We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glad we were here!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Concorde Opera Paris

Save Saved
You added Concorde Opera Paris to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Concorde Opera Paris
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   108 Rue Saint-Lazare, 75008 Paris, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #905 of 1,794 hotels in Paris
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Glad we were here!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here during our trip to Paris. The great service, location and the comfort of the room helped make our stay in Paris a special one!

When we first arrived the concierge was very helpful with our suitcase. There was a bit of a delay when we arrived because our booking couldn't be found but the staff dealing with it were very helpful and made us feel very comfortable and informed while it was sorted out, which it was pretty quickly.

We were given a room on the 4th floor which had a balcony with big french doors. The room was very comfortable. Although the room overlooked the main road you would never have been able to tell because when the doors were shut you couldn't hear anything from the street which was pretty impressive given how busy a street it is. The view from the balcony was across the centre of Paris was very nice.

We also had a very nice meal in the adjoining restaurant.

Well worth a stay here if you are visiting Paris

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
concordeoperaparis, Directeur général at Concorde Opera Paris, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear Robert117,

I would like to thank you for your comment on TripAdvisor !
I'm glad to see that your stay meet your expectation and I hope that it is an unforgettable memory...
I will share your comment to our staff especially the concierge service !
Hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you soon for another memory.

Sincerely yours,

Hugo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

976 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    266
    367
    204
    81
    58
See reviews for
135
346
44
209
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

When you enter the hotel, more than a century old, you are struck by the majestic lobby. Walk to the rear of the lobby and look up, and you will see a striking view of the upper floors. As an alternative to the elevator, take the elegant stairway, with its runners and art on the walls. You will immediately feel that you are in a Parisian setting – even before you see a sign on the stairway that says “escalier” and reminds you of the French expression “esprit d’escalier.”

We sprung for a junior suite, which was a good move, as we gained a roomy sitting area at a reasonable price. Presumably, the prices are more reasonable in February than in the spring. Our room had no view worthy of mention, as we were on the second floor, facing the interior of the building, where what would be a courtyard or atrium is covered by a roof.

The hotel offers a free continental breakfast. WiFi is also free, but it is slow. We realized a little bit later than we might have liked that when you use WiFi in the lobby, you want to be in the front (i.e., the lower portion) of the lobby, as the rear (upper portion) of the lobby was hopeless. The hotel also shows its age in the bathrooms, where it is difficult to maintain a steady water temperature in the shower.

The concierge desk was extremely helpful, willing to spend many minutes helping us to understand maps of the streets and the Metro. The hotel also provides some of the simple pleasures, like bathrobes and slippers.

The location in the Eighth Arrondissement (a low-population business district) was very convenient, as we were able to walk to the Arc de Triomphe, Eiffel Tower, Tuileries, and Louvre. The Metro is also convenient to the hotel.

The experience was very pleasant, and we would return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
concordeoperaparis, Responsable relations clients at Concorde Opera Paris, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear JMBnyc,

I think if we wanted to present our hotel ourselves, we would not have done better than your comment. A huge THANK YOU !
I just permit to reformulate that breakfast is not free, you may have chosen an offer including it.
Once again, we deeply appreciated your kind words and hope to welcome you again soon in your new Parisian home.
Sincerely,
Pauline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I've stayed in a few hotels in Paris and was a bit wary once I had booked this hotel because of the mixed reviews.
I must say the hotel was excellent in the sense of location. We had travelled from Paris Charles du Galle airport and the time was rush hour and decided the best option would be the Roissy bus at Terminal 2D-2B : Entrance D11 costing only 10Euros. The bus took us directly yo the Opera. This was a short walk to the hotel 5-10 minutes.

We managed to check in and staff helped us with our bags. The lobby was beautiful. The room was an OK size - we somehow got a corner room. The bathroom however, was not very spacious and was needing some work done. We found that the temperature of the water would flutuate and the water pressure was not that great!

The hotel was right next to the Metro and Train station which was very helful for getting around the city. 5 - 10 miutes walk from the shops and the department store Galeries Lafayette which was very handy! There are lots of places to eat nearby and Starbucks round the corner.

Do not use their mini bar - I needed a bottle of water and was charged a ridiculous 7Euros!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
concordeoperaparis, Responsable relations clients at Concorde Opera Paris, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Victoria L,

I am pleased to read that your recent stay in Paris was nice !!
I am glad that you enjoyed transport facilities next to the hotel to visit Paris, City of Lights.
Nevertheless, I took good note about your comment and will do the follow up.
I apology for the disturbance and hope to welcome you back soon.
Sincerely,
Pauline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

A bit of a late review but wanted to make sure I wrote one none the less. Stayed here with my partner for my birthday in January. Was my first trip to Paris so I was definitely excited. Driving up to the hotel, the staff were right away very helpful with our luggage and taking the car to parking. At check in we were complimentarily upgraded twice! We were very surprised at that and of course grateful.

