We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“don't stay here....” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel les Jardins du Luxembourg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel les Jardins du Luxembourg to your Saves list
Hotel les Jardins du Luxembourg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5 impasse Royer Collard | 5th Arr., 75005 Paris, France (Quartier Latin)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,077 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
Miami Beach, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“don't stay here....”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

This place was unimaginably bad. Nothng like the pictures we had seen. The room was horrible, small, dark, - and when we got off the elevator to go to our room, the sensor lights in the hallway on our floor never went on - and we found ourselves in total darkness trying to find our door (which by the way had no room number on it!) The little bar they showed was a wooden barrel type table in their tiny entry way. Their little outdoor area was a glassed in area with weeds. We overlooked a dumpster (how appropriate!). The staff were unpleasant. Can't say enough about how bad our experience was. All I can say is - don't stay here....

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    56
    24
    11
    7
See reviews for
12
43
10
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

This was the worst of the 6 hotels we stayed in Europe. The room was tiny and had a motel room kind of feel, and had an odd smell. The "balcony" was a 6" ledge with a railing that all the windows in Paris has.

Worst of all, the toilet wasn't great and got clogged the first night. There was no plunger or toilet brush or anything. I went down to ask for one, and the guy at the desk informed me there was not a single plunger in the entire hotel, and told me I can't expect them to fix it at 10pm (even though I wanted to fix it myself,) and said it was, I quote, "my fault" it got clogged.

The only pluses was that the daytime woman working downstairs was very nice, and the location was pretty good.

For nearly 200 Euros a night, stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I was shocked at how pathetic this hotel is. I had to go back and look at the pictures on the website to see why I possibly booked this place. The "lobby" and the "bar" consists of a essentially a coffee table with a few bottles on it. There is no comfortable room to sit. The elevator opens up to pitch black hallways and you have to wait for the motion sensors to turn the light on.... Then you will wish it hadn't. The room is so small that we could not open two suitcases at once and you had to close the suitcase to get into the bathroom. What a rip off. Luckily, we were there only one night before heading to the airport. Avoid it!

Room Tip: Don't go
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlottesville, Virginia, ABD
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

-great location, 1 rer train from CDG
-got good sleep , rooms are well in terms of darkness and quiet
-helpful and friendly staff
-area is cool, near the university, lively environment
-rooms are a bit small but it's Paris...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

It was OK but for 147 euros a night for two you would like to get more than OK. This didn't include breakfast (another 12 euros) but I avoid the stewed catering coffee of hotel breakfasts whenever I can. And for 7.50 euros we had brilliant breakfasts round the corner in the shadow (the sun did shine for us) of the Sorbonne. The room was small, which didn't matter too much on a hefty sightseeing trip, and the one accessible plug was hanging out of the wall, having been abused no doubt by countless phone and laptop chargers.

We cased other hotels in the area to see if we'd been ripped off - and the evidence in fact suggested that we hadn't. Around the Luxembourg gardens and down along the left bank is a great area, culturally and aesthetically, so maybe it justifies a premium. One of the best bistros ever (Les Papilles) is just round the corner and the Marc Chagall exhibition was across the Boulevard St Michel at the back end of the gardens themselves. A sign outside says it was the hotel Freud stayed in when he first came to Paris. It was the called the Hotel de la Paix, and for all its lack of value and the wailing sirens of the police wagons harassing the anti-gay marriage protesters outside the nearby Senate apart, it certainly lived up to its former name.

In summary, value - not really, adequacy and convenience, I guess so.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I took my daughter to Paris last week for her 17th birthday and was a bit anxious about where to stay as I didn't want to disappoint her but didn't want to pay the earth either. Previously we have stayed in apartments in Montmartre and place de la Concorde areas as a family but it wasn't worth getting an apartment for just the two of us. I like the Left Bank but was aware that it is a very popular, busy and an expensive place to stay. For that reason I was very pleased to stumble on Jardins de Luxembourg whilst trawling through umpteen websites. The reviews on Tripadvisor were mostly very good so I went ahead and booked. I didn't regret it at all. The location is perfect, just a couple of minutes away from the RER station Luxembourg, which gets you to and from Gare du Nord in 15 minutes or less. Yes the rooms are small but very nice and perfectly good for a few days' visit as you are probably not going to spend much time in there anyway. I found the beds really comfortable and slept very well. Yes I did hear the beeping of trucks quite early in the morning as mentioned by another reviewer but that was the only noise I noticed and didn't bother me too much. The bathroom was small but had a bath and shower, towels were soft and plentiful, and the water very hot. Everywhere was very clean and nicely furnished. We had asked for a balcony room and we got one on the second floor; however due to the rain, not much time could be spend out there! It is also pretty small and there was only one chair. The hotel is right round the corner from the famous Jardins and they are lovely though disappointingly not much was in flower this spring due to the long winter which it seems Paris suffered same as UK. You can walk to Notre Dame area in ten minutes down the Boulevard St Michel and then along the river or virtually anywhere in Paris you like. The lively Boul St Germain is really close, loads of shops, restaurants, cafes and bars. Other major attractions such as the Eiffel Tower are a couple of stops away by metro if you don't want to walk. There is a cafe on the corner opposite the hotel where we had breakfast, a boulangerie selling delicious cakes on the other and loads of restaurants up the road round the university. We sampled the Chinese: very nice but like most restaurants in the area rather pricey for what it is (compared to London prices that is). We also ate at the Terazza St Germain which was a very good Italian and in the St Germain market area.

All in all, a very good trip. We enjoyed the hotel and were made to feel welcome by the friendly staff in particular Aurore. I would definitely stay there again on future visits.

Room Tip: Rooms with balcony on 2nd and 3rd floor. larger rooms on ground floor. Less noise in rooms at back o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel les Jardins du Luxembourg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel les Jardins du Luxembourg

Address: 5 impasse Royer Collard | 5th Arr., 75005 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Quartier Latin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,077 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel les Jardins du Luxembourg 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Hotel les Jardins du Luxembourg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Jardins Du Luxembourg Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel les Jardins du Luxembourg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.