We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What was that!!!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Paris Hotel Le Parc Trocadero

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Paris Hotel Le Parc Trocadero to your Saves list
Renaissance Paris Hotel Le Parc Trocadero
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   55 - 57 Avenue Raymond Poincare | 16th Arr., 75116 Paris, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% off
Ranked #214 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“What was that!!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2008

I must say, this hotel left me wishing I had picked someplace else!

First of all, I had booked a suite, but was told on arrival the suite was taken, and we could have a superior room. Great! I've been upgraded for non availability, but down graded? That was a first. I let that pass, only because the lady at the reception was so apologetic about it that my wife and I felt sorry at her embarassment.

The room looked nothing for the amount of money that was charged. But then, thats Paris! Nothing comes cheap. The breakfast had a decent spread though.

The location is ok. Stone's throw away from Victor Hugo, and not too far from Champs Elysees.

On the whole, the experience felt like a good 3 star hotel. Perhaps I had too many expectations.

  • Liked — Located close to Champs Elysees
  • Disliked — The price is not justified
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    199
    56
    18
    14
See reviews for
103
272
15
82
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
nmpricess06
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2008

Stayed at this hotel in Feb , It was our first stay in paris,
and i thought this hotel was fantastic!!!
When we checked in we had no wait and everyone was really helpful. We were in our room within 10mins.
We had a room across the courtyard, which was really nice, The room was fantastic, huge bed, best nights sleep i've ever had!!!
We didn't use the courtyard at all as it was too cold to sit outside, but i'd imagin this is really nice in the summer,
Breakfast was great, lots of choice. bacon, eggs, sausges, everything for a fry up, plus muffins, pastries, yoghurts, fresh fruit, hams cheese, have a good breakfast and it will keep you going most the day.
As our room was across the courtyard, you didnt have to walk through reception everytime you came and went to the hotel, as they have an entrance next to the main entrace which goes straight into the courtyard. The only time this was closed was at night where you had to use reception.
The hotel was only a 5 min walk from the nearest metro.
5/10 min walk to the Eiffell tower, and about 15 the Ard De Triomph. Overall we had a fantastic time, and if i go back to Paris I will be staying here again!!

  • Liked — rooms are fantistic, and loaction was great
  • Disliked — nothing"!!!
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhode island
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2008

I am a frequent Marriott guest and have stayed at many all over teh world. This Marriott was very clean, however I found the employees very cold towards us. There is no real lobby and I felt like they were giving us the stink eye everytime we came and went. I also found myself waiting in line for everything. For instance you check in at the "front desk" you have to get your keys from the conceirge who is 3 feet away and there was a line. So I had to wait in two lines just to check in. In addition the airconditioning does not work. It is in a decent location as far as getting to metro stops. The room is small but that is to be expected in Europe. The bathroom was modern and in good condition.

  • Liked — clean
  • Disliked — front desk help and ac not working
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2008

A lovely hotel with very pleasant and helpful staff. It wasn't luxury by any means but was absolutely acceptable, especially at under 280E per night. The room was in excellent condition and comparable to those in the nicer Doubletrees and Marriotts in the US. The location was terrific - go out the door and turn in one direction for the Victor Hugo Metro stop, or the other direction for the Trocadero stop. You can also walk to the Arc de Triomphe and the Champs Elysee, but those are farther away.

The hotel is located just far enough off the usual tourist hot spots so that you can get a feel for a true Parisian neighborhood. The local grocery story (8 a Huit) is two blocks down and carries pates, cheeses, and wine. The local boulangerie is at the Victor Hugo Metro stop. There's a Starbucks 1/2 block from that stop.

I highly recommend the airport limo transfer service. It is pricey, but you will be met by a guide at the gate as you disembark from the plane (not baggage claim) who will whisk you through the lines at passport control and escort you through baggage and to your driver. The return trip to the airport isn't worth the price; you'd be better off with a taxi.

Breakfast buffet selections were excellent and included the usual "English breakfast" items (grilled tomatoes, sausages, eggs) as well as a variety of smoked fish, fresh fruit, yogurts, waffles and pastries.

