We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All very decent” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Paris Gare de Lyon Bastille

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Paris Gare de Lyon Bastille to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Paris Gare de Lyon Bastille
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 rue de Lyon | 12 Arr., 75012 Paris, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #554 of 1,794 hotels in Paris
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“All very decent”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

Hotel location is great, just outside of gare de lyon. Rooms are good size and have a balcony to the front. Wasn't any furniture on the balconies though. Rooms look a bit dated and have some issues. When our neighbours were taking a shower our shower would make noise, for example. Staff was friendly and helpful most of the time. On the first day I was able to change money, on the second day they told me they don't do that. Also, when asking for restaurant recommendations they told me that 'any place in the area is fine'. Not what I was looking for. Still, perfectly happy with my stay, it was fine.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
XAVIER D, Directeur général at Holiday Inn Paris Gare de Lyon Bastille, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel.
We have taken the notes of your comments, to improve a better quality.
Thank you very much for your review and staying with us.

Kinds regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

544 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    126
    295
    80
    29
    14
See reviews for
121
207
29
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buxton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Location and Arrival

This hotel is located a few hundred yards from the Gare de Lyon mainline and sub-way station in the south of Paris. Initial appearance was very favourable apart from the adult store located next door to the main entrance. On entering the hotel we were welcomed by Michael at the front desk, who showed us every courtesy.

Room

We had booked at standard double room and were upgraded to an Executive room which had complimentary water and orange juice. The room itself was very small; in fact, one person had to be on the bed while the other negotiated the room. The bathroom was good, an excellent shower, the room was also spotless.


Customer Service

On the whole, certain members of the hotel staff showed an excellent attitude towards customer service; it would be fair to say that this did not apply to all staff. Some examples, one evening we gave up waiting to be served a drink at the hotel bar, we went out to a local bar. On our second day, our room was not cleaned to an acceptable standard. On leaving to go out for dinner I reported to reception that the following issues would need to be addressed while we were out:

1. The bed to be re-maid
2. Towels to be refreshed
3. The tea, coffee, water and orange juice to be replenished
4. The bathroom accessories to be replenished

On returning two hours later, our room had not been touched, in fact, I had to call the front desk again to request that this be done.

Summary

Without the assistance of Michael our stay at this hotel would not have been a good experience. The hotel is in an excellent location, we both felt very safe and enjoyed to local restaurants and bars. On our first day, we walked from our hotel to Notre Dame Cathedral which took about 20 minutes. Thank you Michael, you made our stay worth while

Room Tip: All rooms are small, try to get an executive room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XAVIER D, Directeur général at Holiday Inn Paris Gare de Lyon Bastille, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel.
We have taken the notes of your comments, to improve a better quality.
Thank you very much for your review and staying with us.

Kinds regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buxton Derbyshire in the High Peak Forest
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is 5 minute slow walk from the station LYON.
I'm not bothered about what anyone says about this hotel.The staff are great ( especialy MICHEAL reception) are very helpful and a pleasure to deal with.
The rooms are small , but immaculately clean, you are only in your room to sleep n shower, you are out nearly all day seeing this AMAZING CITY (from our bathroom toilet window we could see the Eiffel Tower sparkling at night) rm 712 .There are little French restaurants all about the area, also supermarkets and bakery's
A great little hotel just outside the central area, but close enough for all the major sights.
For lunch buy some cheese and ham,wine, fruit from a supermarket and sit in one of the many parks or by the river side with the locals enjoying life........we loved the way of life, everyone relaxed, no drunks or trouble it was another world amazing to see in a BIG city.
Take the 1day bus tour €27 pp to get your bearings,and to hop on and off at you leisure

Loved Paris and the hotel

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XAVIER D, Directeur général at Holiday Inn Paris Gare de Lyon Bastille, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your comments with us.
We are very pleased to know you have enjoyed your stay.
We will be very happy to welcome you again.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

This hotel a good value and is well located. The hotel has recently been redone and is in great shape. The staff is pleasant and helpful. Include the breakfast if booking ahead, it is well worth it. The wi-fi only works in the lobby. Good location close to Gare de Lyon and easy bus and metro transport.

