We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great position!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Paris Le Grand

Save Saved
You added InterContinental Paris Le Grand to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Paris Le Grand
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Rue Scribe, 75009 Paris, France (Opéra)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #270 of 1,795 hotels in Paris
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great position!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

I read the trip advisor reviews and was apprehensive about the negative reports, but got an excellent deal from Expedia and decided to try. We were in an opera view room with large bathroom king bed and windows opening out onto Paris opera.For a European hotel room it was large. It was quiet at night despite being in Centre of town, it was clean and in fact they came twice a day to check amenities and towels. The staff were friendly and helpful and the concierge even let us borrow his umbrella when it started raining one night. Position is perfect and there is a CDG airport bus opposite the opera and a great metro station and galleries Lafayette. I would stay again

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IC-Paris-Le-Grand, Quality Coordinator at InterContinental Paris Le Grand, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Jtsho,

Thank you for your recent review here on Tripadvisor.

Tripadvisor publishes both positive and negative reviews and I am glad to hear that you were willing to give us a try and even more pleased to hear that you had a positive experience!

Your compliments will be passed on to your teams and we all hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the future!

Kind regards,

Sally Durrant
Quality Coordinator
Krumma.jonsdottir@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,423 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    709
    410
    179
    76
    49
See reviews for
241
582
88
291
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buford, GA
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We stayed four nights at the IC-Le Grand in early October. I used a combination of Ambassador Club points for free nights combined with a paid night. Because of my Ambassador Club status, I was upgraded into a 3 room Junior Suite on the 5th floor--a great room!

I also opted to pay an additional $90 a night for Club Lounge access--this provides food and beverage and a private business center from 7:30am to 10pm, and well worth the investment given the high prices for meals, snacks, etc, in Paris. The Breakfasts have all kinds of breads and pastries, cereals, fruit, cheeses, as well as eggs, bacon, and the rest. They will make you eggs to order as well. At lunch and dinner, they serve mini sandwiches, a salad such as a pasta salad, cold cuts and cheeses, as well as a good selection of sweets and pastries, cookies, etc. Free wine and champagne, along with beer and sodas. Ice bucket with ice for the sodas for the Americans that need ice in their drinks--all well done and saves lots of money. The club lounge access also provides you with free internet access in your hotel room--a significant savings as well. So definately purchase the Club level access--if you are an Ambassador level, you can negotiate the fee down to $90/day. You might be able to negotiate down to this rate no matter what level you have, or don't have!

Excellent service staff and front desk staff--all very helpful and accomodating. The concierge staff was ready with restaurant recommendations, instructions on the best way to walk to the key sights, etc.

This is a top flight hotel in a city with a lot of great hotel competition. Great location in the Opera district--close to the Louvre.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IC-Paris-Le-Grand, Quality Coordinator at InterContinental Paris Le Grand, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Nantucketdreamer,

What can I say except for Thank you for your very complete and positive review here on Tripadvisor!

It sounds like you really enjoyed the Club Lounge facilities during your stay with us and your recommendations will hopefully be useful to future visitors.

Thank you for your compliments to our staff, such comments are highly motivating. Be sure that your remarks will be passed on.

We hope to welcome you back to the InterContinental Paris Le Grand in the future.

Kind Regards,

Sally Durrant
Quality Coordinator
Krumma.jonsdottir@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We stayed in Le Grand for 5 nights and found the rooms to be beautiful, clean, and large compared to most European rooms. The service was great, as was the central location.
The bar and breakfast were consistently attentive, with excellent food.

Room Tip: Ensure you ask for a view (as our room had a view of a steel air con shaft and concrete wall).
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IC-Paris-Le-Grand, Quality Coordinator at InterContinental Paris Le Grand, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Adam B,

Thank you for your very positive review.

We do hope this will be useful for future travellers.

The team hopes to welcome you back to Paris in the future.

Kind Regards,

Sally Durrant
Quality Coordinator
Krumma.jonsdottir@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Attleboro, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We flew into Paris a day early to start a 10 day trip around France. I belong to the InterContiental as a Platinum Ambassador Member. So I found this hotel and used my points to stay there. This 150 year old hotel is in the heart of Paris. Only a block from the Opera House , Metro,and fine shops and restaurants. It only has 5 floors, and we were on a top floor with a very large room that had a huge bat tub on one side of the bathroom and a large shower on the other side. With lots of space in the whole room. The service from check in to check out was excellent.

Room Tip: Room on the top floor facing the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IC-Paris-Le-Grand, Quality Coordinator at InterContinental Paris Le Grand, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Bkpoud2,

Thank you for your very positive review here on Tripadvisor.

