We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mandarin Oriental, Paris

Save Saved
You added Mandarin Oriental, Paris to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Paris
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   251 Rue Saint-Honore, 75001 Paris, France (Louvre / Place Vendôme)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Daily Dining / Spa Credit
Ranked #3 of 1,795 hotels in Paris
San Jose, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

My bride and I enjoyed five unforgettable nights on our honeymoon at this property. The service was…well Manderin has the worlds best and this is absolutely up to par. There is no negative's with this location. Just perfect.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    358
    51
    13
    7
    4
See reviews for
65
200
27
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

If i hadn't staying in a number of luxury hotels in my life, I might rate the Mandarin Oriental higher. It is very, very good.

Rooms are good size, hotel bar great, in room dining and breakfast (special mention here, breakfast is close to perfect), restaurant good. Location is good on one of the main shopping streets. Spa and pool area is much better than average, maybe not quite the design 'wow' of a perfect spa but definitely very very good. Outlook over street to typical French architecture (beautiful).

It is all you can expect from a 5 Star Hotel. Very close to my top rating and probably amongst best places to stay in Paris. Stay here.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

I don't normally write reviews but we had such a fantastic experience at this hotel. My wife and I visited Paris for our 10th wedding anniversary a few weeks ago as I had proposed there 11 yrs earlier. We stayed at the Bristol before but decided to stay at Mandarin Oriental Paris. We have stayed in several Mandarin Orientals in Asia and the thing that always sets this hotel group apart is the SERVICE. They arranged our 3 day romantic getaway (we left our young kids behind in NYC) and set us up with amazing restaurants and exclusive visits. Location on Rue St Honore cannot be beat and check in (after a red eye) was fast and offered with a drink. They even sent up champagne and chocolates and rose petals for our anniversary celebration! There was an ipad for use in the room and a beautiful tub and shower. The concierges were all extremely knowledgeable and helpful. Changing plans last minute was met with a "bien sur -pas de problem" attitude. we loved staying here and would definitely come back. Bill E.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rennes France
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

What we ( a 25 yr old well traveled couple) liked:
1. Incredible, sexy decor around the hotel and in the suite. I loved the flowers in our suite- on tables, by my vanity etc.
2. Modern. He loved that the suite had an iPad, 3 TVs, iPod player (some amazing equipment brand he was talking about, I have no clue), high tech lights, hi tech toilet... The list goes on. Built in 2011 but feels like its from the future!
3. Attention to detail. Welcoming gifts galore, champagne around every corner, flowers flowers flowers, insane cleanliness
4. Service. Jérémy was a gem and everyone else too. Kind, genuine service oozes from around every corner.
5. Young and sexy. Need I say more?

What we didn't like
1. The pool was a tad bit cold. Not intolerable , didn't even think about it really until I read a "terrible" review from tripadvisor and I thought, oh yes, it was a bit on the chilly side wasn't it? This is really splitting hairs though. ALSO: the service was so immaculate I bet if I would have asked they would have said, oh yes mademoiselle !!! And turned the heat up that instant.
2. I asked the concierge to book me a nonstop train ticket and the next day upon arriving à la gare, I discover it was not the nonstop train. Not cool

All in all - Gorgeous, sexy hotel in the heart if Paris with great moves to match. What's not to like?

Room Tip: 5082 was big. with courtyard view, no balcony but great layout and big bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

The Mandarin Oriental Paris is in the heart Paris walking to some of the greatest areas of Paris the Metro is close to Concorde metro I will say about 600-700 meters away from the hotel, and also to mention A great location close to the city's most famous attractions. The moment you get in to the hotel the staff are very friendly, and amazing accommodating to your needs and very helpful. The check is very smooth the staff can help and direct you in any way you may need.
the comfort of my room which is what we need the most after a long trip, .The Room is elegant and modern and Asian touches here and there all the things are almost remote controlled, the TV I think it had over 140 channels almost, a very comfortable bed, the service is amazing Overall, i had a pleasant and memorable I did had a price shock in the restaurant 10 Euros for a cup of coffee

but is a five star cup of coffee… it was worth it
I will truly stay there soon again

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOPAR_11, Hotel Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Paris, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear Hans,

Thank you very much for your time and support and above all, thank you for choosing us.

