We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a good experience” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Concorde Opera Paris

Save Saved
You added Concorde Opera Paris to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Concorde Opera Paris
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   108 Rue Saint-Lazare, 75008 Paris, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #885 of 1,794 hotels in Paris
Plymouth, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Not a good experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

This was our experience at this hotel. When we arrived our room was not ready it was 2:30 in the afternoon. When we first got in the room we noticed a couple of things right away. There looked to be something red like blood splatted on the mirror, there was something leaking from under the sink on to the floor and over to the drain. It looked black and sticky. The dust on the corner of the walls made it look like they had not cleaned the room very well. Then during the week we were without hot water for almost 2 days. We were suppose to stay from Monday to Monday but decided to get another hotel for Friday after all the problems and they never did clean the leaky stuff on the floor in the bathroom. They said they would not credit us for the days we were not going to use even though we told them on Thursday morning we were going to leave. So we were charged through to Monday. Needless to say we left on Friday anyway. We attached pictures for proof of our experience.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
concordeoperaparis, Guest Relations Manager at Concorde Opera Paris, responded to this review, June 28, 2011
Dear Guest,

We are deeply sorry to hear that you are disappointed with your stay. We have taken good note of all your comments and would like to apologize for the inconvenience caused.

Please rest assured that the comfort and the satisfaction of our guests are our first preoccupation. Thank you for your understanding and for helping us to improve the quality of our service.

Hoping to regain your confidence in our hotel, we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again in a near future.

Regards,

Guillaume HERON
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

950 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    259
    360
    198
    79
    54
See reviews for
129
339
43
202
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011

This is a nice but older hotel right in the center of town. Everything is walk-able, and there is great shopping and restaurant around. The lobby is pretty spectacular, and the room that we stayed in was generous in size, but felt dated (some might say "classic"). The bathroom was large with a terrific shower (exceptional size for a European hotel). the room was comfortable but felt a bit old. We had a "queen size bed", but in Europe that seems to mean 2 twins pushed together with one set of sheets (nice sheets though).

Breakfast is typical European buffet, decent, but set in a pretty depressing room. Flat screen TV, decent service, nothing to shout about.

Free internet was a nice positive. All in all, satisfactory.

Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
concordeoperaparis, Guest Relations Manager at Concorde Opera Paris, responded to this review, June 26, 2011
Dear dkseattle,

Thank you for your comment on TripAdvisor !
We are happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay.
I am also happy to inform you that we started some refurbishment.
Awaiting the pleasure of welcoming you soon,
Best regards,

Pauline Bertelle
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

Me an my husband arrived to this hotel on the 19th June at 10pm, only to be told that they can not give us a room as we have only paid for the first two nights and not for the third night. We tried explaining to them that due to the travelling our cards were blocked, and that in the morning, Monday, we will call the bank and pay them, but they still persisted that the hotel policy is like that and that we have to pay for the third night straight away, otherwise they can not give us a room. This took about 30mins to sort out, and by that time the full room service was not available any more, restaurants were closing so we had to eat at McDonald's.
We were given a 1st floor room, overlooking nothing. Very very disappointed. Rooms are very small, and very old. If you stay in room no 162 you will be woken up by a service lift in the morning, as it is right behind the bed wall. Not fun I tell you!
Not coming back here that's for sure!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
concordeoperaparis, Guest Relations Manager at Concorde Opera Paris, responded to this review, June 26, 2011
Dear amrabromley,

We are very sorry to read your feed back further to your stay.
I check your record and would be delighted to give you more explanations if you may need. Nevertheless be kindly inform that during the Airshow meeting in Paris, special conditions were applied on reservations. Please do accept my sincerest apologies for this uncomfortable situation.
Regarding catering, after the kitchen closure and sundays, a reduce card is proposed in room and we are very sorry for not having available the dish you wanted.
I do remain at your entire disposal should you require any further information.
Best regards,

Pauline Bertelle
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Ok...not bad overall. The area was about 10 min walk to the L'Arc de Triomphe. Interesting little restaurants in the area if you walked around. Close to the subway. Large hotel and the views were really nice of Paris from the rooms. Breakfast was excellent and a huge choice! Many travellers from many countries here. Small rooms but clean. Not much ambiance if that is what you want..

Room Tip: high up...great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
concordeoperaparis, Guest Relations Manager at Concorde Opera Paris, responded to this review, June 19, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are glad to learn that you enjoyed your stay at the Concorde Opera Paris and the location of the hotel.

