We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two star quality at five star prices” 2 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Paris Le Grand

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Paris Le Grand to your Saves list
InterContinental Paris Le Grand
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Rue Scribe, 75009 Paris, France (Opéra)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #276 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Two star quality at five star prices”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

The location is excellent and so are the public areas of this hotel. The room we had was VERY small, we were only there for a weekend but if you have a larger suitcase there simply wouldn't have been a space in the room to leave it. The bed was small as well and not very comfortable (too soft). The room was extremely hot when we arrived and the only way to cool it down was to open the window......
The bathroom is quite small as well and the shower only average.
Breakfast, Internet and mini-bar prices are simply ridiculous - don't even think about using any of those,
There are better hotels in Paris at lower prices.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IC-Paris-Le-Grand, Quality Coordinator at InterContinental Paris Le Grand, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear SjoerdVXX,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor.

We are sorry to hear that you did not find certain areas of our hotel up to your expectations.

We are glad to see that you did enjoy our location and the public areas of the hotel.

We hope to welcome you back to Paris one day in the future.

Kind Regards,

Sally Durrant
Quality Coordinator
Krumma.jonsdottir@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,602 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    806
    471
    188
    83
    54
See reviews for
278
665
96
331
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

This was my first stay at the Grand Hotel. I needed to be in Paris for 3 days with one of my meetings being in the hotel. The rooms are great and the meeting room was good except the air conditioning made the room too hot. This could not be adjusted so we opened a window to let some freezing outside air in. The location is very central but my commute was quite slow to get to La Defense. Overall a good stay but quite expensive.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IC-Paris-Le-Grand, Quality Coordinator at InterContinental Paris Le Grand, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Frank R,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor.

We would like to apologise for any inconvenience experienced regarding the air conditioning.

We hope to welcome you back to Paris again, next time maybe for leisure!

Kind Regards,

Sally Durrant
Quality Coordinator
Krumma.jonsdottir@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

the hotel is well located next to the opera. the bus stops for the city trips are close. the louvre is about 15 minutes walk. the restaurant and room service is expensive but there are several nice restaurants in the neighbourhood. the rooms comfortable and cosy. staff is courteous and helpful. definitely a place to return to if back in the city again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IC-Paris-Le-Grand, Quality Coordinator at InterContinental Paris Le Grand, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear I_am_on_business,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor.

Your compliments will be passed on to our teams.

We do hope to see you back in Paris again soon.

Kind Regards,

Sally Durrant
Quality Coordinator
Krumma.jonsdottir@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Top Contributor
499 reviews 499 reviews
97 hotel reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
287 helpful votes 287 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

The InterContinental Paris Le Grand is in an excellent location in Paris, next to the opera and within walking distance from the Metro and shopping, including the massive Galeries Lafayette. I found it pretty convenient to get around staying there.

The hotel itself is absolutely beautiful, with so much history behind it. The Cafe de la Paix is classic luxury and always busy as a meeting point. Every decoration exudes 19th-Century charm. Plush velvet sofas and ornately-designed wallpapers are pieces of art in themselves.

The rooms are not big, with the bed filling up most of the space. However, they are cosy and modern. I had a gorgeous view of the opera house from my window.

The staff at check in and check out were not friendly and no smiles appeared on their faces. They were also slow in going about their jobs. Paying a really high room rate for that kind of service is not the way for me. I would rather stay in a less opulent place but treated better.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IC-Paris-Le-Grand, Quality Coordinator at InterContinental Paris Le Grand, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Chattan_k,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor.

I regret to learn that the service that you received at the Front Desk was not up to your expectations. This is not the level of service that we strive to deliver. Your comments have been passed on to our Heads of Department and I do hope that if you return in the future you will see a difference.

Thank you for the rest of your positive comments. Guest constructive feedback is our best source for improvement and I thank you for having taken the time to share your comments with us.

I do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the InterContinental Paris Le Grand in the future.

Kind Regards,

Sally Durrant
Quality Coordinator
Krumma.jonsdottir@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

First of all, the hotel is 150 years old. So the rooms are small. But the place has a very nice feel to it. The bar is great. Restaurant is fine for breakfast. And the location is perfect. Overall a nice stay.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IC-Paris-Le-Grand, Quality Coordinator at InterContinental Paris Le Grand, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Greg799,

Thank you for your review.

In 2012 we were celebrating our 150th Birthday which was a great success.

We are glad to see that you enjoyed our location, bar and restaurant.

We hope to welcome you back to Paris in the future.

Kind Regards,


Sally Durrant
Quality Coordinator
Krumma.jonsdottir@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights on business and it was very business friendly- good internet, responsive staff. The breakfasts were great and the room I had was generous even by US standards and very nicely appointed. Great bed, curtains that actually blocked out ALL the light! Very quiet and elegant. The meeting rooms were good though the one we had was a it tight. Still, the staff did their best to accommodate us. Overall a very positive experience though I doubt I would stay here on personal business because of the price.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IC-Paris-Le-Grand, Quality Coordinator at InterContinental Paris Le Grand, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Pfpollack,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor.

We are glad to see that your business stay with us was a success. We hope that your review will be useful for future travellers.

We hope to welcome you back to Paris, maybe for leisure next time!

Kind Regards,

Sally Durrant
Quality Coordinator
Krumma.jonsdottir@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cancun, Mexico
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

It is nice, but with a price like that you'd think free internet would be included. The breakfast are delicious, but after the 3rd day it is all the same. You can't be location. It is around good shopping if you like doing that and don't mind paying top dollar to shop. I'd rather learn about the art in the Louve that is walking distance. Beds are super comfortable. The bathroom is spacious. We had a balcony that opened up to the Opera house which made for interesting people watching. Deep pockets are needed. We won this trip so it was nice not to have to pay for it. The Spa prices were a rip off. Posh it is, cheap it ain't!

Room Tip: There is a Belgium chocolatier around the corner. Don't miss it. It isn't far from the post...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IC-Paris-Le-Grand, Quality Coordinator at InterContinental Paris Le Grand, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear HappyRascal,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor about your recent stay with us.
Our prices are regularly benchmarked against similar establishments in the area.

We are glad to hear that you were comfortable in the room and hope that you did enjoy the spectacular view over the Opéra House.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Sally Durrant
Quality Coordinator
Krumma.jonsdottir@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Paris Le Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Paris Le Grand

Address: 2 Rue Scribe, 75009 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opéra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Spa Hotel in Paris
#130 Business Hotel in Paris
#142 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#174 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#177 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Paris Le Grand 4*
Number of rooms: 470
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The InterContinental Paris Le Grand, opened during the reign of Napoleon III, is located in the very heart of the city: across the street from the Opéra Garnier, close to some of the best-known Parisian attractions, world-famous department stores and the wonderful Place Vendôme. The hotel contains 470 rooms, all richly decorated in the colours of the Opéra, and a warmly illuminated haven of peace and serenity in the bustle of Parisian life: la Verrière. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Paris Le Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Paris Le Grand Hotel Paris
Le Grand Hotel Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Paris Le Grand, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.