We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best hotels in Paris” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mandarin Oriental, Paris

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Mandarin Oriental, Paris to your Saves list
Mandarin Oriental, Paris
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   251 Rue Saint-Honore, 75001 Paris, France (Louvre / Palais-Royal)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 1,788 Hotels in Paris
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“One of the best hotels in Paris”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Location in the heart of Paris - it's one of the main reasons for choosing this hotel. Highly skilled, courteous staff. Great, clean, comfortable rooms. Here are all you need for a great stay in Paris! I recommend this hotel. He left the best impression.

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOPAR_11, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Mandarin Oriental, Paris, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Danila,

It is such a great pleasure to read that your stay at Mandarin Oriental, Paris gave you full satisfaction.

Thank you for letting us know of your experience, we appreciate your feedback and your time.

We hope that your visit will be soon followed by a new one.

With kind regards,

Judith Kalfa
Sales & Marketing Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

702 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    598
    65
    20
    10
    9
See reviews for
107
319
39
124
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

In a five star hotel one can expect to deal with professional staff and to have luxurious experience but it was quite different with us ( me and my husband). After spending money in a five star hotel we just socked. Finally, from my end, there is something missing in everything to make it a five start.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOPAR_11, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Mandarin Oriental, Paris, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Mandarin Oriental, Paris last October.

We are disappointed to read that your experience among us did not meet your expectations. We always take into consideration our valued guests' feedback and would have appreciated to hear your comments in details.

If you feel like reaching out to talk about the matter further, please do not hesitate to contact our management.

With kind regards,

Judith Kalfa
Sales & Marketing Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

A very expensive hotel by any standards but with service to match. Staff are exceedingly polite and helpful. We booked a small suite with balcony overlooking the street below. The room was spotlessly clean and well presented. Plenty of towels and bathrobes etc, and they don't skimp on the consumables. It had two large B and O televisions and even one in the bathroom, but it was hard to see from the bath because of its badly thought out position.

We had booked a romantic break package that included €200 towards spa treatment or restaurants. As we used neither, they deducted the same amount from our final bill. Anything from the minibar is priced to make your eyes water. We were given a large bowl of fruit on arrival and it was topped up on day two.

We had drinks in the bar and some average tapas which came to over €100 and I have to say the atmosphere in the bar is kind of weird. We didn't find it very conducive to a relaxing night out, and the seats are not very comfortable. The bartenders mix a mean cocktail however.

The location is about as central as you can get, being in the 1st Arrondisment, and is in the same street as numerous fashion house shops like Tom Ford and Jimmy Choos.

Highly recommended if you don't mind paying top dollar once in a while for outstanding service.

Room Tip: Asked for a quiet room and got one- a suite on the fifth floor room 514 to be exact.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOPAR_11, Directeur général at Mandarin Oriental, Paris, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for this thorough review of your recent stay at Mandarin Oriental, Paris.

It is a shame that you were not able to make the best of your evening at Bar 8 as we designed it as a chic and intimate retreat from hectic Rue Saint Honore. May I suggest you try a table on our bar’s terrace upon a next visit; it is a must during the warmer months.

It seems, however, that you enjoyed the overall experience and that our property met your expectations and we greatly appreciate your feedback.

I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon for an even better experience. Do let me know.

With kind regards and thanks again,

Philippe Leboeuf
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hong kong
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

MO paris is a luxury hotel, but it provided poor service. my american express centurion card agent booked the hotel for me. The room is very nice. i tried to call the room service at night, the lady picked up the phone and told me she is busy and will call me back, but i waited for more than 5mins, nobody called back. As a five star luxury hotel, this kind of service is not acceptable. i will think again if i will stay with MO hotel next time.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Nothing much to criticize about MOPAR; except that it never really evoked any emotions. Maybe it is the building which is somewhat dull - functional and slightly dull with its light walls and brownish window frames. Maybe it is just the price tag (approx. 1,100 EUROs per night for a mandarin room). Maybe it was the fact that it is not very Parisien. It is MO - more or less the same wherever you go. Which is generally more than fine - maybe just not in Paris. The pool area is fantastic, the breakfast likewise and the beds and linens too. As you would expect. People are nice and curteous (but also a bit formal at times with the mannered two handed deliveries coming across quite awkward for a European). I cannot really figure out what this place misses, but for me it is definitely something.

