We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would be Expensive if Required Modifications were Made” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Pavillon Opera

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Pavillon Opera to your Saves list
Hotel Pavillon Opera
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   38, rue de l'Echiquier | 10 Arr., 75010 Paris, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,191 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Would be Expensive if Required Modifications were Made”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

As a lot of people have said, the hotel looks good on the face of it but lets itself down with the following: the outdated and in some cases crumbling decor in the hotel rooms and corridors, which really, really needs to be refreshed; the lack of soundproofing, as the walls are too thin, which caused me to have a bad night's sleept; lack of hotel information in the room - had to ring reception to obtain a WIFI password; also not impressed that they insisted on taking a 50 EUR deposit, in spite of the fact that I had already pre-paid; my parents had problems with lack of sockets in their rooms, there was only one they could use.

On the plus side, I did have a lovely Executive room but again decor, curtains carpeting, the colours of which did not match, were nothing to be desired and looked like something that would even by rejected by the 1970s.

I thought breakfast was lovely but there did not seem to be enough staff around to give guidance or clear nearby tables immediately after being used by guests.

You get what you pay for and if they ever refurbish, considering the area it is in, a lot of people would be priced out.

Room Tip: I got a larger room than my parents by booking through Eurostar site, whereas they booked through Ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    131
    102
    53
    43
See reviews for
78
126
24
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Romney Marsh, Kent
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

We did a Eurostar train and hotel package and decided on this hotel as it was central to all the important tourist spots and not too expensive. We knew it was in a more bohemian part of the capital, slightly rundown and ragged around the edges and unfortunately the area the hotel is situated in is not the most salubrious. However the hotel was fab; breakfast was a good range buffet of hot and cold foods. Our room was good and very clean. The lift is a brilliant, one of those old wrought iron, double door affairs. The reception staff were excellent; all spoke very good English and were incredibly helpful with lots of tips/advice on what to see, when. Its easy to get to from the Gare de Nord, either walking (about 20-30 minutes when reading the map) or getting the metro to the St Denis stop and literally walking 3 minutes. The area the hotel is in is a melting pot of dozens of different nationalities. There are loads of bars and restaurants around the hotel for dinner in the evening; the Hippopotamus (I know its a chain) was 5 minutes walk away going towards the Bonne Nouvelle metro but did really good, freshly made dishes. We stayed for 4 nights and would definitely recommend this hotel for its location alone but as part of a competitive Eurostar package it was excellent. The one drawback and hence why its only 4 star is that either the walls are thin or some of the other guests have no idea on how to talk/behave in a hotel room as on one early evening in particular we could most definitely hear the conversation of our neighbours.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

We had originally booked the hotel pavillon for 2 nights however due to rennovations, we were told that there were no rooms available for the 1st night. The hotel staff were very friendly and did book us a room for the hotel hor which was not too far away. They paid for our transport there and back, and also paid for our breakfast even though we had not booked this in our room rate. We did spend the second night in the hotel pavillon. We stayed in room 501 which was an executive room. The room itself was huge and clean. The hotel itself is very charming however could do with an upgrade to most things such as furnishings, carpets etc...The hotel is situated in a good area with lots of shops, bars and cafes a stone throws away. Good but could be great

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

The Pavillon Opera has a beautiful historic dining room. But unfortunately that is where the charm ends. Our stay was not bad it just contained no joy. The rooms are a bit drab. I wouldn't rate then 4 star, toiletries and disposables are as cheep as the hotel can get away with, the air con is a little touch and go and we were unable to maintain a constant temperature. We also had a child's bassinet in our room that looked like it had seen better days.
The staff were great, the food ok, and the rooms clean. The hotel just lacked charm (except for the historic dining room).

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

My partner and I stayed here for 3 nights 2 weeks ago. We read the previous reviews so were unsure of what to expect. In our opinion....what a Gem! The hotel is a 15 minute walk from Gare du Nord. The staff are friendly and efficient, if you arrive early or need to leave late they will happily hold onto your luggage for you. You are provided with a map of Paris on check in. Situated just a two minute walk from Bonne Nouvelle metro station with the metro simple to use and an easy way to get around Paris. However if you want to walk everywhere it is perfectly located too. The room had tea and coffee making facilities, a fridge, a safe, free wifi( you pick up the code on a daily basis from reception), sat tv, hairdryer, iron, bath and shower, king size bed. To be honest If you want somewhere to stay to spend all your time in with 5 star service and facilities then this is not the place, why bother. However If you want somewhere to rest your weary body after sampling the incredible delights of this city then this is just perfect. It is clean, the breakfast is an all you can eat buffet, it is friendy and had everything we needed. We will stay here on our next visit and will reccommend it to friends and family.

Room Tip: As my partner is over 6'5 we upgraded when we booked to an executive room as it gives you a king...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

This hotel is in an interesting location: lively and central (but not near the opera!) The room we had was quite spacious with a bathroom that was very clean and recently refurbished. We had use of a safe free of charge, and there was a fridge in the wardrobe with a strange request 'not to put any of your own food in it for hygiene reasons'. We were puzzled as to why it was there as it was not a minibar and we used it anyway.
The breakfast was very good and served in a beautiful dining room. The hotel has a small bar but there was nobody else in it when we went down for an evening drink. There was no mini-gym (signposted in the hotel) and a strange basement computer room where I think you could access the internet using a credit card.
Staff were friendly and helpful, and the general atmosphere was very good. The only negative point was the fact that we could hear our next-door neighbours as if they were in the room with us. I think connecting rooms are particularly affected, though we could hear people on both sides. For this reason, I have only given the hotel three stars.

Room Tip: You could ask if there are any rooms with views of the street. We looked out on other windows and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Although the room itself was in need of decoration, it was very clean and comfortable. The hotel itself is wonderful. It has character and charm. The staff are very friendly and extremely efficient. Everyone is very willing to help and advise the best way to get around.

The hotel is situated a very short walk away from the extremely efficient metro system which will take you into the heart of Paris in a very short time. Other sightseeing attractions such as Montmartre are even closer. The Gard Du Nord is very close, we chose to use a short taxi journey to get to the hotel.

I would have no hesitation to return to the hotel.

We did not eat in the hotel as there are so many restaurants, bars and cafe's nearby.

Room Tip: I understand the hotel is to undergo some decoration. It maybe worth asking if the room is refurbish...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Pavillon Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pavillon Opera

Address: 38, rue de l'Echiquier | 10 Arr., 75010 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#375 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Pavillon Opera 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the stylish and charming hotel Pavillon Opera Paris and enjoy all the upscale services that a 4-star hotel has to offer to leisure and business travelers. The hotel features 92 large rooms including 22 Executives, 3 meeting rooms with natural daylight. Our knowledgeable staff will make your stay memorable!The Hotel Pavillon Opera is ideally located in the heart of Paris in the famous Grands Boulevards area.If you want to experience main tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Pavillon Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Paris-Opera Hotel Paris
Paris Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Pavillon Opera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.