We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Burgundy Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Burgundy Hotel to your Saves list
Burgundy Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6-8 Rue Duphot | 1st Arr., 75001 Paris, France (Louvre / Place Vendôme)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #105 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
No. California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“One of the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

My husband, 4 year-old daughter and I stayed 4 nights in the Apartment (one BR suite with our own terrace.) Burgundy is, so far, our favorite hotel in Paris. We have stayed at FS George V, Shangri-La, and Hotel de Crillon.

What we liked about our room:
1) My daughter got her own little bathrobe and little slippers. And a "B" teddy bear on her little bed in the sitting room.
2) We can see the blinking lights on the Eiffel Tower (top half anyway) every night at 10 and 11.
3) Massive bathtub with window to the terrace, immaculately clean and beautiful bathroom.
4) The bedroom was so quiet and bed was so comfortable I slept 7 hours straight our first night in Paris, which was pretty rare considering time-zone adjustment.

What we like about the hotel:
1) Everyone was courteous, professional and friendly to us, especially our daughter, which I find is not the norm in other 5-star hotels.
2) We had brunch and also dinner in Le Restaurant and couldn't find any fault with service or quality of the food. They didn't have a children's menu so the friendly and helpful server said the chef will prepare roasted chicken with pasta just for mademoiselle. The chicken was so delicious my daughter declared it was the best chicken she has ever eaten in her life! I agreed and tried to sneak some onto my plate. (The next day she had roasted chicken at a Christian Constant cafe and also declared it was the best, and I also had to agree.)
3) I needed a pedicure and the concierge suggested a "wonderful salon" around the corner and he called them to say that I was heading over in 5 minutes. The salon was full and very busy but the manager sat me down, "would madam prefer champagne or water", and a nail technician showed up in 10 minutes and gave me a great pedicure.
4) Great location - read dpvathens review.
5) The hotel decor is beautiful in an modern artsy way which I like.

I did notice the scented candles in the lobby area that you can smell 5 feet outside the front entrance. Luckily we were not bothered by it but I can understand how that might be a problem for some.

I would definitely stay there again. Everything was expensive but, however, you do get what you pay for. Happy travel!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    71
    22
    8
    2
See reviews for
46
204
22
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed in 3 different hotels in Paris for our honeymoon. The Burgundy Hotel, was just excellent all round. Superb staff, very good cognac bar, beautiful room with our own terrace, great location and very well kept hotel throughout. We loved the pool facilities and spa, however the spa is extremely expensive. Drinks in the bar also very expensive. Aside for the cost otherwise a great stay

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayd at Burgundy second time. It was family trip and it was 10 of us. The hotel is very quiet and beautiful. The location is perfect. It is easy to walk to the metro station or go shopping. Breakfast is good. Rooms are good size and beautifiul decor. The only thing was that the cleaning stuff statred makeing noices already 6.30 in the morning. The pool area was beautiful and the ok size.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Perfect boutique hotel, can't get better location. Centrally located but perfectly quiet and tranquil inside. Walked to Louvre, Opera, Madelaine, Faubourg St Honore shopping, Concorde, Vendome..even to the Marais and back on Sunday a.m.! Lovely, helpful staff. Concierge was spot on with recommendations for restaurants. My husband and I had the suite room 510 and it was perfect. Just like the photos here. The spa was great for a relaxing swim/sauna at the end of a long day. I know Paris well and would definitely go back to the Burgundy to stay. Breakfast was good, catered to all tastes, but a little pricey for the selection, although all excellent quality. Go for the friendly, professional staff, the location, the spa, and for the feel of a smaller, cozier hotel.

Room Tip: Super quiet was 5 th floor rooms with courtyard windows. Suite 510 specifically, but also others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed here in early summer 2012. We drove to the Hotel after a wine tasting trip in Burgundy. Pulled up outside the hotel and were immediately impressed with the attentive door staff who took my car away and parked it and delivered our baggage to our rooms..

The hotel is decorated well and the rooms are nice. Not huge rooms but how long are you likely to stay in them when you have Paris to explore?

