We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel management needs to do some homework” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Garden Champs Elysees

Save Saved
You added Royal Garden Champs Elysees to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royal Garden Champs Elysees
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   218-220 rue du Faubourg Saint-Honore | 8th Arr., 75008 Paris, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,369 of 1,794 hotels in Paris
Ottawa
Top Contributor
236 reviews 236 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Hotel management needs to do some homework”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I stayed at this hotel as it was convenient and close to champs Elysées of course. On arrival at around 2pm we were told that the room was not ready. That was ok. We left our luggage to go for lunch. The room was clean but not ventilated so when one goes to washroom there is no way someone will miss the smell :).
The room was also very hot and the controls were not working, fortunately we could open the windows.
The shower was a challenge can't get the right temperature iti is either hot or cold.
I was surprised with the quality of workmanship for painting and finishing.
I felt safe bit there was no safe in the room. There was no iron in the room but were given one as soon as we asked.
The receptionist that I met the forst day was not professional but that differs from one to another.
The hotel is certainly expensive as you get charged for a Fairmont price for what I would ratea 3 stars hotel.
The parking was certainly convenient but oh boy thta was a stressful excercise to get in. Very very very narrow lanes.
I am pleased with my stay. My wife was more than me. I would go back to the hotel hoping they take care of some staff training.
Never say no to a customer , say it some how in a positive way.
The breakfast was good, there was a variety and it was fresh.
The elevators are like coffins but that's france :).

Room Tip: Room 416 is big but has 2 twin beds. Room 512 is smaller and has a view on the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    39
    40
    33
    46
See reviews for
44
39
10
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We stayed in this establishment.
I wish to share my experience, the rooms are fine for a four star hotel but the quality of service is totally poor,
breakfast lack of freshness, the staff are rude, we feel disturb them.
but what made ​​me especially sad is the luggage service, when we left the porter (Indian) downright launched our luggage to the taxi door, as if we were thieves.
I informed the management but still no news.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_RGCE, Attaché de Direction at Royal Garden Champs Elysees, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Good afternoon,

We thank you for your comment and we are upsets to read about your bad experience.
Be sure that we are taking with a great consideation your opinions.

We make some refreshment room and we have already change some importants notes concerning the good attitude for a great service.

We hope to welcome you soon in our establishment.

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

Good place, at the center of city. Expensive, very good breakfast and the metro station is too close. Have 5 lines from there and after 4 stations is the EIffel Tower! it's so simple and from the airport bit you must change one line, from the blue to red a.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_RGCE, Attaché de Direction at Royal Garden Champs Elysees, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Good afternoon,

We thank you for your comment concerning your stay in our establishment. We inform you that we renove our rooms and we change some services in the hotel to welcome you better.
For the rates, we try to offer you on our website, some promotioal rate as soon as possible.

We hope to welcome you soon.

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Location is excellent, Clean, comfy, a bit of French luxury

Food in Breakfast is just acceptable. Clean but limited choice.

They turned down the AC and put a heater, so you have to open windows to get fresh air but very cold fresh air ):

There is a Blue Ray player in the Sony LCD TV

The lobby is small with a big bid Screen Flat TV

The location is at Rue Faubourg Saint Honoré, a main bourgeois city in Paris next to Champs Elysée Very well situated.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India , Trivandrum
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We were there in this hotel with family (2 adults / 1 kid). We initially booked a normal room , however since we were a family they got upgraded to a superior room , or rather you can call it as an apartment itself. It had a big hall / kitchenette facilities / big bed room / toilets etc.

It was an excellent place to live as the hotel was just 5 - 10 mins walking distance from Champs Elyses / Arc De triomphe. The Metro or RER stations were near by and all shopping centres were also near by. (i.e Monoprix / FranPrix). The hotel front office were also nice and was ready to offer us help any time. We reached hotel by 10.00 AM however was not able to checkin at that time , however it was alright for us , as we were also on a busy schedule to do sightseeing. In case you want to checkin earlier , make sure you get a confirmation from the hotel directly itself.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portadown, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

It was the first Hotel listed when I booked through Easyjet, After reading some reviews on trip advisor after I had already booked, I wasn't to sure if I had done the right thing. However on arrival the staff behind the counter where helpful and courteous. I didn't try and get any particular room and was allocated one on the 3rd floor, (311) It was spacious, clean and tidy. The only problems 1. extractor fan didn't work which meant the mirror steamed up, 2. The TV only seemed to have French Channels no English news, this was only a small inconvience.
Breakfast in the morning was served betwenn 07.30 - 10.00 and consisted of a buffet style. There was adequate choice and the food itself was execellent, it set you up for the day ahead.

With regards the location it was just a short walk onto the Champs Elysees less than 5mins, out the door turn right then the first street on the left (rue Balzac) took you straight onto the Champs Elysees.

If this is going to be your first time in Paris I would recommend that you bring a good pair of walking Shoes/Boots with you.

With regards getting there a Taxi from the airport (CDG) costs 50 euros. and safes a lot of hassle in trying to find the hotel for the first time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Arrived early for check-in, and was told "no" when asked if anythin could be done. Staff were generally rude and unhelpful, although the porter was very helpful (a rarity unfortunately).
Our stay only got worse, the room was abysmal. Door missing on wardrobe, front door cracked and frayed (rubbing on the floor), plugs were hanging off the wall, literaaly. Wires had plastic torn away revealing the inner wiring, ceiling was filthy and looked broken. Plaster and paint crumbling from the walls. Thats not even considering the bathroom, rusty, filthy and generally unhygeinic.
This was, by a long way, the worst hotel we have ever stayed in, how it is 4 stars and €390 per night is comletely beyond me.
The best advice I can give you is to completely avoid this hotel at all costs, I know for sure if we return to Paris we certainly will.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_RGCE, Responsable commercial at Royal Garden Champs Elysees, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Royal Garden Champs Elysées.
We are very sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please allow us to express our sincerest apologies.
At the Royal garden Champs Elysées, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer, therefore your feedback is very important to us.
Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to adress the problem you mentionned and to prevent future occurence.
We appreciate your are sharing your concerns and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.
Please feel free to contact us directly at the hotel through customers@royalgardenparis.com if you are travelling to Paris again so that we may take care of you and your next stay.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Royal Garden Champs Elysees? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Garden Champs Elysees

Address: 218-220 rue du Faubourg Saint-Honore | 8th Arr., 75008 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#354 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Garden Champs Elysees 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and discover the Royal Garden Champs-Elysees, a comfortable and chic hotel just a seven-minute walk from the world's most famous avenue. This luxury hotel in Paris offers you 54 air conditioned and soundproofed guestrooms with TV and a private bathroom. These living areas are elegant and spacious. From 19 m² to 25 m², the living areas are ideal to spend a delightful stay in the 8th district of Paris, between the Place de l'Etoile and the Parc Monceaux. In the evening, the hotel bar distills a cosy atmosphere ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Tingo, Venere, TripOnline SA, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL and Despegar.com so you can book your Royal Garden Champs Elysees reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Garden Champs Elysees Hotel Paris
Golden Tulip Hotel Paris
Golden Tulip Paris
Paris Golden Tulip

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Garden Champs Elysees, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.