We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Burgundy Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Burgundy Hotel to your Saves list
Burgundy Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6-8 Rue Duphot | 1st Arr., 75001 Paris, France (Louvre / Place Vendôme)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #101 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
“Excellent Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Le Burgundy is a marvelous hotel in a great location. It's staff are very professional and responsive to every request. The rooms are beautifully appointed and the housekeeping is superb. The Spa, pool, and fitness center were special features and uncommon in their quality and elegance.

Le Burgundy is a gem and deserves high marks on every dimension.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    69
    22
    8
    2
See reviews for
45
203
22
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Booked the Burgundy based on tripadvisor reviews and after looking at the Hotel Website. We were staying in Paris for a couple of days before heading to the London Olympics. We booked a junior suite.
Overall we loved the Burgundy. The room, although not ready when we arrived at 12.00, even though we had advised them of our arrival time, was lovely and very tastefully decorated. The room consists of a bedroom with sliding doors to a small sitting area. The bathroom was large and luxuriously fitted and a big improvement on most small Paris hotels.
The staff at the hotel were very friendly and helpful and the location, just moments from the Jardin de Tuilleries and Place Madeline, was perfect.

We would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

After some disappointments with faded-glory hotels in Paris, my wife and I chose the greatly revamped Le Burgundy for its central location in Rue Duphot, between the Madeleine and the Rue St Honoré shopping strip, and its new décor. We were not disappointed on either score.

On arrival, they were numerous immaculately attired front-of-house staff to deal with the baggage and check-in process. They were all friendly and helpful. The public areas are faultlessly presented, and include a one-star restaurant (buffet breakfast €38) and an elegant pool and spa in the basement. The attention to detail in presentation is exemplary. Response to any requests was immediate. One of the two elevators was out of action throughout our two-day stay, leading to some congestion at peak times.

Our room #110 faced an internal atrium, and had adequate natural light. It was super-quiet. The excellent bed, furnishings and linen were spotless, and Bulgari toiletries added to the luxury feel of the place. There was no mirror of any sort in the bedroom, let alone full-length, a surprising omission given the likely patronage from customers of the nearby fashion shops. There was only an above-basin mirror in the bathroom, and just a shaver outlet there (a local law?). Accordingly the hairdryer was fitted with a 4-metre long cord to run through from a power point in the bedroom!

Our experience at this high quality hotel was tarnished by the small size of our room. We had specifically selected a Superior room as the website promised 29 m², paying €568 (room only) or some 20% more than a Classic room. Our booking was acknowledged as Superior when we checked in. The clerk told us it was one of his favourite rooms. The bedroom and bathroom, measuring 17m² and 4.4m² respectively, did indeed have a king-size bed and full bath, but including 2.2 m² of unusable entry corridor the total area was only 23.6 m², not even the claimed 24 m² of the much cheaper Classic room. This is a serious misrepresentation on the hotel's website. Moreover, the only clothes hanging space measured a mere 40 cm long. Thus we were unable to unpack our cases fully, adding to the cramped feeling of the undersized area.

Other than being misled on the room size, we enjoyed our stay in this well located and well staffed if expensive hotel.

Room Tip: Internal rooms are quiet, but confirm room size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We stayed here for work with a few guests and also had a group dinner at Le Baudelaire. The hotel was amazingly helpful organizing the event to our taste in the weeks before our arrival. E-mails were answered quickly (which is not often the case when it regards hotels) and the staff was very professional.

When arriving at the hotel, again there was a warm welcome and a smooth check-in. They really understand service here with your car being parked for you and your luggage being transferred to a trolly so fast that it's out of the car before you are.
The room was just amazing. Completely sound-proof, spacious, great decor, perfect bathroom, everything just perfect. I love the button for privacy instead of having to hang something on the door.

Dinner was very well arranged with a beautiful semi-private room next to the patio. It made our group feel very special.

