We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clients méprisés” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Ayako

Ayako
67, rue de l'Ouest, 75014 Paris, France
01.43.21.63.44
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Book Online and Save Up to 30% *
Ayako is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
*Some exclusions may apply.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,225 of 13,373 Restaurants in Paris
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Clients méprisés”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Looking for a dining place in the Montparnasse area, I decided to screen through tripadvisor suggestions. This one was among the TOP 10% in Paris and I decided to go forward.

My disappointment was embedded in the "welcome" scene - standing for five minutes in the middle of the restaurant, and then a waitress rushing from the kitchen and yelling at me "asseyez vous ici" over other clients, no smile …

The "ici" was stuck between a wall and a chair. After 10 more minutes, no appetizer, no menu handed over to us, no further attention … however, the smell of the kitchen in the middle of the restaurant was already invading our trousers, jackets and hair … so we decided to leave.

The chinese cook looked surprised, but quickly focused back on impressing the 6 or 7 fellows gathered around him and impressed by his acrobatic gesture.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    31
    4
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good food and nice show”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

We've been to Ayako 3 times over the last few years and had a very nice time on every visit. The restaurant is fairly small and has a pleasant atmosphere: service is very friendly and the cooks put on a nice teppanyaki show. The food - beef, foie gras, scalops, shrimps, vegetables ... - is fresh, well cooked and portions are just the right size. I definitely recommend this place for a nice dinner experience, whether it's as a couple or with a larger group!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Prest
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“a good place to eat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

very good products, quickly grilled just in front of you. I do like the grilled shells and also the shrimps. Not expensive, around 20/25 €, and kind service.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Absolutley superb!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2011

We found this place on evening while wandering the streets of Montparnasse one evening after dinner in our hotel. We returned the next evening to try "Japanese Cuisine" in Paris. We were delightfully surprised, the place is small but perfect. There is an option for tepanyaki or regular dining. The server was extremely polite and attentive. After ordering our food which is priced very reasonably for what we received, especially when compared to US standards. After our soup, we received our salads and to our surprise bibs to protect us for any accidental spills through out the remainder of our meal. Everything served was fresh and delicious, especially the sushi and sashimi. By far the best Japanese cuisine we've had anywhere.

  • Visited March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ayako also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Ayako? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ayako, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.