Book through the Marriott website for the best deals. Also, check the site again the week before you arrive. We discovered that our rate had gone down by 30E/night, called the 800 number and Marriott honored the lower rate.

The best evening spot is at the cafe to the farthest right on the Trocadero as you face the Eiffel Tower. Arrive around 9:15 pm, sip wine and wait for the light show at 10. Granted, it's brief and consists of lights flickering around the tower. But you're in a cafe, at night, in Paris! Avoid the other cafes as they don't have as good a view of the Tower (do a check - if you can't see the tower from the street, you won't see it from inside the cafe). Walk across the Trocadero to the Palais de Chaillot where there is a large terrace with a fabulous view of the Seine, the tower, and Paris. There are gypsies and souvenir sellers - but answer in German and they'll leave you alone (look up a few phrases before you leave).

  • Liked — excellent service, quality accommodations at reasonable price
  • Disliked — 20E a day for internet service
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north yorkshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2008

an absolutly wonderful hotel. I took my mother for 4 nights and it couldn't have been better.We had a lovely room overlooking the courtyard, it was so peacfull it was difficult to imagine that you were in the middle of paris. We had our breakfast included in the price but even though it seems expensive i would say it was worth every penny. When considering you pay between 7 and 10 euros for 2 coffee's 27 euros gets you a lot of food, There is everything could think of from fresh friut, to every type of bread imaginable to a good cooked breakfast and theres no restriction on how much you have. The staff at the hotel are so lovely, we had a lot of problems with the excursions i had booked via my travel agent and without the concierges help i would have been passed myself. If your looking for a good quiet hotel, central to everything, with first class service I'd say look no further.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
106 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2008

As others have said, this hotel is in an attractive and convenient location close to the Eiffel Tower. It is near to Victor Hugo Metro Station and a handy 20-minutes from the Eurostar terminal at Gare du Nord.

The hotel staff were very friendly and very efficient. The rooms are located in a couple of detached blocks situated around a pretty central courtyard. I had a superior room which was an excellent size and very acceptable. It included large bathroom, large tv, minibar, armchair, sufficient cupboard space, iron with board and a very comfortable bed. No tea/coffee facilities.

The breakfast was extensive, but costly at 27 euros (or 18 euros for continental). I didn't use the hotel restaurant, but it looked good. The hotel could do with another more cost-effective dining/cafe/snack option, although, being Paris, there are numerous other options in the area.

Overall, this hotel was an excellent but costly base for a weekend break.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covington, La
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2008

Found reviews from trip advisor helpful then put in Le Parc Paris in search address and booked online. Room was very clean even behind bed, etc. People there very helpful and pleasant. 8 minute walk to Le Defense Arch and less than 5 minutes the other way is the Effile Tower - Great location. About $1200 for 3 nights... Ate breakfast buffet once was very good but a little high. Went to local shops for coffee and pastry - cheaper and pastries in that area are great. Hope this helps

  • Liked — Bathroom good size great bed (cover and pillows) tea pot and tea in room
  • Disliked — NOTHING
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Paris Hotel Le Parc Trocadero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Paris Hotel Le Parc Trocadero

Address: 55 - 57 Avenue Raymond Poincare | 16th Arr., 75116 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#112 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#179 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#186 Family Hotel in Paris
#202 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Paris Hotel Le Parc Trocadero 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reopened April 2011, this five-star hotel in Paris, underwent a complete renovation. Discover a blend of luxury, charm, class and innovation of which only our hotel knows the secret. A historic treasure in one of Europe's most charming cities, the Renaissance Paris Hotel Le Parc Trocadero is located near the Champs-Elysees and Eiffel Tower. This Paris hotel’s 122 elegant guest rooms and suites boast flat-panel TVs, Internet access and plush bedding. Enjoy simple and tasty cuisine at our signature restaurant Le Relais du Parc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Renaissance Paris Hotel Le Parc Trocadero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Paris Hotel Le Parc Trocadero, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.