We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very convenient and hospital” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel les Jardins du Luxembourg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel les Jardins du Luxembourg to your Saves list
Hotel les Jardins du Luxembourg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5 impasse Royer Collard | 5th Arr., 75005 Paris, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,089 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Ontario-Canada
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“very convenient and hospital”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

This hotel has excellent very helpful staff and is very conveniently located next to the Luxembourg Gardens. It is within easy walking distance of most key sites in Paris. The rooms are rather small - but typical of european hotels. The room could be brighter (ie more lights or stronger lights) but overall was quite good. We stayed for 4 nights and would stay there again

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    52
    23
    11
    7
See reviews for
11
39
9
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I have been staying in "Les Jardins du Luxembourg" about twice a year for the last 4 years. It is a very nice hotel just near the station Luxembourg of RER B (direct gare du Nord and Roissy), and therefore perfectly located for visiting le quartier Latin, le Pantheon, la Sorbonne etc. It is also perfectly located if you have business with one of the many universities, research institutes, and schools around.

The hotel is fairly small and has a familial atmosphere. The rooms are decorated with taste. Some are a little better than other, in particular with a more functional desk. But overall they are all nice. They are very clean. The bathroom are of a decent size and are equiped with many towels of many size. Each room has a minibar.

The breakfast is getting better every year. For Paris and this price, it is very diverse, abundant and of good quality.

Internet is not provided and must be purchased with Orange, which is not cheap.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Situated right in the middle of the Quartier Latin, 1mn from a direct "métro" line to the Gare du Nord Eurostar station, 3mn from the
Luxembourg Gardens, this hotel is to be found in a quiet cul-de-sac. Reception are friendly. Restaurants and cafés abound near by.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for oe of the two (slightly more expensive) ground floor rooms carved out from an old...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Providence Island
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

By Paris standards for a "boutique" hotel, this place is fine. The rooms are clean enough and large enough (generally). The location is wonderful--right across from the RER B station at Luxembourg (Senat) and adjacent to one of the most beautiful gardens in Paris (Jardin du Luxembourg). The hotel could use some up-keep, but it's ok. The American-French breakfast in the cute dining room is well worth the 12 Euros. I stay here often.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

The hotel was clean but outdated. The beds were squeaky and really need an update. The bathroom was small but clean. I would likely stay here again because the price for paris was quite good. The service was great and the location was perfect, steps away from the Jardin and the metro. It is located on a small street, so the hotel is very quiet.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012 via mobile

This Hotel was recommended to me and I was not dissapointed. The hotel is steps from the RER B metro line. Which will take you to CDG airport, about a 45 minute ride. With that said the location was very convenient. It is also right across from the world famous Luxembourg gardens which is a must see! The hotel is on a dead end road as well so I felt very safe here. The rooms are small but very kept and cute. The safe in the room did not work and did not get fixed during my stay here. I called to the front desk but they seemed to have forgotten? Not sure... My recommendation is to be persistent if making a request. I was not persistent on this. Also, the man at the front desk did not seem very knowledgeable about the transportation in Paris. It may have been his first week. They do provide metro maps and maps of Paris however.. The lack of knowledge of this fellow was a bit dissapointing, but nonetheless the rooms were clean, and comfortable which is what counts. I had a very comfortable stay here. Try not to have large luggage, the lift is very small and so are the hallways. I wouldn't recommend this hotel to large families. It would be better suited for a lone traveler or a couple. Reason being is that the rooms are small as the hotel itself is. Breakfast is offered here although I did not have it since there are cafes in the area. Despite
the minor complaint about the safe, I would stay here again. The location in my opinion is wonderful and the room were decent. It is a very cute and quaint hotel, i did like it. Also, being so close to the Metro I think is essential in Paris. My last tip is to not have the hotel call you a taxi. I made the mistake of doing that and the meter started off at 8 euros. Which is not average in Paris. Plan accordingly I take the metro it is just steps away.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

This confirmed to me that hotels are best avoided in Paris, and private rentals are much more superior (I spent the rest of my trip in one half the price of this hotel that was twice the size in almost the same location).
The location is great, and being able to walk from an RER B station is great when coming from the airport.
When I arrived the air-conditioning in the entire building didn't seem to work or be on, and it was an incredibly hot day. This was fixed the following day. The staff were friendly and accommodating, and the hotel overall is quite charming.
The rooms are very small, and the fridge in my room didn't work and looked like it hadn't been plugged in in months (and yet the mini bar price list was still put in the prime place).
Overall, it is an ok hotel to stay in purely because of the location, but only for a day or two...most certainly not for a week.

Room Tip: A room with a balcony would improve the experience I think.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel les Jardins du Luxembourg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel les Jardins du Luxembourg

Address: 5 impasse Royer Collard | 5th Arr., 75005 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,089 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel les Jardins du Luxembourg 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Venere, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Hotel les Jardins du Luxembourg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Jardins Du Luxembourg Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel les Jardins du Luxembourg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.