We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, clean, great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Paris-St. Germain Des Pres

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Paris-St. Germain Des Pres to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Paris-St. Germain Des Pres
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   92 rue de Vaugirard | 06 Arr., 75006 Paris, France (Saint-Germain-des-Pres)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #672 of 1,788 Hotels in Paris
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Comfortable, clean, great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

This hotel is a short walk from the metro station and a pleasant walk from the River and Montparnasse. We stayed here for 2 nights. The room was clean and bright and breakfast was good with plenty of choice. The breakfast area feels a bit cramped, but it was never a problem as it was not full when we were there. Staff were friendly and professional. We were a little surprised that our room was only being cleaned when we got back to the hotel at about 4pm on the first afternoon, but this was a minor blip. The reception/bar area is very pleasant, but not particularly well used by guests, but with so much on the doorstep that is probably no surprise.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sabourin_J, General Manager at Holiday Inn Paris-St. Germain Des Pres, responded to this review, November 5, 2014
What a great recognition you gave us in your review.

Many thanks for taking the time to do it.

We are very proud to know we have made your stay the most enjoyable as possible.

Our most important goal is to facilitate your stay so you can better appreciate your visit in Paris, without wasting time or money.

Thanks for mentioning the quality of service you received from the Team, you can be sure he will be congratulated and rewarded for this excellent review.

We appreciate you gave us your confidence in booking your stay at Holiday Inn Paris Saint Germain des Prés despite all the choice of hotels you had in Paris.

We hope to welcome you again for a next visit in Town

Best regards,
Joel SABOURIN
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

728 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    363
    143
    46
    21
See reviews for
120
284
31
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Nice location for a weekend stay. Fairly good walk to the tourist attractions, but not bad. As for the rooms: Wifi didn't work in our room, even paying for it, had to go down to the lobby for wifi. The lobby is nice and clean. Hallways are dated. We had 3 in our room, and it was an okay size. Now - for the bathrooms.....It is a frosted glass door that you could seriously see through, and there was a window in shower/tub that looked out into the bedroom. You could "frost" that window with a button in the room - but could still see shadows of the person showering. I just don't understand why hotels design bathrooms like that. The hand held shower handle broke, so it wouldn't stay up and continued to fall down the rod holding it up high enough. You would need to be the height of a 2 year old to be able to stand underneath it. We told the front desk twice about this and it wasn't fixed. The housekeeping lady said she couldn't fix it and to just hold the handle over our heads. We also told them 3 light bulbs were burned out - they replaced 2. Go figure! There was also mold/mildew on the tile in the bathroom. They did offer us to change rooms, but we only had one more night and didn't feel like packing everything up to move rooms.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joel S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Paris-St. Germain Des Pres, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Thank you for your comment regarding your experience during your recent stay. I greatly appreciate you taking the time to bring this matter to my attention and apologise for any inconvenience you may have experienced due to the type of the room

We have room with a window between the bathroom and the room bed, and we have room with a large shower with no windows between the bathroom and the bed room.

It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations and your comments are very important to us. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us. We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose Holiday Inn for your future travel needs.

Best Regards
Joel SABOURIN
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo
Top Contributor
271 reviews 271 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
667 helpful votes 667 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Excellent location, close to everywhere, 2 blocks from Saint-Placide Subway Station, Luxembourg Gardens just in the corner, 10 minutes walk from Note Dame Church.
Good and clean room, excellent breakfast.
They charge EUR 15,00 for 24 hours internet cable, thats an absurd, but we can use free WiFi on the lobby.
Another thing that I didnt like is the check in at 14:00.

If I stay there again, SURE !!!

Room Tip: Choose roons in the opposite side of the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sabourin_J, General Manager at Holiday Inn Paris-St. Germain Des Pres, responded to this review, November 5, 2014
Mister Alex,

Thank you for your recent correspondence regarding your stay.

We appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your delightful experience during your recent stay.

We are always pleased to receive praise and acknowledgment of such a positive nature.

It is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our staff’s efforts and takes the time to say thank you.

Your comments will be shared with our entire staff, as reinforcement to continue their efforts to make the Holiday Inn Paris Saint Germain des Prés a leader in excellence.

Once again, thank you for your thoughtful comments. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you in the future.

Best regards,
Joel SABOURIN
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
109 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Used on a recent week-long business trip to Paris. Chose based on very reasonable (for Paris) rate and a good location. Room was small but workable. Everything was clean and worked, so no complaints. Internet was free but slow and not always reliable.

Biggest complaint was the shower. Basically, no matter how hard you try, you will spray water everywhere. Seriously, *shower curtains*

Location is pretty good. Across the street from one Metro and 1 block from another. 10-minute walk from Blvd. Saint-Germain and lots and lots of cafes, restaurants, etc., though pretty quiet around the hotel itself at night. 10-min walk from Montparnesse Station, from which you can take the Air France bus to CDG.

