We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant but pricey” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Burgundy Hotel

Save Saved
You added Burgundy Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Burgundy Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6-8 Rue Duphot | 1st Arr., 75001 Paris, France (Louvre / Place Vendôme)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #116 of 1,796 hotels in Paris
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Pleasant but pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

This is a lovely hotel and the staff couldn't be more helpful. My only problem is the price of everything. Yes, there are lot's of little extras that make this a lovley place to stay but it's still eyewateringly expensive. Having said that, I have stayed in some pretty mediocre places in Paris so was this was a real treat. Money no object - stay here. Great room, great location, great restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    223
    66
    21
    7
    1
See reviews for
42
179
20
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

What we liked:
Great location and on a small street so it's not over crowded.
The Bellhop and the Concierge were great.
Friendly staff.
Our room had windows that open to the courtyard.
Room service and requests were delivered promptly.

What we highly disliked:
The smell of the hotel.
Smells are very personal. It's one thing to burn scented candles once in a while but they were trying to sell their products so the candles were on 24/7 in all the public spaces. The hotel reeked of sweet perfume that was very unpleasant. Luckily, we had a room with windows that open.

The breakfast.
We got a deluxe room with a continental breakfast package. The food was not exactly what I expected. You might think that for 30 Euros EACH! We would get more than a pastry basket (with 2 croissants, 2 danishes, 2 rolls), Juice and coffee. And it's the same thing everyday- we were there for 5 days! I think it was the biggest breakfast ripe off ! We were at the St. Regis in Florence before we arrived to Paris and the breakfast package at the St. Regis (for the same price) was exceptional!

To add insult to injury, breakfast service was very poor. On some days there were a lot of staff but still very slow service and on other days little staff and even worse service.

The public spaces were not very inviting-- looks great for photographs but it's not a place you want hang out and have a drink. Think Hotel Costes--ahhhhh! Beautiful and inviting to hang out there.

To sum it up:
We stayed at this hotel based on the reviews from TripAdvisor—we typically stay at The Ritz, St. Regis, Four Seasons when we travel- Someone wrote that "Le Burgundy is a 5 Star hotel but on a smaller and more intimate scale." Don't believe it! We will stay somewhere else on our next trip to Paris- The Ritz down the street. At 680 Euros a night, I expected everything to be at least very good or excellent.

Room Tip: We like our room NO. 406. Quiet and the windows open. Decent size with a small bathroom. The size is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

It was all my wife's fault !! she trusted me to book the right dates for our stay in Paris. The first I knew I'd got thew wrong dates was when the hotel emailed me and charged me for a no show. I promptly phoned up explained my mistake expecting to be charged for the past day but there was not a problem they changed my original booking to the correct dates and credited me the cancellation charge they had charged for my mistake. Good to find people who are helpful and friendly. And the hotel. Just perfect! Thank You to all the staff at the Burgundy.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

This great hotel is in the heart of Paris.Its just off Rue St Honore and walking distance to Place de la Concorde,the Louvre etc - a perfect place to stay for a short break and comfortably get around all that Paris has to offer.
The hotel itself is smart.Cool and yet a warm and friendly service.
Its got a great lap pool and spa,a cool bar and its the nicest smelling hotel we have ever stayed at
- i think they must have had their own scent made up to permeate through the whole place!
If you can afford to treat yourself then you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Based on trip advisor, we booked a room for our one night on our return to the US. You are greeted by door men reception as well as a lady near the bar and restaurant. A very chic hotel with all the modern amenities. Even in our Classic room, which was small, the space was functional, modern and beautiful. We enjoyed dinner in the atrium restaurant after having a cocktail in the bar...service was excellent from start to finish. (Be prepared for sticker shock, but its Paris) The location couldn't be better in the chicest part of town. It is our new "go to" hotel for Paris...tres special.

Room Tip: Book on bookings.com for a great rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome , Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

This was our first visit to this place and it was really an experience to remember. The hotel is wonderful in all aspects. Building is exceptionally clean and nicely decorated. The reception was heartwarming. Staff is very co-operative and rooms are well-designed. Location is perfect and the restaurant, pool, spa, etc were great. Breakfast was good and included a number of healthy options too. I would love to recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Serres, Greece
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

The hotel offered us an extremely pleasant experience..
The staff were very kind and helpful, the room was clean and we had everything we asked on time. We also enjoyed a relaxing visit to the pool every evening.
The location of the hotel is very convenient as well.

Room Tip: The junior suite was very comfortable for a couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Burgundy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burgundy Hotel

Address: 6-8 Rue Duphot | 1st Arr., 75001 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Louvre / Place Vendôme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #116 of 1,796 hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Burgundy Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Burgundy is located in central Paris, just 50 metres from Rue Saint-Honoré and its chic boutiques. It offers luxury accommodation with elegant rooms and a Spa & Wellness Centre.Each of the spacious rooms and suites is equipped with air conditioning, flat-screen TV with satellite channels, an iPod dock and free Wi-Fi access.Michelin Star restaurant, Le Baudelaire, is open for lunch and dinner serving contemporary French cuisine. Guests can also sample home-made patisseries in the winter garden or enjoy a drink in the hotel bar.Le Spa Burgundy in partnership with Carita offers its guests free use of the facilities, including an indoor swimming pool, fitness room and Hammam.The famous Champs Elysées is just 300 metres away. Le Jardin de Tuileries and Opera Garnier are in close proximity and easily accessible by foot or Metro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your Burgundy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Burgundy Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.