We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic location for hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Dechampaigne

Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel Dechampaigne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel Dechampaigne
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17 rue Jean Lantier, 75001 Paris, France (Louvre / Place Vendôme)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Free room upgrade
Ranked #545 of 1,794 hotels in Paris
ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“fantastic location for hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

we stayed in this hotel early january upon our arrival a man greeted us and put us in a small room that was very red..have to say he was very unprofessional..it was late in the evening and we had booked a superior double room...the next morning we spoke to a female member of staff, who was brillant, and explained our situation to her she agreed we had been put in the wrong room... she brought us to the superior rooms and picked out a fantastic rustic room with old beams..we went out fro a few hours and when we came back there was a bottle of champagne and nibbles on a tray left on our bed as an apology...i would recommend this hotel, spotlessly clean, friendly, homely and you feel safe... 5 mins walk from all shops and close to train stations...the louvre and other tourist attractions..the staff were fantastic..extremely helpful and great english we will defintely be back and will recommend this to all our friends...we had a fantastic holiday..thank you to all the wonderful staff at Grand hotel dechampaigne

Room Tip: choose room 405
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    162
    193
    50
    18
    16
See reviews for
93
187
27
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Alnwick
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed in late November 2012 - great location,! Our room was small and bizarrely decorated with a beam running head height which was tricky to negotiate but everything forgiven because the restaurants in the area are top quality and the location is great for walking to most of the major tourist attractions. We paid extra for a balcony room which overlooked a scaffolded building being renovated - even so would definitely go back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

My family of 3 stayed in this Hotel in December 2013 in a triple room, one double bed and one single. Both beds and all pillows suited us fine. The rooms are not big but we did not mind as we only slept in the room. We were in the heart of Paris and you would not have known it. The staff were so friendly and assisted us in every way. Our bathroom was perfect and even had a bath. We may not of had a view but because the Hotel is tucked away in a back street off the main Rue De Rivoli it did not matter. Breakfast was great as we had enough to get us through the morning. Location is perfect....5 mins to Louvre, 8 mins to Notre Dame, 1 min to main street, easy walk to just about everything. Cross the bridge and catch a Batobus to the Tower; otherwise we could walk just about anywhere. Did I mention how friendly the staff were. We had to send an email for our Thalys Train Ticket to the office and they printed it out and had it waiting for us at reception. We could even leave our bags at reception before our departure at 2pm for the train at Garde de Nord. Easy subway system. Cheaper to catch the Met then a taxi to most destinations as the entry to the Met is only metres from the Hotel. Perfect place. Memorable and very quaint.

Room Tip: We chose a triple room for our family as we have a nine year old daughter. The rooms are all quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Stayed with a family (total of 4) in a quadruple room, with two sofa beds and one queen bed. The sofa beds were so uncomfortable that my teenage children had to put the sofa mattresses directly on the floor as the frames of the sofas were too uncomfortable to sleep on. The staff are reasonably friendly, although one staff member gave me incorrect information about Euro Disney, which finished up costing me more than it should have, nonetheless, the location of this Hotel is good, close to Metro and Rue de Rivoli. The foyer and breakfast area were nice and pleasant and the breakfast supplied was adequate, although for a similar price you get a lot more variety in nearby cafes (of which there are plenty), so give that some thought. The building is an older style hotel, in a back street off Rue de Rivoli and there is a supermarket just around the corner near the metro entrance. The back streets can seem a bit daunting at night, however apart from the odd french drunk relieving themselves in doorways, there were no safety issues. Our room was cosy enough and bathroom was quite large by french standards, but there was a lot of noise on occasion late at night or early morning from other tenants/guests or nearby residents (I couldnt work out which). Free wifi is a bonus. I dont think I will stay there again, but you have to experience different places to gain an appreciation of what is available as opposed to cost.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapelleaandenIjssel
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

This is a lovely hotel. Just of the busy roads in the centre of Paris. Staff is polite. Rooms are not big. As in Paris most rooms are very petite, the rooms in this hotel are not big but neither very small. Only the bathrooms are very small, only one person a time...
The location is great. Walking distance to the Seine, the Louvre, pont neuf and Ile the la cite with the Notre Dame. Also near a lot of metro stations.
For a meal go to 'Bords de Seine' on 1 Place du Chatelet. A typical french cafe restaurant.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan, TX
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Stayed here for four nights in early November. Had a balcony room (502, if I remember correctly), and a discounted rate for the time of year. (Note: I would recommend going for a balcony room). Overall we were happy with it, and we could have found it really great, but there were too many small points (all of them _easily_ fixable) that could have made it a much better stay.

