We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not even checked in yet” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Pavillon Opera

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Pavillon Opera to your Saves list
Hotel Pavillon Opera
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   38, rue de l'Echiquier | 10 Arr., 75010 Paris, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,181 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“not even checked in yet”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

We haven't even arrived at this hotel, but from the lack of feedback this hotel doesn't rate well. I have e mailed them twice asking for confirmation that we will have a double bed, directions from Gare du Nord and a request to leave our luggage for the day as we arrive early on Eurostar, but no reply at all. Doesn't bode well for me.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    123
    96
    53
    41
See reviews for
75
114
23
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Loughborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Lovely rooms, comfortable, helpful staff, great breakfast, great location (2 minute walk to the closest metro)! Just a great place to stay and would definitely go back! If you need somewhere just to stay the night, which is comfy and convenient then this is perfect! Would definitely go back again!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

We enjoyed our stay here and do not recognise this as the hotel descrbed by mills1314 or TJP the 2 previous reviews. Clean rooms,with comfortable beds good breakfast both hot and cold selection. staff courteous and went beyond normal courtesy when we had a problem with a friend falling ill and being hospitalised
Thank you each and everyone for your care and words of comfort from the manager to reception and dining room staff
Very good restaurants close to the hotel in well lit areas and even a small convenience store across the street. 5 min. walk to the metro and river cruises.
Will use this hotel again

Room Tip: Saw only the 3rd and 4th floor rooms and no complaints from any of the seven adult family members w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rainham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

The clean, stylish, elegant lobby definitely does not follow through to the bedrooms here, which look tired and in need of a lick of paint! The facilities in the bedrooms are basic, no tea/coffee, iron or mini bar provided. The TV has very limited English channels, in fact it may have only been the one News channel that we watched continuously and are now very aware of worldwide issues! We paid for a movie at £10, which made a nice change from the news. Unfortunately I barely slept at all due to the fact that the walls are paper thin and the doors make a heck of a slamming noise, I could actually hear the detailed conversations of the people in adjoining rooms.

However, the hotel did have many good points. The shower was lovely, very hot and powerful, the bed was comfortable and the breakfast was extensive and tasty. The staff were very helpful and friendly also and the location of the hotel was good. The dining room has bags of character, and I loved the 1920's feel it had about it!

It served it's purpose for our trip, we spent little time at the hotel and it was an OK base to come back to, would like to have had better quality sleep but as it was only for 2 nights it wasn't the end of the world. It just desperately needs a face-lift and sound proofing....

Room Tip: Maybe opt for a Superior or Executive suite for better facilities....
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here 3 nights on night one I informed reception out safe was broken only be told a technician would fix the problem, he never materialised. There was no hot water in the hotel and was informed tough luck.
The decor is dated, dirty and in appealing.
The staff all speak English however very broken and contradict everything they are saying.
Breakfast was cold every day.
Queen bed is to push together hence the bad back.

Will not be coming back

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Just spent three nights at this hotel. No way is this a 4 star hotel. Décor is poor and needs updating, badly stained carpets on fifth floor. When we arrived the lift was broken and we had to use the staff one which was disgusting and very dangerous. My husband booked a superior room expecting it to be extra special for my 50th birthday. However, the room facilities were non existent. No tea and coffee facilities in the room. The mini bar consisted of two small bottles of water, not even cold. The heated towel radiator and fan in the bathroom did not work. The queen size bed turned out to be two pushed together. The view was of a dirty roof top. On the plus side the breakfast was good but not great. When leaving the hotel be careful which way you turn. One way leads you to the main high street and the other through many back streets full of rubbish and cigarette stubs. I will not be returning and would not recommend – look elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

I'm really surprised at all the negative comments on here. I found Paris hotel prices in general to be extortionate so booked this one as it met my budget, even though there were some worrying reviews about it.

It is a little hard to find at first - I recommend having the name of the street written down to ask for directions (we got a taxi from Gare Du Nord which cost €13).

We stayed for 2 nights and had a corner room on the 5th floor. A twin room is 2 singles pushed right next to each other. Not the biggest room ever, but met our needs, certainly more spacious than rooms in Tokyo. I could hear the guys TV in the next room on the first night, but I think it was up really loud so would not blame this on the hotel although you could argue walls obviously aren't soundproofed. We had a balcony which was nice to sit out on. Bathroom spacious and decent shower although agree with comments that water easily splashed out onto floor, door and sink area. Hotel provide shaving kits if you ask and mini shampoo,soap etc is already there for you. Breakfast buffet was included in our rate and really enjoyed that: toast, bread, eggs, croissants, bacon, eggs, beans, cold meats, cereals etc. Something for everyone. A beer in the hotel bar was €6. The only lift says it can hold 5 people but it was tiny - it was full with 2 of us and 2 cases! if in a rush, take the stairs or add a bit more time on, there is only 1 lift. Agree that the rooms are very hot, A/C did not seem to make a difference or work, we had to sleep with the door to the balcony open both nights to let some cool air in or couldn't sleep.

The nearest metro stations are 5 and 10 min walk away. Get a map from front desk to help you know which direction to go in and which metro lines to take.

There are plenty of varied restaurants and bars nearby that are reasonably priced. Also a Mcdonalds and tabaconists on the corner. Happy hour is pretty much 5-11pm everywhere and cocktails average at €5. No need to travel to another area for booze and food at night!

Overall I would stay here again and it's definitely a 4*. Maybe it does need a little bit of TLC but nothing stands out in my mind that could be improved majorly.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Pavillon Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pavillon Opera

Address: 38, rue de l'Echiquier | 10 Arr., 75010 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#358 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Pavillon Opera 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the stylish and charming hotel Pavillon Opera Paris and enjoy all the upscale services that a 4-star hotel has to offer to leisure and business travelers. The hotel features 92 large rooms including 22 Executives, 3 meeting rooms with natural daylight. Our knowledgeable staff will make your stay memorable!The Hotel Pavillon Opera is ideally located in the heart of Paris in the famous Grands Boulevards area.If you want to experience main tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Pavillon Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Paris-Opera Hotel Paris
Paris Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Pavillon Opera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.