Minor observations

1. Bathrooms are really small.

2. The B&W docking station/loudspeaker is exceptional

3. Wooden panles/doors were scratched and looked unattended to



4. The scent of perfume is a bit overwhelming at times

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOPAR_11, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Mandarin Oriental, Paris, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all, thank you for reviewing your recent stay at our property on TripAdvisor.

Mandarin Oriental, Paris stands in a 1930s Paris listed building in Rue Saint Honore, nearby many world’s most exclusive fashion houses and city landmarks such as Place Vendome, the Garnier Opera, the Tuileries Gardens and the Louvre Museum.

Our property was designed with the modernity and the rich creativity of the 1930s and the Art Deco in mind. It also took inspiration from the blooming Parisian “maisons de Haute Couture” that had their ateliers and boutiques in the same area.

We have well noted your comments and will pass them among our staff and management.

We hope that another visit of our property will enable you to experience the core of Mandarin Oriental, Paris’ identity at the crossing of Parisian elegance and Asian refinement.

With kind regards,

Judith Kalfa
Sales & Marketing Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Location is an absolute winner for this hotel! If you are going for an endless lavish shopping trip in the heart of Paris, you wouldn't want to stay anywhere else but here!

Service was warm and pleasant. Guest relation officer greeted us on the elevator and handed in her card for us to call if we ever needed anything.

Room was great, it was very spacious and bath amenities from diptyque was lovely!

Camelia restaurant was great for breakfast. Food selection was at a 5 star hotel standard. A la carte egg order did take a while to come but everything else was good.

Overall it was a great stay and another great MO experience!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOPAR_11, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Mandarin Oriental, Paris, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear client,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Mandarin Oriental, Paris. We truly appreciate your time.

We are delighted that you made the most of our unique location and that your overall experience met your expectations.

Our valued guests’ comments are critical to us and we will share our feedback with our whole staff.

We hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,

Judith Kalfa
Sales & Marketing Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This hotel really gave us the good feeling as it was our own apartment in Paris.
The included spa is super, the spa menu is rather expensive for the given quality.
The staff is very good, takes care of you and gives a great home coming feeling.
For our first "Mandarin" experience we already decided o come back here.
In one off the nieces parts of Paris and in a very good location.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOPAR_11, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Mandarin Oriental, Paris, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear guest,

What a great pleasure it is for us to read that you felt at home at our property. This is a precious compliment that will be extended to our all staff.

Thank you so much for taking the time you leave us your comments on your recent stay, we look forward to your next visit.

With kind regards,

Judith Kalfa
Sales & Marketing Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Paris

Address: 251 Rue Saint-Honore, 75001 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Louvre / Palais-Royal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Paris
#6 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#8 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#16 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Paris 5*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mandarin Oriental, Paris has a premier location on Rue Saint-Honore, surrounded by history and fashionable shopping. The hotel's 99 luxurious rooms and 39 suites offer guests an eminently stylish Parisian experience, and are among the most spacious in Paris. An inner courtyard camellia garden provides outdoor dining and is a peaceful oasis in the city. Other dining choices, include the two-Michelin star signature restaurant, Sur Mesure par Thierry Marx, Camelia, The Cake Shop and Bar 8, all under Executive Chef and Culinary Director Thierry Marx. The Spa at Mandarin Oriental, Paris brings relaxation in a peaceful, modern setting, and an indoor pool and a fully-equipped fitness centre complete the hotel's leisure facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Mandarin Oriental, Booking.com, Orbitz, Venere, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Paris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Paris Hotel Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mandarin Oriental, Paris, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.