First the good points:
- We picked this in large part due to location and were very happy with it. It is super close to a metro/RER stop (though getting to the RER part is a good hike through the underground station) - just around the corner. As others have mentioned, there's a supermarket and several close restaurants (though the only nearby one I ate at was McDonald's - I had a good reason...). It's right near a busy street, but is set back about a block and is actually a very quiet area (some might find it too quiet/deserted). The building across the street still had scaffolding, but no work was being done the days we were there, so it wasn't an issue. Easy walk to Notre Dame and the St. Michael's RER stop for the train to Versailles or to the Louvre in another direction. Reallly good base if you, like us, just have 2-3 days in Paris.
- The staff was friendly, everything was handled efficiently, etc. They printed off a couple of pages I needed printed one night for me.
- I liked that there were plenty of power outlets in convenient locations, and the wifi worked well.
- The rate with a discount was quite reasonable for Paris standards (though seem high compared to other places); not sure how I'd feel if I paid full price.
- The balcony was nice, though a bit cold for the time we were there, so we didn't spend much time on it. In general, I would recommend the balcony rooms, since I think they avoid some of the problems others have talked about, and the balcony was a nice feature. There's no privacy (but there are bars so that there's no security issue) between adjacent balconys, though.
- The room was small overall, but well-arranged, so that we had room for everything we needed. There was indeed a beam going through the middle of the room that I worried I would run into sometime, but never actually did, and it gave the room character.
- We thought the basic decor was nice.

Unfortunately, there were a lot of little things that could have been different that would have made us give it an unqualified support. I think most of these are easily fixable, and none are major things on their own, but collectively they made the experience less than it could have been.
- The room had a very odd smell to it most of the time when we'd come in. We'd get to where we didn't notice it after half an hour or so, but it was very odd, and we couldn't place it. Not totally unpleasant, but not nice, either. Maybe a cleaner-type smell of some sort?
- Cleaning the room could be better. Three examples:
--- One of the walls next to the bed had several stains on it: looked like small drops of blood or something. I don't know how easy it is to clean walls, and I know that's not a part of normal housekeeping, but it made the room have a dirtier feel than it probably really was.
--- Glasses and cups started out with paper underneath them in the bathroom and near the teapot. When a glass or cup we used was replaced, though, it was just set back down, rim down, on the countertop or tray. I know it seems small, but I don't like drinking from the surface that was set down on a bathroom counter - would it have been that hard to replace the paper circle?
--- The little shampoo/soap bottle from a previous occupant was in the shower area when we were there. Was not removed while we were there, even though it was obviously empty.
- The first night, the bed was turned-down while I was out at dinner, with the bedspread and stuff removed. That was nice (and I thought this might be a typical every-night thing, then). But, the bedspread was never put back on the bed - the sheets/blanket were just straightened (not sure if changed or not, but not a big deal) each day.. So, the room had a sort of picked-up but not-fully-put-back feel each day. My wife did not join me there until the second night, so she never got to see the room "decorated" as it were.
- Left us only one towel one day.
- The water heater (for tea/coffee) still had standing water in the bottom of it, so we didn't really feel like using it. I'd have felt better if it had looked as though it was cleaned/checked by the staff.
- The room temperature stayed plenty warm (it was fairly cold when we were there), but the bathroom would get very cold at night. Unlike the other minor items, I'm not sure they could do much about this.
- While we were there, someone decided early one morning to smoke in their room, setting off the fire alarm, and causing us to get dressed and go down 5 or 6 flights of stairs in a rush. I expect this is not common, and the hotel can't avoid stupid guests, but the staff could have handled it better once they knew what it was. Several of us were standing around confused, and it was not until I actually asked a staff member what was happening that he told me it was not an issue and we could go back to the room. It would have been easier had he made an announcement to everyone in the lobby or something.
- The bed had an odd wedge near the head. I'm not sure why this was. My wife liked it, but I found it hard to sleep with.

Like I said, none of the little things was a big deal on its own, but all together they made the stay less pleasant than it could have been. We would stay there again, but we'd be more enthusiastic if the little things were better addressed.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms seem worth the extra expense.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Extremely close to the Châtelet metro stop (within 50 meters), and Châtelet itself is very well located within the city. Location is a plus for this hotel. Very close by are some great restaurants and late night eats as well.

I describe the room as cozy, but this could also easily be redefined as romantic. Or very romantic, lots of red velvet everywhere. I was travelling with a friend, so this element was lost on us, but I did appreciate that the double bed was actually two beds pushed together, so made for a very good night's sleep. What didn't make for a good night's sleep was the noise of the next room, and that of people coming up the stairs just around the corner. Walls here are thin, and if you book, make sure to request not being near the stair well. If memory serves correctly, we stayed in room 109, avoid! Otherwise, room was great. WC separate from the bathroom was a nice touch, and everything else very well kept. Reception was also helpful and accommodating, storing our luggage for us with no charge on our final day. As a final point, they were quite prompt about the 12:00 check-out time.

Given the very reasonable price of our stay and location would I stay here again? Yes. Would I go out of my way to recommend it to friends? Probably not.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms near stairwells. Also avoid rooms that have windows looking into the central courtyard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Hotel Dechampaigne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Dechampaigne

Address: 17 rue Jean Lantier, 75001 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Louvre / Place Vendôme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#302 Family Hotel in Paris
#395 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Dechampaigne 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Dechampaigne Paris, built in the XVIth century, is the symbol of the French hospitality tradition, with delicate French decoration and architecture a refined service.Our staff will be pleased to welcome you in French, English, Spanish, Russian, Italian and German. The Grand Hotel Dechampaigne combines a high standard of comfort and the refined service of a friendly mansion within Paris: Few steps from, the Rivoli Street, les Halles, The Louvre Museum, Tuileries Garden, Concorde Square and Champs Elysees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Fastbooking, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Grand Hotel Dechampaigne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Dechampaigne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.