The room was big by Paris standards and the bathroom was wonderful with a jacuzzi-like bath. Although, the room was comfortable it could have done with a bit of updating, as some of it had clear wear and tear. Our view was also of the train station which wasn't too exciting. I really couldn't imagine what the original room we booked would have been like.

Room service breakfast was delicious and fresh. The usual french fare of cafe au lait's and croissants. Service is what is best in this hotel.

The location is convenient as well as the metro is right there and you can walk to Galleries Lafayettes and some other great shopping. Everything else is just a short cab ride away.

Unfortunately, while we were in the bar downstairs having a nightcap, there was a little mouse making its way around the tables. It was quite entertaining playing spot the mouse, but i'm sure not everyone would feel that way.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
concordeoperaparis, Responsable relations clients at Concorde Opera Paris, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Spurs1985,

Thank you for this wonderful comment concerning your stay at Concorde Opera Paris.
We are sincerely pride to hear that you enjoyed your trip in our hotel.
We hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you at Concorde Opera Paris in a near future.

Sincerely yours,
Hugo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here recently for a weekend birthday trip to Paris. I can honestly say that the service was the best of any I have received in any hotel before. Every member of staff made us feel special, remembered our names etc. Hugo the duty manager arranged an upgrade for us and a personally written birthday card and chocolates, such a thoughtful touch! Also the concierge Vincent, he organised a cabaret show for us, the best seats in the house and a shout out for my birthday! Nothing was too much trouble for any if the staff!
The location is also fabulous, very close to many popular sights and with great access to the underground.
The hotel itself is beautiful although the bathroom was a little tired and in need of redecorating.
All in all I highly recommend that anyone should stay here for business or relaxation!! It is fantastic!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
concordeoperaparis, Responsable relations clients at Concorde Opera Paris, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Rose0402,

Thank you for taking time to leave a wonderful comment !
I'm glade to see that you enjoyed your stay at Concorde Opera Paris and that we made unforgettable memories for your birthday...
Hope to welcome you in a near future !

Sincerely yours,
Hugo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

After reviewing my past posting I forgot to write this one. We stayed here at the end of August for 2 nights. After being on a cruise and a couple of nights in Normandy we made our way to Paris. Got into Paris a day early and after hearing from a cousin where we were to stay that we had no lodging. Arrived at the train station without reservations had some aware where we might go but turned to the husband and said do you want the closest and he said yes. So walked into and up to reservations and the night clerk could not have been nicer. We were offer a deluxe room which was a bit tight but which we would have been offered a larger room but was thankful to have a bed. Did miss at that time no dinning but the staff could not have been more helpful in directing us to what we asked for. The hotel was very quiet and very helpful. I too have to state wish the rooms would have not been so tired looking but again it was fine for 2 nights. And by Paris standards fine. The location is great and close to a lot of attractions.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
concordeoperaparis, Responsable relations clients at Concorde Opera Paris, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear Kitty-2004,

Thank you for your great review!
I am glad you had such a wonderful stay with us! Thank you for the nice comments about the service delivered from our teams.
Hope to see you back very soon in the heart of Paris

Sincerely yours,
Hugo MENAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport -Trefdraeth, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We recently stayed at the Concorde Opera in Paris for 4 nights having stayed there a number of times for rugby weekends previously.As a previous reviewer has written I list the pros and cons:
pros
1 welcoming,friendly staff
2 hotel position ideal for tourism allowing easy access by metro to the central attractions.
3 good breakfast
cons
1 expensive to stay, in particular bar prices and mini bar prices in room prohibitive.
2 room disappointing-rather a tired look in desperate need of refurbishment ie furniture and bathroom tiles need replacing and the plumbing need modernisation as we experienced hot and cold fluctuation in water temperature from the shower.Also carpet worn.Redecoration needed.
3 temperamental wi-fi -internet access slow
4 we will be reluctant to return unless our suggestions are adhered to.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
concordeoperaparis, Responsable relations clients at Concorde Opera Paris, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear Rhyd2003,

Thank you for taking time to share your experience at Concorde Opera Paris
I am sadded by your disappointment which is obviously not the image I wish that you retain of your recent experience at Concorde Opera Paris.
Hoping to regain your confidence in a near future.

Sincerely,

Hugo MENAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Concorde Opera Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Concorde Opera Paris

Address: 108 Rue Saint-Lazare, 75008 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#313 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Concorde Opera Paris 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional Hotel in impressive, historic, ornate building with magnificent marble-filled, neo-classical Lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Orbitz, Booking.com, Venere, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Concorde Opera Paris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Concorde Opera Paris Hotel Paris
Concorde Saint Lazare Hotel
Concorde St Lazare
Hotel Concorde Saint Lazare

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Concorde Opera Paris, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.