Room Tip: Pay up for a suite if you have kids. They can use the sofa bed. Huge room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XAVIER D, Directeur général at Holiday Inn Paris Gare de Lyon Bastille, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your comments with us.
We are very pleased to know you have enjoyed your stay.
We will be very happy to welcome you again.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

The stay was fine but I left something of value in my room which was not handed in. I called 3 times to speak with management who did call me back 2 times out of 3. Then I logged an online complaint and was told I would receive a reply within 5 days. I still have not heard back. Finally I called the helpline who logged my request again and committed to telephoning me back within 2 days. I never heard back. The customer service was a joke and completely ruined my stay.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XAVIER D, Directeur général at Holiday Inn Paris Gare de Lyon Bastille, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel. I am certainly disappointed that you forgot something in the hotel we did not find, and please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience. We are sorry too, you did not appreciate the customer service.
As your name does not appear, feel free to contact me at the following email adress gm@holidayinnparisbastille.com.
Once again please do accept my apologies and I do hope that the remainder of your trip in Paris was most enjoyable.

Thank you for your review and staying with us,

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

We used the RER to get from Charles de Gaulle Airport to the Gare de Lyon and were very pleased by how close the hotel was to the station, just a 2 minute walk. This proved to be useful for travelling around Paris as we used the metro he majority of the time.
The room size was average, but I was impressed with the amount of storage space, plenty of room to hang clothes. The only problem was that the air condition broke but once told reception sorted out for it to be fixed immediately. The lift also broke twice which was an inconvenience as we were on the fourth floor. Luckily it was working when we checked in and left because i would have struggled with my suitcases.
Breakfast was fine, and overall we had a good stay at the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XAVIER D, Directeur général at Holiday Inn Paris Gare de Lyon Bastille, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your comments with us. Be sure that our team is doing the best to fix technical problems.
We are very pleased to know you have enjoyed your stay.
We will be very happy to welcome you again.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kabul, Afghanistan
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Great welcome to this Hotel got our holiday off to a great start. The hotel was well located a block from Gare De Lyon, which had a direct bus connection from CDG Airport. We were upgraded to an executive room with a cute little juliet balcony with a view over the street.

I think this hotel is fairly new as last time we stayed in this area, a couple of years ago, it wasn't here. Furniture and fittings were in excellent condition, the room was reasonably sized. The only problem was a pull out, drop down bed, which folded down from a cupboard adjacent to the double bed but which for some reason couldn't be completely closed away.

The breakfast buffet was adequate, not impressive, with a modest American breakfast selection. The bar was pleasant enough,

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XAVIER D, Directeur général at Holiday Inn Paris Gare de Lyon Bastille, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your comments with us.
We are very pleased to know you have enjoyed your stay.
We will be very happy to welcome you again.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Paris Gare de Lyon Bastille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Paris Gare de Lyon Bastille

Address: 11 rue de Lyon | 12 Arr., 75012 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#245 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#425 Family Hotel in Paris
#457 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Paris Gare de Lyon Bastille 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Press on this following link to discover our hotel video de l'Holiday Inn Paris Bastille. The Holiday Inn Paris Bastille hotel is ideally located in the historical heart of Paris with its famous Place de la Bastille and only a 5 minute walk from the Gare de Lyon train station with its direct access to Disneyland Resort Paris and convenient metro access to Paris Expo Porte of Versailles Exhibition Center. Only walking distances away and easy metro accesses ( metro Bastille ) from the most famous Paris leisure attractions like the Louvre Museum, Notre Dame of Paris, and George Pompidou Center. Stroll along the Seine, or go for a nice shopping spree and enjoy the exclusive Shopping District Rivoli where you can enjoy the latest Paris fashion and visit various well known Department Stores.Only a short distance away from Orly and Charles de Gaulle airports, the Stade de France, and La Defense business district, this 3 star hotel is the place to be for both leisure as well as business travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, IHG, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Tingo, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Paris Gare de Lyon Bastille reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Paris Bastille Hotel Paris
Paris Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Bastille

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Paris Gare de Lyon Bastille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.