We didn't eat in the restaurant except for breakfast (which was great), but the menu did look good.

We will definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Headline: Beautiful, well located five star boutique hotel in Paris, with modern styling, very nice rooms, a lovely and an outstanding restaurant & chef (with recent Michelin star).

Our Stay: As part of our last leg of 10th Anniversary trip to the Amalfi Coast and Paris, we booked a couple nights in Le Burgundy, Paris.

The Hotel: Luxury (5 star) boutique hotel, located on a small, quiet street near beautiful old church, just off the Champs-Elysées and a block from the Madeleine-Opera "Golden Triangle". Modern, very stylish decor. Beautiful lobby w/ pianist, winter garden and patio. Modern, gorgeous and immaculate rooms, looking out into courtyard. Very nice (see our pics of room on TripAdvisor). Not inexpensive, but well priced for the quality you receive. See their Web site at www.leburgundy.com.

The Restaurant: The real find though was the restaurant, Le Baudelaire, which had been awarded a star at the Michelin red guide 2011. We cancelled our return visit to Jules Verne to dine there - and easily one of the best, most memorable meals in recent memory - our selection being a tasting menu (incl sweetbreads), with each course excellently prepared, beautifully presented and beyond delicious. Recommended wines were great parings with food. The dessert was a delicate lattice work of chocolate in the shape of a hollow sphere say eight inches in diameter, with confections in its center that “snapped and popped' when warm chocolate was poured over. A show-stopper dessert and wonderful way to conclude the meal. When all said and done, this is perhaps our new favorite Paris restaurant.

Verdict: Lovely boutique hotel and a fantastic restaurant & chef – both or either highly reco'd.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I treated my husband to a weekend break here to celebrate his 65th birthday. The staff on our arrival were excellent, very welcoming and helpful and most spoke very good English. The doormen and reception staff even remembered our names throughout the stay, which I thought was quite amazing. We stayed in a classic room on the 4th floor and though it was quite compact we had no complaints. The decoration and standard of fixtures and fittings were very high. The only faults were that the TV didn't have any English speaking channels and there were no tea making facilities. The bed was the most comfortable I have ever slept in and the room, which faced a side street was amazingly quiet for the centre of Paris, even though the hotel was full we hardly heard any noise from other guests at all. The location was fantastic, within walking distance to many of the main tourist sites, in fact we walked everywhere and didn't use the Metro at all. The Eiffel Tower was probably 35 minutes, The Louvre 15 minutes, Champs Elysees 10 minutes and Notre Dame 25 minutes. We ate in the restaurant on my husband's birthday and couldn't fault the food, the service or ambience. The steak was fabulous. Breakfast was a selection of fruit, cereal, cold meats and croissants and pastries and was ample for continental. Our stay at this hotel was most memorable, the staff even left a little birthday cake for my husband's birthday. We didn't get the opportunity to use the spa but we had a look at the pool and it certainly looked very inviting. This really is an individual small luxury hotel with a personal touch and I wouldn't hesitate to return if visiting Paris again. It isn't cheap but taking into consideration the service and location I think you get what you pay for!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Burgundy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burgundy Hotel

Address: 6-8 Rue Duphot | 1st Arr., 75001 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Louvre / Place Vendôme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Burgundy Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Burgundy is located in central Paris, just 50 metres from Rue Saint-Honoré and its chic boutiques. It offers luxury accommodation with elegant rooms and a Spa & Wellness Centre.Each of the spacious rooms and suites is equipped with air conditioning, flat-screen TV with satellite channels, an iPod dock and free Wi-Fi access.Michelin Star restaurant, Le Baudelaire, is open for lunch and dinner serving contemporary French cuisine. Guests can also sample home-made patisseries in the winter garden or enjoy a drink in the hotel bar.Le Spa Burgundy in partnership with Carita offers its guests free use of the facilities, including an indoor swimming pool, fitness room and Hammam.The famous Champs Elysées is just 300 metres away. Le Jardin de Tuileries and Opera Garnier are in close proximity and easily accessible by foot or Metro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Burgundy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Burgundy Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.