I am happy to read that the service you received, the location of our hotel and your room all contributed to your enjoyment.

We hope to welcome you back to the InterContinental Paris Le Grand in the future.

Kind Regards,

Sally Durrant
Quality Coordinator
Krumma.jonsdottir@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Me and my wife stayed in the hotel for 4 nights and couldn't be happier. Large rooms with the view for the heart of Paris, the crowded Opera district streets. Wonderful and caring stuff that provided a high quality of service that is uncommon to the French capitol. Large room and an extremely comfortable bed all make our experience unforgettable.
Since on our arrival the hotel was overbooked, we spent the first 3 nights in Crowne-Plaza Republic, a great hotel as well. On our return the front desk manager Nadim, took care of us by providing us a wonderful room, selection of beverages, sweets and fresh fruits. From the balcony we could see the glow of the Eiffel tower at night run with a million spots of light and it was really a unique experience.
I really recommend this hotel for anyone who wants to fill Paris at is best.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IC-Paris-Le-Grand, Quality Coordinator at InterContinental Paris Le Grand, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Guyhadar,

Thank you for your review here on Tripadvisor.

May I apologise again for the difficulties experienced upon your arrival.

I am glad to hear that this incident did not tarnish the rest of your stay with us and that Nadim and the rest of the team treated you with the excellent level of service that we pride ourselves on.

The Eiffel Tower provides a fantastic view and I am glad that you were able to enjoy this during your stay with us.

We do hope to welcome you back to the InterContinental Paris Le Grand in the future.

Warm Regards,

Sally Durrant
Quality Coordinator
Krumma.jonsdottir@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owl's Head, Maine
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We had paid for reservations two months ahea, but on arrival, were told that there was no room available for that night. Tired from the long trip and from a nightmare mob scene at immigration at Charles de Gaulle, we were not enthusiastic about being sent to another hotel for our first night.
However, Mr. Nadim Bawab, with his winning manner and patience, more than made up for the inconvenience. He arranged for an upgrade to a lovely junior suite, champagne and fruit in our room, a lovely dinner with friends and multiple other kindnesses. His attention to detail was amazing and certainly changed the tone of our stay completely.
The hotel is beautifully maintained with elegantly varnished doors and woodwork, and had attractive and comfortable public rooms. The housekeeping service was impeccable. Each concierge was gracious and very helpful. We ate in each of the Cafe de Paix's venues and enjoyed them all.
The hotel is perfectly located across from the Opera, allowing us to walk everyplace. Would we go back--in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IC-Paris-Le-Grand, Quality Coordinator at InterContinental Paris Le Grand, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Efghij,

Thank you for your review here on Tripadvisor.

May I apologise again for the inconvenience experienced upon your arrival.

It’s a pleasure to read that Nadim took care of you and ensured you a wonderful rest of stay with us. Be sure your compliments will be passed on to him.

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the Café de la Paix, our location and the service that you received from our staff during your stay.

We do hope to welcome you back to the InterContinental Paris Le Grand in the future.

Warm Regards,

Sally Durrant
Quality Coordinator
Krumma.jonsdottir@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

My wife and I stayed here in late July and were very impressed by the size of our room - bit bigger than normally expected in Paris. Was pricey, but what a great location. very close to some great shopping, lots of restaurants and cafes and very close to the Metro. The Metro is fabulous - gets you just about anywhere in Paris and is easy to use. Food and drinks in the hotel are very pricey, but there are plenty of bistros and restaurants within a 5 minute walk of the front door. The business cetre is practically non-existent and the staff not all that helpful. Would recommend it as a great place to stay for a short stop in Paris. If you are going to be in Paris for a week or more, you should book into an apartment.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to InterContinental Paris Le Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Paris Le Grand

Address: 2 Rue Scribe, 75009 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opéra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Spa Hotel in Paris
#126 Family Hotel in Paris
#136 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#153 Business Hotel in Paris
#176 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Paris Le Grand 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The InterContinental Paris Le Grand, opened during the reign of Napoleon III, is located in the very heart of the city: across the street from the Opéra Garnier, close to some of the best-known Parisian attractions, world-famous department stores and the wonderful Place Vendôme. The hotel contains 470 rooms, all richly decorated in the colours of the Opéra, and a warmly illuminated haven of peace and serenity in the bustle of Parisian life: la Verrière. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Venere, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Paris Le Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Paris Le Grand Hotel Paris
Le Grand Hotel Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Paris Le Grand, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.