Waiting to welcome you again,

Regards,

Guillaume HERON
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2011

Beautiful & historic hotel, but didn't like being next to the train station. On the good side, many, many stores & attractions were within walking distance, but on the downside, the area was utterly crowded and rather dirty. (Not the hotel -- the area around it.) Excellent breakfast (included in the price we paid for room). The room was very clean and well kept, but a little small. However, considering the age, the hotel has been kept up, beautifully. No mold or peeling paint in our room and decorated well. Comfortable bed and pillows.

Bathroom was roomy and not cramped at all, with a make-up light, but very little room to put toiletries. Windows opened to let in air (good) and there were 2 separate doors to block out any hallway noise. (We never heard anything.). No tea kettle/coffee in room. Shelves in room for storage.

We stayed here becuz we were on a bus tour. Although it really was a very nice and beautiful hotel, we prefer the Rue Cler area and, on our own, we would not stay at a high-priced "luxury" hotel. Having said that, we had no complaints. If you are near this hotel, check out the McDonald's bldg. across the street.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
concordeoperaparis, Guest Relations Manager at Concorde Opera Paris, responded to this review, June 12, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments and for staying at the Concorde Opéra Paris. We are glad to read that you enjoyed our hotel.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back.

Regards,
Guillaume Héron
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruislip
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2011

My wife and I recently stayed in this hotel for our 25th anniversary. The rom was very clean, the bed very comfortable, the overall service very good and breakfast offered lots of choice. I would certainly recommend this hotel which was in a great location for all sight seeing. The staff in the lobby were very friendly and helpfull.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
concordeoperaparis, Guest Relations Manager at Concorde Opera Paris, responded to this review, June 5, 2011
Dear balchchris,

Thank a lot for your comment !
It will be shared with the whole staff.
Waiting to welcome you again,
Best Regards,
Pauline Bertelle
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sicklerville, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2011

Just back from a 6 night stay at the Concorde Opera hotel on the Rue Saint-Lazare in Paris's 8th arrondisment.

The hotel is very, very pretty. lobby dotted with big comfortable chairs where you can sit relax and wait for your party or enjoy a cocktail.
I had been warned in advance of hte smallness of European hotels in comparison to American counterparts but our room on the 2nd floor had more than enough space for 2 tall women and their luggage. Sink was large with shelf above it that provide ample space for our make up and toiletries. Believe me, we are not women who travel light. we have makeup, various curling irons, perfume, necessities, the whole nine yards.
The tub is a bonus. I'm on the tall side and my tub had home is to small and not deep enough for me to stretch out and soak. Our tub was not only long but extremely deep. after a long overnight flight for JFK, I could have happily stayed in it all night.
Beds were comfortable, bedding was standard but comforable. closet was big and the safe was large enough to hold my laptop.
Concierge was very very helpful supplying us with maps and directions to get any where we wanted. Housekeeping even provided electric converters when we realized we had forgotten our.
Breakfast was included in our package and the buffet was well appointed. You had a good selection of breads, fruits, cold cereals, hot cereals, eggs and miscellenous items. My girlfriend loved the tomatoes and hard boiled eggs.
My one complaint which really is just a personal peeve. It's very hard to get a glass of ice in restaurants it seemed. I hate room temperature water and soda and whenever you ask for a glass of ice, you get a glass with maybe 3 ice cubes in it. Once I was told out right that they did not have ice.
Windows opened allowing fresh air in, which I love especially when sleeping.
We did not eat at the restaurant, we thought the menu terribly expensive.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
concordeoperaparis, Guest Relations Manager at Concorde Opera Paris, responded to this review, June 3, 2011
Dear eliza39,

Thank you so much for this nice comment !
We really appreciate and receive it as an encouragement in the pousuit of our quality commitment for our customers.
Waiting to welcome you again should your plans brings you back to Paris,
Sincerely,

Pauline Bertelle
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Concorde Opera Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Concorde Opera Paris

Address: 108 Rue Saint-Lazare, 75008 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#315 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Concorde Opera Paris 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional Hotel in impressive, historic, ornate building with magnificent marble-filled, neo-classical Lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Venere, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Concorde Opera Paris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Concorde Opera Paris Hotel Paris
Concorde Saint Lazare Hotel
Concorde St Lazare
Hotel Concorde Saint Lazare

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Concorde Opera Paris, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.