We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome macaroons” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pierre Herme

Pierre Herme
4, rue Cambon, 75001 Paris, France (Louvre / Palais-Royal)
+33 (0)1 43 54 47 77
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 196 Bakeries in Paris
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Bakeries
Neighborhood: Louvre / Palais-Royal
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Louvre / Palais-Royal
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Awesome macaroons”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

I have never had macaroons before but after spotting this place on Tripadvisor I thought it seemed rude not to try. Wow! These things are gorgeous. I cannot pretend to know a lot on this subject but they were slightly crunchy, gooey and generously filled with gorgeous icing. The flavours taste very real. Well worth a try, even if they are 2 euros each for a little one!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    33
    10
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Papeete, French Polynesia
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Best macarons ever... and excellent customer service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

I think Pierre Herme macarons are the best. Unique flavors (I even tried the foie gras/ chocolate - but my favorites are the passion fruit/ chocolate and the caramel au beurre sale) & perfect balance between the crunchiness and sweetness. Forget other brands, too marketing, too sweet...
Of course you need to pay the price for such delicacies... but worth every dime...
I also recommend the jams...OMG! Some foodies I know said it's the perfect combination...Fav is the passion fruit/ orange/ mango.. so yummy!

But what makes Pierre Herme so exceptional is the customer service in all the locations I have been to. Friendly, knowledgeable and patient personnel. One of my friend is allergic to some ingredients and Pierre Herme is the only one to have a list of all allergens in their recipes. That is enough proof for me that they know how and what each product is made of (and I visited/ called all the high end French brands - none as professional as P. Herme). 2 thumbs up for that!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
1,470 helpful votes 1,470 helpful votes
“Omnomnom”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

They do amazing macrons! Not as good as Laudree, but definitely second best in the world.

I'd just avoid their white truffle one, as it tasted disgusting.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Very good french macaron”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

We ate the fleur de sal and chocolate both good and did not fall apart as we ate them. The fleur de sal filling was whipped which was a nice change from others that are just Carmel.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
309 helpful votes 309 helpful votes
“Yes!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

Come for the macaroons. Leave with a chocolate desert. You will not be disappointed. This place is outstanding. The long line of Japanese tourists is a dead give away... They know where to find good patisserie! The upstairs restaurant cum tearoom is best avoided,a sit is somewhat dodgy.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pierre Herme also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Pierre Herme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pierre Herme, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.