We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cosy and homely” 4 of 5 stars
Review of France Louvre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added France Louvre to your Saves list
France Louvre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   40 rue de Rivoli | 4th Arr., 75004 Paris, France (Le Marais)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,377 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Irvine, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“cosy and homely”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

This hotel is in a very central location and is near one of the main metro stations. We found all the staff to be very friendly. Our breakfast was included and had all the usual things like croissants, baguettes, meat, cheese, fruit, cereal etc. Breakfast is served in an underground room with an arched stone ceiling which was really very attractive and was accompanied by classical music playing in the background which was nice and peaceful. Our room on the 4th floor was a decent size (have stayed in much smaller in Paris) and looked out on the rue de Rivoli. The air conditioning worked fine. The lift is absolutely tiny but does hold two people and 2 suitcases There was a sitting room on the first floor. Wi-fi was a bit slow but was ok. There is a small supermarket just along the street called Monop which has quite a good selection and is open to midnight. I would definitely stay here again..

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    49
    40
    35
    37
See reviews for
16
73
16
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Being close to the Marais district,there were plenty of cafes to sit in and watch the passing parade,on a Sunday.Metro station(hotel de ville) very close and walking distance from the pompidou centre and the islands in the Seine.Small but comfortable rooms.Tiny lift and reception area.Although there is a sitting room if you need some space to sit and read.We had a room at the back,on the 3rd floor ,which was very quiet.Friendly staff.We didn't eat at the Hotel as we found plenty of places to grab a bite as we wandered around the beautiful city.Even in Winter.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Haag
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

This hotel is well located in a nice part of the centre of Paris.
No breakfast included, costs 13 euro, but enough lunch rooms in the area.
The room and shower are a bit small, but the bed was nice.
..

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

a group of us stayed here booked 3 rooms, unhelpful staff, wifi does not work, rooms are incredibally cramped and over exaggerated on the internet, the cloakroom for storing your bags is a broom cupboard and is unsafe
the bathrooms were tiny paint and plaster was peeling off the walls the rooms were very cramped with very little space to walk about
stay away

Room Tip: the location is good, but that is all about this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with clever-hotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Do not book this hotel if you are expecting an 'Executive' room.

My Exec room was just big enough to contain a double bed and tatty old (not 'cool/antique' old) desk and chair. The carpet looked like it needed a good clean too.

The hotel isn't bad. Its location is good. The bed and bathroom were clean (which is generally my main concern).

The hotel itself is overdue a reburb (the pics they show are not representative of what is actually on offer).

Overall. A let down.

Room Tip: No such thing as 'Exec' room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

I had booked this hotel for the long weekend (24 - 27 Aug 2012), but had to cancel my plan. Hotel cancellation policy clearly stated that if you cancel in advance, no money will be charged. Despite cancelling my trip more than 20 days in advance (The hotel confirmed the cancellation in writing), the hotel charged me the first night rate.
Since then, I have been requesting the hotel to return the amount. I have sent numerous emails and had conversations with both the hotel reception and Mr. Boitel (Hotel manager). After more than 30 days of no action from the hotel, I had to dispute the amount through my credit card company.
Even without staying at the hotel, I have had a terrible experience. I would not recommend anyone to trust this hotel.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Md
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I agree with some of the other comments. The only good thing about this hotel is the location. The entire hotel and the room we had are very shabby. It all needs to be rehabbed. Carpet was dirty with burns marks. Very small room, even for Paris. No room for anything.

Room Tip: Avoid the 02 rooms which are the smallest. Maybe the others are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to France Louvre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about France Louvre

Address: 40 rue de Rivoli | 4th Arr., 75004 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Le Marais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,377 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — France Louvre 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel set in 1850 Napoleon III design building near the banks of the Seine - Close to Notre Dame, the Louvre and Pompidou Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your France Louvre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
France Louvre Hotel Paris
France Louvre Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage France Louvre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.