The next morning however, me and my husband only made it just in time for breakfast. One of the staff members told us we were too late (even though we were not) but she still let us through since our guests were all having breakfast and she allowed us to join them. The waiter however , who was obviously displeased with us being allowed by his colleague to still join the group, felt the need to make a fuss about it up to three times and talked to us like we were naughty children in front of our guests! He finally stopped when my husband showed him the time on his watch.

Breakfast was brilliant though, with an amazing selection of delicacies.

Our guests were very pleased with their stay even though 2 of the invited couples had been woken up (twice!) by housekeeping entering while they were still sleeping.

The nice gentleman at check-out apologized in a very decent way when we told him about the things that went wrong and he was kind enough to give us a small reduction of our bill by discarding a lunch I had used in the room.

Overall, a very perfect hotel with some staff members in need of a bit more hospitality training. Luckily other staff members compensate for it with their professional attitude and kindness so I'd still consider coming back. The service they offer is amazing in comparison with some very expensive hotels in Paris in which you get none.

Room Tip: We stayed in a junior suite which was spacious, comfortable and beautiful
See more room tips
Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santiago
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

I stay here with my husband and 6 month old baby for a few days, it was AMAZING. The hotel is really nice, the decor modern young and french. The service was top of the line, everyone was really nice. The room was of good size (we could fit the pack and play crib of our baby). Breakfast nice! And the location wow! totally recomend this hotel!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Neck, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

I love the location and the staff of this charming boutique hotel. We stayed here on our second trip to Paris and enjoyed it more than our previous stay at the Plaza A... It is around the corner from Chanel's original store on Rue Cambon and the great shopping on Rue St Honorae. It is only a short stroll to the Louvre, the Seine, and numerous other popular Paris attractions. The staff is so friendly yet very professional. When we stayed here last year, we were fortunate to be upgraded to a lovely suite. This year our room was a little small but still charming. It is a good value, and we would definitely recommend it to anyone who does not want to pay the rates of the Plaza A or George V.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

My husband and I traveled to London and Paris for our 5 year wedding anniversary. We have stayed in a fair number of 4 to 5 star hotels over the years, and Le Burgundy was one of our favorites! From the moment we arrived we received excellent care. The young man who handled our registration was extremely courteous and very happy to switch back and forth between English and French as we needed. He personally escorted us to our room and showed us how to use all of the amenities. The room was lovely and even though we were close to the elevator, it was extremely quiet. We never even heard another guest! The Concierge, Francois, provided us with a map that he marked with all of the attractions we wanted to see. He provided insight about the best places to grab a quick breakfast and where to buy the finest macarons to bring back as gifts. Housekeeping attended to our room twice a day, leaving us a weather forecast for the following day.

The doorman provided weather reminders in the morning when we left for a day of shopping and offered me an umbrella in case I had neglected to pack one. He even provided some advice for how to avoid missing our train even though we were departing for it very late!

I am gushing, but I must say that Le Burgundy was one of the highlights of our European vacation. My husband and I do not typically repeat hotels so that we can get a variety of experience, but I would most certainly repeat Le Burgundy!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Burgundy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burgundy Hotel

Address: 6-8 Rue Duphot | 1st Arr., 75001 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Louvre / Place Vendôme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Burgundy Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Burgundy is located in central Paris, just 50 metres from Rue Saint-Honoré and its chic boutiques. It offers luxury accommodation with elegant rooms and a Spa & Wellness Centre.Each of the spacious rooms and suites is equipped with air conditioning, flat-screen TV with satellite channels, an iPod dock and free Wi-Fi access.Michelin Star restaurant, Le Baudelaire, is open for lunch and dinner serving contemporary French cuisine. Guests can also sample home-made patisseries in the winter garden or enjoy a drink in the hotel bar.Le Spa Burgundy in partnership with Carita offers its guests free use of the facilities, including an indoor swimming pool, fitness room and Hammam.The famous Champs Elysées is just 300 metres away. Le Jardin de Tuileries and Opera Garnier are in close proximity and easily accessible by foot or Metro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Venere, Odigeo, Otel, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Burgundy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Burgundy Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.