We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Parisian chic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Burgundy Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Burgundy Hotel to your Saves list
Burgundy Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6-8 Rue Duphot | 1st Arr., 75001 Paris, France (Louvre / Place Vendôme)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #103 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Brisbane
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Parisian chic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

For a week last month my partner and I lapped up the outstanding service, beautiful contemporary decor, perfect concierge advice and explored the best Paris had to offer from this centrally located boutique hotel.
Our spacious and quiet room was furnished with beautiful chic decor, had a big bathroom with lovely products and a mini bar stocked with luxury items (with Champs Elysees' prices!). This hotel gets big ticks for the no extra charges for wifi and complimentary Evian water provided each day. One of my pet hates though was the shower that leaked badly (why is this so common in five star hotels?).
Concierge was our best friend. With Francois and Benjamin's outstanding help, our visit to Paris was made so much easier. They were happy to book restaurants for us even before we arrived. They managed to find us a table at one of the current 'hot' Paris restaurants - our friends were very envious - normally you need to book months in advance (we later found out that they had called the restaurant every day for us to see if there had been any last minute cancellations... we were lucky).
The only minor (but frustrating) gripe I had was the confusion regarding the pricing for breakfast. It seemed so complicated. A basic continental breakfast (pastries and coffee) was included in our room rate, however when we decided to upgrade to the buffet the prices provided by staff were not consistent each day. The different costs were then reflected on our bill. We raised this when we checked out, which they sorted out promptly and without question.
All-in-all, this is a very classy boutique hotel and we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    70
    22
    8
    2
See reviews for
46
204
22
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

With all the glowing reviews of Le Burgundy here on Tripadvisor, I didn't really need to write one. However, I think it's important to give accolades when they are deserved. Le Burgundy definitely deserves all the words of praise. We stayed for 9 days in September and were thrilled with every aspect -- the stunning lobby, the friendly service, great concierge (they secured a perfect window table for us at Le Jules Verne in the Eiffel Tower) and a beautiful, spacious room (I had requested a particular color scheme via email and got it without reminding them!). The bed was extremely comfortable, the room was quiet and the pool/spa was a wonderful respite at the end of a day of walking non-stop. Like some others that have written reviews, I am really particular about hotels. Le Burgundy is a winner on all levels. I did all of my reservations/requests via email. It was a breeze...and all of their replies came very quickly (not always the case when dealing with overseas hotels). Continental breakfast was included in our room price so you might want to inquire about that… however, we ended up walking down the street to Laduree' some mornings for cafe' au lait and a croissant. Quintessential Paris!! Thanks Le Burgundy for making our Paris stay even more perfect!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

Was looking for a Luxury hotel in Paris for a reasonable price and was not disappointed. Impeccable service from all members of staff, very knowledgeable and helpful concierge. The bar and breakfast are expensive but this is to be expected. The pool really makes this place a gem and if I ever stay in Paris in the future then we will be sure to seek this place out again. Perfect for our Honeymoon. They were even able to get us into our room at 09:00 in the morning!
Try Kiwi Collection for a better rate that includes a basic breakfast and automatic room upgrade (subject to availability) - worth obtaining a Visa Platinum card for!

Room Tip: Kiwi Collection Get a Deluxe Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

This is now hands down my favourite hotel in Paris. It's small enough to feel intimate, very well located, wonderfully decorated, and the staff are the perfect mix of attentive and friendly. We had a lovely suite which was clean, spacious, and had great decor and a wonderful bathroom. While we didn't use the spa and pool facilities, we did take a peek around and they are gorgeous. The concierge was ever patient with my constantly changing requests and the management was quick to reverse a charge that we disputed. This really is an excellent hotel and we plan to return every time we travel to Paris.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Everything was perfect about this hotel and I can be picky. Can't think of anything that wasn't just wonderful. I was only there for a night and didn't want to leave. The location is perfect - in the heart of Place Vendome and the amazing shopping district. The staff are just amazing, professional and super friendly and they mean it. The room was beautiful. I didn't have a chance to try the restaurant which is highly acclaimed and a Michelin star I believe, but will do so next time. It's located on a quiet street so while in the heart of Paris and the night life is happening all around, you get a calm quiet feeling inside the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

We chose the Burgundy from Tripadvisor as it appeared to be in an ideal location and five star.
Q We looked at other hotels but we prefer smaller boutique hotels.It is within walking distance of all the major attractions in the next street to Chanel and off the Rue Honore.
Staff were exceptionally polite and helpful especially the Concierge Sebastien who arranged so much of our visit.We ate out at various restaurants in Rue Duphot and the nearby streets .
We were surprised that the Burgundy did not have a higher rating in Tripadvisor.Perhaps reviewers seek hotel chains?We would certainly recommend the hotel to five star travellers

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

Location location location doesn't come cheap in Paris. Ok it was a special treat after almost 7 weeks touring Europe but was it worth it? Barely. The rooms are very good by Paris standards. Prices in the bar were beyond reasonable. Be on the look at at breakfast. We tried to order carte to keep the cost down but got out smarted by a slick waiter who knew the ropes way better than us. The moment the tray of pastries were placed on the table just as we were seated your up for continental @ 34 euro each. The fact that we wanted one bowl of fruit added another 12 euro to the bill. Yogurt for one and you are now up for more than 80 euro. Gotcha! After some wonderful meals across France this last one left a nasty taste in our mouths. A shame as we enjoyed just about everything else about this hotel. Oh and check your final account as well. Ours listed a room rate 100 euro a night higher than the offer we had been offered when we booked online. Another shame! Sure the problem was corrected but we were left with an impression that the Burgundy is a cash cow and we were being milked. We return to Paris each year. Will we stay here next year? Maybe!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Burgundy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burgundy Hotel

Address: 6-8 Rue Duphot | 1st Arr., 75001 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Louvre / Place Vendôme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Burgundy Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Burgundy is located in central Paris, just 50 metres from Rue Saint-Honoré and its chic boutiques. It offers luxury accommodation with elegant rooms and a Spa & Wellness Centre.Each of the spacious rooms and suites is equipped with air conditioning, flat-screen TV with satellite channels, an iPod dock and free Wi-Fi access.Michelin Star restaurant, Le Baudelaire, is open for lunch and dinner serving contemporary French cuisine. Guests can also sample home-made patisseries in the winter garden or enjoy a drink in the hotel bar.Le Spa Burgundy in partnership with Carita offers its guests free use of the facilities, including an indoor swimming pool, fitness room and Hammam.The famous Champs Elysées is just 300 metres away. Le Jardin de Tuileries and Opera Garnier are in close proximity and easily accessible by foot or Metro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Burgundy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Burgundy Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.