It was our pleasure to welcome you and we truly hope to see you again among us soon.

With kind regards,

Majbritt Iaconis
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

This hotel lies in the heart of the city,the best place to stay in a great location close to the city's most famous attractions.As u step in to the hotel the staff are very friendly,accommodating and very helpful.The check in happens in a split seconds and you are in the comfort of your room which is what we need utmost after a long travel, the staff escorted us to our suite and made sure everything is fine before she leave us.We were greeted with a personalised welcome notes on the table and on the telly which made us very welcome, it's the effort.The suite is elegant and modern, sound proof and had a very comfortable bed, the service is amazing and the staff are very professional, special thanks to Cindy and Allan of front desk, Ian Kidd Directeur des Services Clients and other staff which i couldn't remember all their names but they are all appreciated.Only one least i would comment is the full body mirror which is situated behind the wardrobe door that is quite a bit awkward place but it can be put up with not a big issue,Overall, we had a pleasant and memorable stay @ Mandarin Oriental Paris with excellent recommendation.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOPAR_11, Responsable relations clients at Mandarin Oriental, Paris, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your kind comments and we are delighted to learn of your overall enjoyment with your stay.

I will be sure to pass these on to the team here in Paris and we very much hope that we will welcome you back in the future.

I would also like to take the opportunity to thank you for your feedback regarding the mirror which is of great value to us and can only but assist us in improving our services further.

If I or the team may be of assistance to you again please do not hesitate to contact us.

With kind regards,

Ian Kidd
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

As if I need another reason to go back to my favorite city, I could just stay in the hotel for the views alone. The staff was amazing, catering to our every whim and personally escorting us back to our suite every time we came home. They were very helpful in arranging any travel and other accommodations for our next destination after departing from them.

The location is so convenient and easily walkable to nearby sights along with quaint cafes and bakeries. I loved the decor, very contemporary and modern - it looks so pristine and you instantly feel sophisticated the moment you enter the lobby doors. We were greeted with a note and petit fours upon checking into our room which made us feel very welcome.

Unfortunately the restaurant was closed during our stay so I did not have the pleasure of experiencing the dining there, but I'm sure it is magnifique considering all the other things they do so well.

Room Tip: Try to book a room with a terrace and have breakfast out there. It's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOPAR_11, Hotel Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Paris, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear Larina,

Our staff is fully dedicated to a personalised and discreet service and I am glad you experienced it first-hand.

A lunch or dinner at Sur Mesure par Thierry Marx, our 2 Michelin star gourmet restaurant is an extraordinary treat. I am sorry you did not get to experience this time and can only wish that another visit among us will provide you with the opportunity to make this amazing discovery.

We are very grateful for your kind words and support and want to thank you for your tim, we look forward to welcome you back among us.

Best Regards,

Majbritt Iaconis
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Paris

Address: 251 Rue Saint-Honore, 75001 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Louvre / Place Vendôme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#2 Spa Hotel in Paris
#2 Business Hotel in Paris
#3 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#36 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Paris 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mandarin Oriental, Paris has a premier location on Rue Saint-Honore, surrounded by history and fashionable shopping. The hotel's 99 luxurious rooms and 39 suites offer guests an eminently stylish Parisian experience, and are among the most spacious in Paris. An inner courtyard camellia garden provides outdoor dining and is a peaceful oasis in the city. Other dining choices, include the two-Michelin star signature restaurant, Sur Mesure par Thierry Marx, Camelia, The Cake Shop and Bar 8, all under Executive Chef and Culinary Director Thierry Marx. The Spa at Mandarin Oriental, Paris brings relaxation in a peaceful, modern setting, and an indoor pool and a fully-equipped fitness centre complete the hotel's leisure facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Otel and getaroom.com so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Paris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Paris Hotel Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mandarin Oriental, Paris, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.