We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An interesting experience !” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Aux Villes du Nord

Aux Villes du Nord
23 Rue De Dunkerque, 75010 Paris, France (Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord)
01 45 26 31 55
Improve this listing
Ranked #11,143 of 13,870 Restaurants in Paris
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Neighborhood: Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“An interesting experience !”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

This restaurant, facing the main entrance of the Gare diu Nord seems to be run by mainly Asian staff, pleasant and friendly and some are multilingual. The food we ordered was well cooked and wholesome, though we could see that our soup was left waiting for some long while on the kitchen hatch by the other staff as 'our waiter' was busy elsewhere. The main course portions were generous and delicious, and the wine reasonably priced for Paris.
Interestingly, during our meal what looked like the owner (Caucasian) spent a very long time at the back half of the dining area meticulously cleaning the lattice backs of the chairs, and by the time we had finished eating was dusting some shelves etc near to us !! Also, two large (presumably empty) wheelie rubbish bins were brought through the dining area and down the stairs to the cellar. Whilst amusing at the time, this is not a good way to run a restaurant. A pity as the food and serving staff were good, and the meal reasonably priced for Paris.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    12
    18
    2
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“homely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Opposite the train station. Pork Knuckle & Mussels are superb.The food is value for money. Friendly , protective and homely.
I am their regular customer.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The worst food ever”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Friday evening (May 24), I visited this restuarant and ordered a mussel dish (11.9 Euro). With this price, you could expect a kind of edible mussel. However, the mussel offered was the worst and even it would not be given to a dog. It was a complete rip-off. I told the manager that they should be very much ashamed of the quality of the food they are selling. This type of restaurant should be closed but too many innocent tourists or visitors are being forced to pay a very dear price for this type of shameless restaurant. No-go zone forever!!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fresh and fast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I went here on my first evening in Paris. The food was great and service pleasant as well. Food is also well priced making it highly likely that i will return again soon!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, UK
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We had a quick lunch from the EUR 11.80 menu here after arriving on the Eurostar. I had the chicken and frites, which was delicious and followed it up with a yummy chocolate mousse. Very simple food, but well cooked and tasty.

Friendly staff and a lovely place to sit and watch the world go by.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aux Villes du Nord also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Aux Villes du Nord? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aux Villes du Nord, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.