We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Picturesque” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pont des Arts

Pont des Arts
Paris, France
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$41*
and up
Paris Night Bike Tour
Ranked #61 of 634 Attractions in Paris
Type: Bridges, Landmarks
Attraction details
PA
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
73 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Very Picturesque”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

This is one of the things I think of when looking back on our Paris trip. I had read an article about the toll that the locks take on the bridge, so we didn't actually place one. I'm not totally sold that they don't want people doing this since nobody is patrolling or anything, but nevertheless. There will be a lot of vendors selling locks and offers to take photographs, but we just enjoyed the view and snapped some pictures ourselves. The idea is romantic and I'm quite glad we went.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

731 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    387
    218
    76
    18
    32
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Love's labours lost”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Any bridge over the Seine is worth walking over and this is in a nice area. I was persuaded to cross it by my teenage daughter who bought a lock and placed it on the bridge (no need to bring one as you will be hounded by street sellers selling them and marker pens). Personally I think it is a bit 'tacky' and hardly an emblem of undying love as they are removed frequently and are in any case damaging the bridge - and it is a disease that has spread to many other bridges. Personally I would suggest a nice dinner or a romantic evening walk along the Seine and talking to each other if you want to be romantic! However worth a visit for curiosity value to see what all the fuss is about.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario Canada
Top Contributor
330 reviews 330 reviews
225 attraction reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
637 helpful votes 637 helpful votes
“The love lock bridge!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Le Pont des Arts is not the only bridge with lots of locks, but it certainly is the most famous. Le Pont de l'Archevèqué is also very popular and has the best view of Notre Dame. It is a part of Paris and it is a foolish idea of romance, but we bought a lock and did it anyway.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
263 reviews 263 reviews
151 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Lots and lots of locks.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

As a pedestrian bridge, this another of the Love Lock Bridges sweeping through Europe. There must be tens of thousands of locks on this bridge, to an extent that the weight is breaking some of the panels. It is a sight to see as more and more people add to the look.
I don't see it as vandalism, but another form of art in such a cultural city.
The only downfall are those trying to scam you out of something. Just be aware of your surroundings and you should be fine.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Mixed thoughts...you must see and decide”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Well, I have mixed thoughts on the locks. On one hand, they are diverse and beautiful, and represent young love. And they are quite artistic to look at as a group. And I would love to buy a panel of the removed locks and mount as wall art in my house.

But they are tearing parts of the bridge down. And they mask the natural beauty of the bridge.

Regardless,the bridge is a must see. You decide.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pont des Arts also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Pont des Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pont des Arts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.