We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel and Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Champs-Elysees Friedland

Save Saved
You added Hotel Champs-Elysees Friedland to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Champs-Elysees Friedland
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   177 Rue Du Faubourg Saint-Honore, 75008 Paris, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #331 of 1,794 hotels in Paris
Dundee, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel and Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Stayed here for four nights. Our room was excellent with free wifi, tea/coffee facilities, fridge/free minibar (soft drinks and water), air con and a nice queen bed. Our rate also included a buffet breakfast with tea/coffee, fruit juice, scrambled egg, sausage, bacon, croissants, bread rolls etc. The location is excellent with the Champs eleysee and the Arch de Triomph 10 minutes walk away. The nearest metro station is Saint-Philippe du Roule on line 9 which is also about a 10 min. walk away. Hotel is immaculately clean. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Will also look after your luggage if you have a later departure. Cannot fault this hotel at all. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
F-DEPREYTERE, Directeur général at Hotel Champs-Elysees Friedland, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear travelers,
Thank you for leaving your comments on Trip Advisor regarding your stay at Hotel Champs Elysees Friedland.
We appreciate your emphasis of our "all for you", which for every booking made through our website or directly with the hotel, we offer to you:
_a welcome drink (champagne)
_buffet breakfast
_Internet connection
_mini bar (soft drinks)
_and tea time buffet
For location, the Hotel Champs Elysees Friedland is near the Champs Elysees Avenue and the Arc of Triomph and is well served by buses (43, 22, 52) and subways (1,2,9 and RER A) .
Cleanliness is one of our priorities, as well as welcoming our customers.
For air condition, it was completely changed in spring 2013.
We hope to see you again very soon for your next stay in Paris.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    144
    121
    44
    13
    5
See reviews for
64
151
15
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

Stayed during a business trip: centrally located, very clean and friendly, staff helpful with directions etc. and for €157 fantastic value. Rooms very quiet. Could use new carpets and fittings though.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
F-DEPREYTERE, Directeur général at Hotel Champs-Elysees Friedland, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you for leaving your review on Trip Advisor regarding your stay at Hotel Champs Elysees Friedland. We are very vigilant effect on the cleanliness of our facility. We appreciate your comment on the professionalism of our staff.
For information, the renovation of the rooms is very regular and the next wave of work for carpets, in October.
Hoping to see you again during your next trip to Paris.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roslyn, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

The service is excellent, room exceptionally clean with updated bathroom. DJamel, the hotel manager is wonderful and everything you would expect of the person in charge guiding a super staff. It is warm, cozy with an added tea time at the end of a busy day. Yes, the rooms are not huge, and no dresser for some clothes, but minor problem. Highly recommend because there will simply be no regrets!

Room Tip: Facing the hotel, rooms on the left side may have less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
F-DEPREYTERE, Directeur général at Hotel Champs-Elysees Friedland, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear customers, thank you all for having left edge of review site Trip Advisor about our hotel Champs Elysees Friedland.
A big thank you for the very possitif back labor of maid chambers that make them very clean which would almost forget the size of the rooms.
Also thank you for the work of Djamel and his team received a daily basis, they are doing all our best to inform, present hotel and all the monuments and events in Paris.
On your next trip to Paris, it will be my pleasure to welcome you again at the Hotel Champs Elysees Friedland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carnegie, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

This hotel is staffed by lovely people. The rooms are comfortable, if small but the location is convenient. The complimentary breakfast and buffet at dinner time was thoroughly appreciated.
Two minor issues-when we stayed they were having problem with their heating And the rooms were very hot. Also the shuttle they recommended to the airport was a horror, driver was rude, dangerous driver who tried to leave while one of my group was out of the shuttle to let a new person. Despite thatI would highly recommend to stay and would stay agai

