We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not to be trusted” 1 of 5 stars
Review of France Louvre

Save Saved
You added France Louvre to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
France Louvre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   40 rue de Rivoli | 4th Arr., 75004 Paris, France (Hôtel-de-Ville)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,365 of 1,794 hotels in Paris
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“not to be trusted”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

a group of us stayed here booked 3 rooms, unhelpful staff, wifi does not work, rooms are incredibally cramped and over exaggerated on the internet, the cloakroom for storing your bags is a broom cupboard and is unsafe
the bathrooms were tiny paint and plaster was peeling off the walls the rooms were very cramped with very little space to walk about
stay away

Room Tip: the location is good, but that is all about this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with clever-hotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    56
    43
    31
    39
See reviews for
12
57
9
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Do not book this hotel if you are expecting an 'Executive' room.

My Exec room was just big enough to contain a double bed and tatty old (not 'cool/antique' old) desk and chair. The carpet looked like it needed a good clean too.

The hotel isn't bad. Its location is good. The bed and bathroom were clean (which is generally my main concern).

The hotel itself is overdue a reburb (the pics they show are not representative of what is actually on offer).

Overall. A let down.

Room Tip: No such thing as 'Exec' room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

I had booked this hotel for the long weekend (24 - 27 Aug 2012), but had to cancel my plan. Hotel cancellation policy clearly stated that if you cancel in advance, no money will be charged. Despite cancelling my trip more than 20 days in advance (The hotel confirmed the cancellation in writing), the hotel charged me the first night rate.
Since then, I have been requesting the hotel to return the amount. I have sent numerous emails and had conversations with both the hotel reception and Mr. Boitel (Hotel manager). After more than 30 days of no action from the hotel, I had to dispute the amount through my credit card company.
Even without staying at the hotel, I have had a terrible experience. I would not recommend anyone to trust this hotel.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Md
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I agree with some of the other comments. The only good thing about this hotel is the location. The entire hotel and the room we had are very shabby. It all needs to be rehabbed. Carpet was dirty with burns marks. Very small room, even for Paris. No room for anything.

Room Tip: Avoid the 02 rooms which are the smallest. Maybe the others are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This hotel is well-located right in the heart of Marais, walking distance to the St Paul and Hotel de Ville metro station. The room is small but clean, with its own bathroom. At only 90 euros a night for a single room it's pretty good value, and there aren't a whole lot of hotels in Paris with genuine single rooms.

The salon area has a computer with internet access and a printer, which is really useful for booking into flights online. There's a small lift if you don't want to take the stairs up to the rooms. There is a luggage room where you can leave suitcases if you arrive early.

The hotel offers free wake-up calls on request, although reception did not call me at the time booked. Lucky I had a backup alarm set or I would have missed my early morning flight! The staff didn't seem too apologetic about this.

It's not the most amazing hotel ever, but for the location the price can't be beat and it's a pretty good deal.

Room Tip: Single rooms are as described - one single bed only. They're small but perfectly adequate and go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Great location as so close to metro line 1, stayed in twin executive room, though beds were very close together we were pleasantly surprised as room was very clean although towels were not changed. Only gripe is that on checkout the guy checking out before us had difficulties with paying by credit card and had to find machine to withdraw cash and come back. Meanwhile same thing happened to us, both of our cards were declined which was a bit of a worry as staff member suggested the problem was with our cards until the guy came back to pay in cash and saw what was happening to us as well so it appeared that they preferred payment in cash. if there was a genuine problem then it should have been made clear by the staff member instead of pretending it was our cards at fault.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

A friend of mine booked into this little hotel on her visit to Paris and it was just ideal for what we needed for our girly weekend. A boutique 3 Star hotel, very typical for what you'd expect in Paris with the benefit of no nasty surprises. The location was great, right in the centre of Paris on the Rue de Rivoli and walking distance to just about anywhere we wanted to go.

The entrance foyer, lift and stairs are very narrow and a little dark but the rooms were an absolute delight, larger than you expect for a little French hotel, and with clean, chic decor. The room she had, had violet toile curtains and vintage white-painted shabby/chic furniture and even had a bathtub!

a great place to crash, but don't bother with the breakfast, you'll find better at one of the numerous cafe's right on your doorstep. It's also right near a bunch of cool vintage and second hand stores if that's your thing.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to France Louvre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about France Louvre

Address: 40 rue de Rivoli | 4th Arr., 75004 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Hôtel-de-Ville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,365 of 1,794 hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — France Louvre 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel set in 1850 Napoleon III design building near the banks of the Seine - Close to Notre Dame, the Louvre and Pompidou Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your France Louvre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
France Louvre Hotel Paris
France Louvre Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage France Louvre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.