I didn't eat at the hotel, the restaurant always looked pretty empty.

Room Tip: My room was in the back and super quiet, FWIW.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joel S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Paris-St. Germain Des Pres, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Thank you for your comment regarding your experience during your recent stay. I greatly appreciate you taking the time to bring this matter to my attention and apologise for any inconvenience you may have experienced due to the shower.

We are organized a global renovation of our shower due to the water splashing in the bathroom. This renovation will be ended in december 2013

It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations and your comments are very important to us. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Best Regards
Joel SABOURIN
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

The location was decent - not great - we were unable to stay in the area for dinners (no restaurants within walking distance at night).

The room was quite small and walls are paper thin since all I heard at night was the constant flushing toilets from other rooms - so needless to say I did not get a good night's sleep.

The wifi they promised was non-functional in the room and I had to stay in the lobby when I needed to use it.

The bathroom was a very poor attempt at being "modern" - only half a shower door so you needed to mop up after you bathe - no ventilation so the entire (small) room was humid after a shower. The sink was so high up and uncomfortable to use.

The service was the worse I have ever had in my life. Staff was rude, not knowledgable about the area and certainly not informative.

We did have breakfast in a very unappealing restaurant - not impressive for the price - the bread was horrible - much better in one of the cafés in the area.

I was very surprised that this hotel met the standards of Holiday Inn. The value was no where near the price I paid for the hotel. I have stayed in Paris several times on personal trips and for business; and this was by far, the worse experience I have ever had.

Luckily, I knew my way around the city but I do not recomend this hotel for your first trip.

Room Tip: none at this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joel S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Paris-St. Germain Des Pres, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for your commentregarding your experience during your recent stay. I greatly appreciate you taking the time to bring this matter to my attention and apologise for any inconvenience you may have experienced.

It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations and your comments are very important to us. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

You are in contact with our IHG Guest Relation to get more detail and give you explanations.

Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us. We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose Holiday Inn Hotel for your future travel needs.

Joel SABOURIN
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

A great location a great room . Paris. Staff however is not extremely well trained. Needed a user guide to take a shower. And elevator. ... Could give an impression of more reliable.
Anyhow it is paris well located and one you are used to holiday inn, it is a good hotel. I did not check Breakfast. It seems to be in the cellar. I voted for cafe croissant around the corner

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

This hotel is in a great location, has comfortable beds, modern room (it has that same window in the bathroom overlooking the bedroom that the Holiday Inn Notre Dame has). The bartender is great, as were the members of the front desk staff. However, the wifi is horrible. As a Platinum member, I was able to access the most "powerful" wifi connection without charge. Most of the time, I couldn't tell a difference between it and the general "free" wifi offered. The signal was constantly dropped. I had to move around the room to pick up wifi again. Then the signal would be weak. Then dropped again. Thankfully, I didn't have any work I had to get done so the inconsistent wifi signal was more of an annoyance. But it might keep me from booking at this Holiday Inn again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Paris-St. Germain Des Pres, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear MoeMom,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on your stay. Please accept our deepest apologies for the issues you had encountered over the unsatisfactory WiFi connection. Your comments are being shared with the hotel management and appropriate action will be taken. I assure you that every comment, no matter how small, is taken very seriously. We hope to get a chance of hosting you again and show you how great our hotel is. We appreciate your feedback and your business.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Paris-St. Germain Des Pres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Paris-St. Germain Des Pres

Address: 92 rue de Vaugirard | 06 Arr., 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#302 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#383 Business Hotel in Paris
#416 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Paris-St. Germain Des Pres 4*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Paris Saint Germain des Pres Hotel is ideally situated in the prime location in the heart of Paris at Latin Quarter area, and Montparnasse area neighbourhood. We are the perfect three stars hotel for business and leisure. Great hospitality and adventures in Paris are waiting for you The hotel is easy to get to : 25 minutes from Orly, 40 minutes from Charles de Gaulle airport, at walking distance from the Montparnasse train station and bordering the Saint Placide metro station, line 4. The hotel provides a private parking.The hotel is located close to the main monument Notre de Dame, Musee du Louvre, Tour Eiffel, Cabaret and Theater. At walking distance to Seine River and Luxembourg Garden. With a total of 134 rooms including 22 superior rooms and 8 family rooms, the Holiday Inn Paris Saint Germain des Pres Hotel will welcome you in a cosy and modern environment. Our family room provides all the facilities of 2 separate rooms. The hotel offers a restaurant, room service and a friendly bar. Our three meeting rooms can cater to all your business needs and have a capacity of maximum 50 people. IMPORTANT INFORMATION : a renovation of our corridors has began month oct 2014. Floor by floor, if you want a room with no corridor renovation do not hesitate to ask it at the reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, IHG, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, BookIt.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Paris-St. Germain Des Pres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Paris-St. Germain Des Pres Hotel Paris
Paris Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Paris-St. Germain Des Pres, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.