We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly situated in a quiet location. Close to all ameneties” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Pavillon Opera

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Pavillon Opera to your Saves list
Hotel Pavillon Opera
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   38, rue de l'Echiquier | 10 Arr., 75010 Paris, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,151 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Perfectly situated in a quiet location. Close to all ameneties”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Although the room itself was in need of decoration, it was very clean and comfortable. The hotel itself is wonderful. It has character and charm. The staff are very friendly and extremely efficient. Everyone is very willing to help and advise the best way to get around.

The hotel is situated a very short walk away from the extremely efficient metro system which will take you into the heart of Paris in a very short time. Other sightseeing attractions such as Montmartre are even closer. The Gard Du Nord is very close, we chose to use a short taxi journey to get to the hotel.

I would have no hesitation to return to the hotel.

We did not eat in the hotel as there are so many restaurants, bars and cafe's nearby.

Room Tip: I understand the hotel is to undergo some decoration. It maybe worth asking if the room is refurbish...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    117
    89
    52
    39
See reviews for
74
106
21
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

I wasn't sure what to make of this hotel after reading some of the reviews but I was very impressed, you couldn't ask for a better location - I walked to and from Gare du Nord which was about 15 minutes away, it's almost central to most of Paris in walking distance to Opera, Montmartre and The Louvre, close to metro stations and bars and restaurants.
The entrance and the lobby itself looks newly decorated but for a four star hotel I wouldn't say the same about the rooms, they look dated and tired and could do with a good refurbishment and didn't have amenities such as tea and coffee which might be expected from a four start hotel. On the other hand it was clean, the bed was comfy, staff were friendly, the wifi was free and didn't have any problems with connection on the 6th floor, they have an in room safe and a mini fridge (although there is a notice saying anything left in there that isn't hotel property will be removed). If you're looking for a room to use as a crash pad in order to explore Paris this hotel is perfect for price and location.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

Was disappointed with some of the reviews that people had written on here as the hotel is in an excellent location and provides clean, comfortable rooms that are very reasonable (considering that this is Paris)! You get free WiFi and a self service hot and cold breakfast is included to help set you up for the day.
We stayed in room 514 which is located to the back of the hotel where we found it quiet. Yes the hotel could do with freshening up a little with a lick of paint, but it was clean and had a real Parisian style to it which we really liked. At the end of the day you are there to enjoy the sights (and shops) of Paris and not to spend it all day in your hotel room. We would stay there again and hope to do so in the future. One tip however when making your way back to either the airport or train station is to NOT book a taxi at the hotel reception but to walk for two minutes to the taxi rank outside McDonalds opposite Rex Cinema as the Taxi will only cost €8.00 (to Gaud de Nord) If you let the hotel book you one then it will cost more as the taxi meter is activated from whether they are travelling from to get the hotel.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Had stayed there some 10 years ago and this hotel was already VERY shabby. Having said that, the location is excellent with the metro close by and a good breakfast. knowing the hotel's condition,we chose an executive room and got a room at the back - very quiet. They are starting refurbishment soon. We will certainly try the place again after it has been renewed. Reception was VERY understaffed with just one person on a Saturday morning at check-out time ! The poor man was dealing with the telephone, guests and other visitors (taxi etc) not fair on him and on the clients. Hotel has an arrangement with the nearby REX (very nice)car park where you will pay EUR 23 instead of 42 for a 24 hour stay. Don't forget to ask your voucher at reception.

Room Tip: Spend a little bit more and take a superior room with a 2meter bed. Ask for room at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Was first given possible the worst room in the hotell. Talked to the receptionist and They agreed and gave me the rom showed in the hotell picture. The hotell will start a full overhaul from 1 of april so it will proberly be noisy for a year or so

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is certainly not 4-star quality. 2-star would be more appropriate. That doesn't mean it is unacceptable, it just depends on what you pay. If you've got a fairly cheap deal, you might think it's reasonable value.

The hotel is situated about ten minutes walk from Bonne Nouvelle metro station, and there are a few others nearby. You will have to change trains to reach almost all of the main sights, though that's probably the same throughout Paris.

You can walk from / to Gare du Nord in about 20 minutes, so that's an attraction for Eurostar travellers from London. The hotel is in a rather run down narrow road, which smells a bit in places! There is a small convenience store down the road. The main road where the metro station is situated is lively, with some good restaurants, or there's a Macdonalds five minutes walk away.

Reception staff are welcoming and friendly. Perhaps not all as helpful as they might be - when I asked for their recommendation for an Italian restaurant, they suggested Pizza Hut.

The lift is absurdly small, and wouldn't cope if the hotel was full. There is a sign to another lift, which it transpires is only for emergency personnel.

The Free Wi-fi arrangement (collect a new code for each 24 hour period) is just silly and unnecessary. You have to reload the details every 24 hours.

My room was OK. Unlike some reviewers I did not suffer noise from neighbours, though the room was warm. There was no sign of air conditioning in my room. The bedding was clean, and the room was well maintained each day. But the carpet was grubby, and the walls badly needed a coat of paint. The bathroom was quite good, and relatively clean, although when you peered closely into the WC it was clear that a good workout with a brush was necessary. The bath was a tight fit, and the water was hot but took a while to come through at times.

The restaurant only opens for breakfast. The in-room TV displays an attractive dinner menu, but the restaurant only opens for breakfast! Breakfast comprises all of the options you would expect in a European hotel, but the cooked food was hardly warm. In fact the bacon was cold. Otherwise, breakfast is OK.

The bar seemed to be for my use only - nobody else was there, perhaps because the drinks are expensive. I was a little worried at the sight of an ant crawling along the bar towards my whisky glass, and a flying midge of some description settling on my beer glass. There's no consolation in your room - the "room bar" contains two small bottles of water. They don't get replaced either! I find this strange, because this is usually a lucrative source of money for hotels. And there are no tea and coffee-making facilities in the room, which I thought was standard in almost any level of hotel these days.

The TV provision is of little interest to UK or other English-speaking visitors. There are allegedly five English language channels. One is Eurosport in French, one is MTV with German voiceover, leaving the BBC World Service News (not much about UK) and CNN. The "Sports & Entertainment" options comprised four movies at the crazy price of €10 each. The only music channel was .... the German MTV. All the radio channels are French. There are "adult" movies available if that's how you pass your evenings!

This hotel is "tired", and needs livening up. Some little things that they could so easily change would make a big difference.

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

This hotel was ok and at a decent price for a group of three travelling together. A plus was the reasonable proximity to Gare du Nord. The rooms are a little dated but nice enough. The area isn't the nicest in Paris but we felt safe at all times. My biggest problem was the complete lack of return communication from the hotel via email. I view this to be extremely poor customer service!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Pavillon Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pavillon Opera

Address: 38, rue de l'Echiquier | 10 Arr., 75010 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#345 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Pavillon Opera 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the stylish and charming hotel Pavillon Opera Paris and enjoy all the upscale services that a 4-star hotel has to offer to leisure and business travelers. The hotel features 92 large rooms including 22 Executives, 3 meeting rooms with natural daylight. Our knowledgeable staff will make your stay memorable!The Hotel Pavillon Opera is ideally located in the heart of Paris in the famous Grands Boulevards area.If you want to experience main tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Venere, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Pavillon Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Paris-Opera Hotel Paris
Paris Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Pavillon Opera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.