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
F-DEPREYTERE, Directeur général at Hotel Champs-Elysees Friedland, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you for leaving a message on your experience at the hotel Champs Elysees Friedland via Trip Advisor.
it is always with pleasure that our staff welcomes you and tells you about Paris. Rooms are not very big size (standard room), but they are clean, and practice.
Finally, I'm sorry for the experience that you have lived with drivers company (not owned by the hotel).
Anyway I hope to see you again soon on your next trip to Europe and especially to us at the hotel Champs Elysees Friedland.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Good location, good service. I didn't appreciate the recommendations they gave for restaurants though. The buffet in the afternoon is nice because you arrive tired and hungry after walking the whole day. My room was very nice and spacious, but l had payed more because of the baby. My brother had a room that was a lot smaller and noisier in front of the elevator. I would go back there for a short stay.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
F-DEPREYTERE, Directeur général at Hotel Champs-Elysees Friedland, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for your review posted on trip advisor during your stay at the Champs Elysées Friedland hotel. .
We are glad that you appreciated the tea time buffet which is part of our offer "all for you". when a guest reserves on our website or directly, the breakfast, a glass of champagne, the Wi-Fi, the minibar(soft drinks),the tea time buffet are offered.
In your case, for your confort, you were in a superior room (need space for the child's cot), and you brother was in a standard room which is smaller than a superior room.
I understand that his room was a little bit noiser than yours because it was near the lift (problem in every hotel).
We are looking forward to welcoming you again for your next trip in Paris.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

The hotel is very good: clean, good breakfast, great location close to arc du triomphe.
The cons; no cabinets in the room, so I needed to keep my clothes inside my suitcase, and also the air conditioning wasn't working
The overall impression of this hotel is very good despite that.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
F-DEPREYTERE, Directeur général at Hotel Champs-Elysees Friedland, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for your review posted on Trip advisor about your stay at the champs Elysées Friedland hotel.
We are glad that you appreciated our buffet breakfast. thanks for your feed-back concerning the cleaness of our rooms ,this last point is primordial to us, our chambermaids do the best to make your stay more confortable and make yourself at home.
All our rooms are furnished with a maximum of confort (hair-dryer, desk, cupboard, luggage rack,
air conditionning etc...).
Concerning your request about the air conditionning, the month of May has been very cold and rainy for many years (15, 18 degrees Celsius) so the air conditionning was not available at this time.
It will be a pleasure to welcome you in Paris with a better weather in our hotel Champs Elysées Friedland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We booked this hotel because we had been invited to a party which was taking place nearby. The hotel is located about 10 minutes' walk from the Arc de Triomphe where you can catch the RER which takes you the town centre in 10 minutes.

Locationwise it is great for the Arc de Triomphe and the Champs Elysees but if you are going to Paris I would avoid that area. Several reasons:
- It's dead at night
- It's expensive
- The Arc de Triomphe and the Champs Elysees are far from the centre of Paris.

The hotel itself is okay,the rooms are comfortable though on the short side for the price that you pay (and that is the problem; you are paying for the location, which in itself is not the best if you are a tourist) and so the compromise is on the quality.

The bathroom is basic but sufficient and they have now installed air conditioning which is a blessing.

Foodwise however much improvement is needed. Breakfast is VERY basic. The cheese served is your standard cooked paste cheese which is nothing to speak of, the ham and bits are just cheap cuts, the scrambled eggs are overcooked and are basically broken down omelette rathen than nice and creamy; and the pastries are undercooked. There are some 3-star hotels which serve better breakfasts.

The hotel offers free refreshments between 5:30pm and 8pm which are basically mostly the left overs from breakfast + a few cakes. Nice gesture but again the quality is average. We had seen such free tea feature when we went to Seville last year and that was a totally different ball game. Frankly you would expect a lot better from a hotel in that area of Paris.

Otherwise the staff is very nice and friendly. It is basically a convenient hotel if you go to Paris on business or you have a reason to want to stay near the Arc de Triomphe, but if you are going as a tourist you will regret booking there. Get somewhere more central.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Champs-Elysees Friedland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Champs-Elysees Friedland

Address: 177 Rue Du Faubourg Saint-Honore, 75008 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#163 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#276 Family Hotel in Paris
#287 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#386 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Champs-Elysees Friedland 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Champs Elysées Friedland is ideally located on the Rue du Faubourg Saint Honoré, just a few steps from the Champs-Elysées.The Hotel has 40 rooms which are nicely decorated with a refined decor. Free Wifi, Breakfast Buffet, glass of champagne and the Tea time buffet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Venere, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Fastbooking, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Hotel Champs-Elysees Friedland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Paris
Best Western Paris
Paris Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Champs-Elysees Friedland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.