We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant hotel & location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel les Jardins du Luxembourg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel les Jardins du Luxembourg to your Saves list
Hotel les Jardins du Luxembourg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5 impasse Royer Collard | 5th Arr., 75005 Paris, France (Quartier Latin)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #995 of 1,810 Hotels in Paris
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Brilliant hotel & location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Me and my Mum stayed at this hotel in late November for 3 nights and had a great time. We had really struggled to find a decent hotel in this area around our budget of £300 for 3 nights and I was so pleased when I stumbled across their details on a comparison site - which I actually got cheaper by booking direct with the hotel.

The location was perfect - we were travelling by RER from the airport and the train stop is only a 10 minute walk from the hotel. We were slightly confused finding the hotel because some of the reviews on here said it was next to a main road and noisy - so we were looking for a main road - it's really not, it's on a one way street. We were in a room facing the street on the first floor - the closest you could get and we experienced very very little noise.

The staff are all extremely polite, check in was very fast and the hotel clean. Yes the room isn't massive, but European hotels aren't but the bathroom was large although it was a bit strange that the shower didn't have a door so water went everywhere. I have stayed in far smaller hotels in Italy so this wasn't an issue at all.

The hotel recently was refurbished so we had a lovely newly decorated room with a massive photograph of a fountain on the Place de Concorde behind the bed. The room was a little cold but as soon as I put the thermostat up this was quickly sorted. There was also a large plasma screen TV on the wall - I amused myself watching the French versions of Great British Bake Off and Strictly Come Dancing!

We didn't have the breakfast so I can't comment on that - we ate in small cafes in the local area. The location of the hotel is brilliant - just off the main road between the gardens leading towards Notre Dame with a number of restaurants and 5 minutes from the Latin Quarter - as two women on our own this was perfect.

Overall we would definately stay here again, fantastic location and great hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FoodieHarrogate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

When we stayed in this hotel (Fall 2013) this was -and by far- the best combination of cost/location and quality. That is why I give it 4 stars. To top it all the staff is absolutely first rate. And Sigmund Freud (one of my heroes) stayed there so my Dreams were informative and relieving (jaja) Now for the minuses: the rooms can be small (you should ask for the ones directly on the street they are full of charm!) and the bathrooms even more (I am 6'1 and it was a challenge to take a shower). And there is the Wifi provided by your favorite incumbent phone company (Orange) that was totally substandard (I was told it was going to be upgraded). Unless by budget improves significantly I will continue to patronize this hotel.
PS The restaurant in the basement serves a reasonable breakfast but if you want "real Paris flavor" go to the little cafe at the corner or the one in front of the the Luxembourg....

Room Tip: Specifically ask for "bigger rooms" in top floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jose A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langhorne, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

This review represents an average of what would have been a zero for the first room I stayed in, and a three for the second two nights of my stay. The first room was on the 6th floor (#26). There was essentially no heat in the room; it had a single, terribly uncomfortable bed, and a tiny bathroom with a towel warmer that I hoped would warm up the bathroom - but did not work. To top it off, the metal cover at the top of the shower came crashing down - fortunately I was not under it at the time. I was able to switch rooms the next day (third floor #14), and what a difference that made. Heat, a double bed and a reasonable view. WIFI was intermittent in the rooms but was included. The breakfast was good, and convenient given that we had to be out early. The location was fine for wandering around this part of Paris - close to the Sorbonne and Institute Curie and off course Luxembourg Gardens. Downside to the hotel - nice staff, but totally incompetent with giving directions. I would also not ask for restaurant recommendations. Try someplace else if you can, and if not, avoid the sixth floor!

Room Tip: Room selection critical - 3rd floor rooms are probably fine - can't comment on the other floors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JBLanghorne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Excellent location, steps from Luxembourg gardens and the Luxembourg RER stop. On a small, quiet street. Staff was friendly enough. Breakfast was simple, but good; unfortunately in the basement level with no view - I'd rather sit in a cafe. I'd stay here again.

Room Tip: 17 was nice, 4th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelalotParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

This was a hidden away little gen with small, but oh so clean rooms! The front desk staff were so friendly and helpful, and everyone from the cleaning staff to breakfast chef were just wonderful. Love this place!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lorna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is located about 2 minutes away from Luxembourg gardens and the underground. So getting to the hotel is easy.

Very close to the pantheon.

Rooms are on the smaller side but the location is a trade off. Not much of a view. Would recommend this for a couple of nights max.

Staff are polite and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rwap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

This place was unimaginably bad. Nothng like the pictures we had seen. The room was horrible, small, dark, - and when we got off the elevator to go to our room, the sensor lights in the hallway on our floor never went on - and we found ourselves in total darkness trying to find our door (which by the way had no room number on it!) The little bar they showed was a wooden barrel type table in their tiny entry way. Their little outdoor area was a glassed in area with weeds. We overlooked a dumpster (how appropriate!). The staff were unpleasant. Can't say enough about how bad our experience was. All I can say is - don't stay here....

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Judi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Quartier Latin
Hotel Elysa Luxembourg
Hotel Elysa Luxembourg
#672 of 1,810 in Paris
4.0 of 5 stars 397 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel du Bresil
Hotel du Bresil
#1,099 of 1,810 in Paris
3.5 of 5 stars 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Le Clos Medicis
Hotel Le Clos Medicis
#419 of 1,810 in Paris
4.0 of 5 stars 408 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel de Senlis
Hotel de Senlis
#1,417 of 1,810 in Paris
3.0 of 5 stars 67 reviews
Hotel des Mines
#1,103 of 1,810 in Paris
3.5 of 5 stars 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel les Jardins du Luxembourg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel les Jardins du Luxembourg

Address: 5 impasse Royer Collard | 5th Arr., 75005 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Quartier Latin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #995 of 1,810 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel les Jardins du Luxembourg 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel les Jardins du Luxembourg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Jardins Du Luxembourg Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing