du Luxembourg is just across from the Metro stop, and if you like to run, it has a terrific shady route or is nice to just casually stoll. By the way, you can take the Metro to and from Charles DeGualle airport to the nearby stop on the Metro B Line for just under 10 Euros and in an estimated half hour. Get the Paris Metro app.... the subway in Paris is simple and safe, and it beats an 80-100 Euro cab fare!!
The room was smallish as compared with many hotel accomodations we have experienced around the world, and it took a day to get used to it. However, if you unpack using the furniture in the room, and store your suitcase on top of the armoire, it's a big help. We also tend to not "hang out" in our room, preferring to be out and about the city, so it was very comforable for us. We found the staff to be friendly and helpful. In the course of our stay we spoke with at least 4 different people on the front desk, and each one spoke English well and also worked happily with my efforts to use my rather elementary French. Bottom line, if you are expecting a 4 or 5-star hotel, then you likely will be disappointed, but if you like hidden boutique places to stay, then you should be happy.
We had 4 breakfasts at the hotel, two in our room and two in their dining room. We like to have coffee in our room to start our days when we travel, so on our first evening, we left an order for "coffee" the following day, but were surprised by a complete breakfast tray in the morning.... besides the coffee there was juice, yogurt, coissants and other breads, cheeses, preserves, etc. This replicated pretty much what was available in the dining room, although there you could also get scrambled eggs, bacon, fruit salad, cereal, etc. There was plenty to choose from and nice quality. It is important to note that if you have certain dietary restrictions, they may not be able to accommodate you. For example, we prefer no-fat yogurt and they could not provide it, so there may be other inflexibility there.... you can ask via email for more info before you arrive.
Also, to stay here, their best rates are available if your book online at their website which in English is: http://www.les-jardins-du-luxembourg.com/en/

Room Tip: We stayed in room 22 on the top floor (5th), and our room was bright in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppsala, Sweden
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

The rooms are clean but the safety box did not work and was not fixed during my stay. The shower is badly constructed so the floor becomes like a swimming pool. They did not accept credit cards for paying the city tax and the staff in the reception was rather rude.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Despite the fact that my hotel room was kind of small, the location was great with a 10 min walk to reach Notre de Dame de Paris. The Jardin de Luxembourg was 100 yards away.
The front desk manager at night was very friendly which made a big difference for me.
Nice place to stay!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brussels
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

I enjoyed my stay here. The location is great (morning runs in the Jardin de Luxembourg), the room was so comfortable, and the staff was supremely helpful. I will stay again next time in Paris on business. I would not stay here with my young children - rooms too small and I saw no children although it was not tourist season. I ate breakfast one day at the hotel, the price is a little high but it was a generous breakfast. Also - it is very easy to get to the hotel from CDG on the RER.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauritius
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

Thank you Aurore/Reservations for your prompt/efficient correspondence to assist us with our booking.
I liked the calm & quiet atmosphere of this hotel - considering its location in the Latin Quartier.
Everything about the room & en suite was comfortable & functional.
Front Desk personnelle - the only ones we met - were very welcoming.
I would recommend it for anyone else visiting this area.
Merci beaucoup!

Room Tip: We did not eat at this hotel as we were visiting a friend who lived nearby. There was no pool here...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel les Jardins du Luxembourg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel les Jardins du Luxembourg

Address: 5 impasse Royer Collard | 5th Arr., 75005 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,089 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel les Jardins du Luxembourg 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Venere, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Hotel les Jardins du Luxembourg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Jardins Du Luxembourg Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel les Jardins du Luxembourg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.