We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little hotel in the centre of Paris” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Exe Paris Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Exe Paris Centre to your Saves list
Hotel Exe Paris Centre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   29 Rue D'Amsterdam, 75008 Paris, France (Opéra)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #879 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Yorkshire, UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice little hotel in the centre of Paris”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

I stay in Paris quite a lot, so I'm familiar with the standards and size of rooms. This hotel is superior to many I have stayed in. The standard of the rooms and friendliness of the staff is definitely more of a four-star experience. The rooms are decorated to a good standard, with nice fittings and nothing is done cheap. The breakfast in the cellar downstairs is really nice, again decorated to a high standard. I will definitely stay here again

Also excellent location right near the centre of Paris

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    114
    51
    17
    26
See reviews for
38
104
14
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

This is a great hotel in a brilliant location!! Hotel staff were all friendly enough although we only spoke twice....once at check in and the second was on departure.

The hotel itself is to a good standard, very clean and tidy. Room a little small but adequate. Best hotel bed I've slept in for a long time!! Great shower and spacious bathroom. TV, wifi and minibar.

Can't see what the complaints are for....this really is just a lovely clean place to sleep of a night. There is so much to do and see in Paris that if your planning on staying in the room I suggest you save your money and stay at home...

I would definitely recommend purely for the fact that it's clean, comfortable and central to everywhere!

Thank you for a nice time although I would recommend that you reply to your emails as we had requested a late checkout through booking.com and our request was ignored....

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sri Kembangan, Malaysia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

The first and foremost: please change the hotel name as the hotel name has been changed to Hotel Exe Paris Centre.

Service: Never in my life that i have to wait for more than 6 hours to have my room. i arrived around 8am.. i got the room after 3pm. i had a very long flight before the check-in. it was very tiring... plus i have to wait for long hours to get my room ready.
my suggestion: add more staff for cleaning. it's good to have the room ready early eventhough you have the condition for check-in time from 2:00pm ~ 3:00pm. All hotels in this world have the same check-in start time, but all the time but this one, i have my room ready upon arrival even at 6:00am.

Room: The room was so small.. so small compared to the room i stayed around Porte Doree and it was 1/3 of the price of this hotel. Very expensive for a very small room without breakfast included!

Internet (wifi) was free. but the wifi service was interrupted for almost 1/2 of the day.
Suggestion: promptly call for Wifi service or change to a new Wifi provided that are more efficient.

Staff: All the staff were okay.

Location: location was superb. only 5 minutes walk to the Saint Lazare station.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goiania, GO
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Perto de uma grande estação de trem e metrô (St Lazare). Aliás, o sistema de metrô de Paris é excelente, e como o hotel está no centro, praticamente não utilizamos táxi. O quarto é pequeno mas confortável. Foi recém reformado e tudo era novo. Entretanto as escadas e corredor ainda estavam em reforma. Elevador pequeno. Falta iluminação adequada no quarto, onde pela manhã podemos abrir as cortinas, mas a noite o quarto fica na penumbra. Falta melhorar o box na banheira, pois o piso do banheiro fica inundado ao se tomar banho. O sinal wi-fi no quarto é bom, sendo possível usar Skype. O café da manhã é muito simples: café, iogurte, croassant e queijo. Recepcionistas bem simpáticos e comunicam em inglês e espanhol. - Near a major train and metro station (St Lazare). By the way, the Paris subway system is excellent, and as the hotel is in the center, hardly used taxi. The room is small but comfortable. It was newly renovated and everything was new. However the stairs and hallway were still under renovation. Small elevator. Lack adequate lighting in the room where the morning we opened the curtains, but the night the room is in darkness. Missing improve the box in the bathtub because the bathroom floor gets flooded when showering. The wi-fi signal in the room is good, being able to use Skype. The breakfast is very simple: coffee, yogurt, cheese and croassant. Receptionists very friendly and communicate in English and Spanish.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is a very typical Paris 3 Star Hotel - which in the US rating system I honestly believe would rank as 2 star. The room was VERY clean - which was the main point as I am a bit of a germaphobe. But they are are the size of a large walk-in closet. I stayed in a double room I booked for myself. I am not sure how 2 people could share this room, as there was only enough floor space for 1 person to be standing up at any one time. Further, contrary to the hotel description on several web sites, there is NO laundry machine available. The staff had no clue where in the neighborhood, in Paris, or in France for that matter I could find a laundromat. (I lived in Paris for many years. Believe me; laundromats are in every single neighborhood.) Through Google, I was able to locate one. The breakfast is also NOT included in the price. So be prepared to pay $15 for coffee and a roll! They also had some major construction going on, which for a Paris hotel could last the better part of a decade.

This is all very normal for Paris hotels - no laundry machines, staff have no clue how to find one, construction site conditions, absurd prices for breakfast. If a US-style Motel 6 chain opened in the city, they would put every single 3start establishment out of business!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

A group of us were having a Paris break and we didn’t want to spend too much on accommodation as everything in Paris is so expensive. Now, having read all the reviews, we were not expecting much for the price we paid. It worked out 60 quid a night per person including breakfast which was reasonable. Asked for a twin room, the beds are right next to each other, see photo. The hotel is well located between two subway stations and easy to find. It is also in the middle of renovation and has had a complete makeover compared to what reviewers were saying last year. The rooms are clean and the bathroom a good size, and the AC was brilliant and silent. Yes, there were a few things 'missing', the lock on the door needed attention, one of the side lights didn’t work and there were no sink plugs, but all in all, a good room. The wallpaper was really weird, made of something squidgy? Sound proofing? It needed it, the walls are thin and with all the renovation works, you will hear it. Also, you can hear everything in the bathroom if you are in the room and vice versa! And don’t get a room by the lift, we were a corridor away and we could hear it!
Breakfast was actually quite good. Yes, slow to top up on plates of croissants, ham and cheese. But there were cereal, toast, yogurt, bread, orange juice, coffee and tea. The hot food was scrambled eggs and hot dog sausage.
Overall, I reckon with the completed renovations and final touches to the rooms, and an improved breakfast service, this will be one popular hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

The hotel is a few minute walk from St. Lazare metro. Kind of hard to find bc there's not a big sign and it's about 2-3 blocks from metro. So just keep walking and you'll come across a blue banner on the side of the bldg. everything was very clean. They were renovating so loud hammering woke us up at 7 am every morning. Walls are paper thin you can hear everyone walking in the hall. VERY hard beds..but Overall slept fine. Staff were very helpful.
At night there were a lot of homeless in the nearby park. Felt a little weird walking back in the dark but never felt like I was in danger.
For the price you can't beat it.
Would stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Exe Paris Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Exe Paris Centre

Address: 29 Rue D'Amsterdam, 75008 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opéra
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#546 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Exe Paris Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel in mid 19th century building with courtyard gardens and unique breakfast room - Near the Opera and department stores. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Exe Paris Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fleche d Or
Fleche d Or Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Exe Paris Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.