We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Dechampaigne

Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel Dechampaigne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel Dechampaigne
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17 rue Jean Lantier, 75001 Paris, France (Louvre / Place Vendôme)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Free room upgrade
Ranked #548 of 1,796 hotels in Paris
london
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great Location!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

This was our first stay at this hotel, we travel to Paris regularly and prefer to stay in Chatelet as it is very central and within walking distance of the Seine, Louvre, Marais and the Latin Quarter.

the hotel is tucked down a little side street. We were put on the top floor with a cute balcony. The room was the one from the website, reasonable size with an ok bathroom. heating was on high, so we had to open the window to cool the room a bit.
breakfast is buffet style and sufficient, but probably worth saving the € 13 and going to a cafe.
the walls were thin, so we heard the noisy children next door early on Sunday morning.
staff were friendly and helpful.
the bed was comfortable enough for a good nights sleep, once we removed the bolster that seems prevalent in old French hotels.
As with all Parisienne Hotels, this was not cheap, and in other cities it would be over priced for what it is, but it is Paris after all.
easy access to the Metro if walking is not your thing.

Room Tip: top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    164
    195
    50
    18
    16
See reviews for
95
187
28
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Telford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Third time staying around this area, second time at this hotel. Ideal for Notre Dame (we actually visited it this time), The Seine and the Louvre. Close by to Le Chatelet metro.

Samll room and small shower but it's only to sleep in. Clean and tidy and free wifi.

Hopefully the building across the way will be fully renovated by our next visit, yes we would use this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Well located, easy walking distance of Notre Dame, the Tuileries and Louvre. Very close to Le Chatelet metro. An old building down a dark side street. A quirky building but the room we stayed in was completely quiet and very very comfortable bed. Small rooms, as is usual in Paris and decor very fussy with that weird spongy flowery wallpaper. Staff were helpful. The air conditioning was not working. That coudl be a problem in high summer. Didn't pursue it because was only there for 1 night. Room and bathroom had windows that opened on to blind wells so very very low levels of natural light.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Great little hotel with location to explore Paris by metro & walk to the Louvre. We had room 502 balcony room for 1st x 2 nights & left our bags to travel out of Paris for a night. Came back to same room again & we are quite happy. A large timber beam through middle of room gives it "some character" which you must walk around. Large bathroom, fair size shower and tea & coffee facilities are an added bonus. Yes, there is construction across from our hotel, but it's not a big disturbance as you are out & exploring Paris. My 1st time to Paris & happy to stay here again.

Room Tip: Balcony room gives you some fresh air ; a cuppa in the morning out on the balcony is a bonus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montecito, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Based on some of the reviews my wife and I booked this hotel for a brief stay in June of 2012. After struggling to find the hotel due to huge construction literally across the narrow street -- which nobody mentioned would start at 7 in the morning and continue all day -- we finally arrived by taxi. A very surely staff member was standing outside smoking. He refused to help us with our luggage. We went inside, the manager was equally unhelpful. Finally a cheery gentleman came out to help--and it turns out he was a guest!

To describe the room as a red nightmare, someone's idea of an old French bordello, would be a disservice to bordellos everywhere. Dirty, cramped, we had to crawl OVER the bed to get to the disgusting bathroom.

We had a sleepless night, the construction sounds loud through the thin walls started at the crack of dawn. When we complained we were met with indifference. We finally found a hotel across town that would take us and checked out. As a final insult we were charged for the small bottle of water the manager had given us as we waited to see if she would help us out.

Run as far away from this place as your tired legs will take you/

Room Tip: My tip is BOOK ANOTHER HOTEL! Noisy dirty rooms, small elevator, your name it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Media, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

While planning our trip to Paris and Venice we used Tripadvisor extensively and that is how we came up with Grand Hotel Dechampaigne and we were not disappointed. The location was terrific- on the Right Bank- an easy walk to Notre Dame where you catch the Batobus (hop on hop off boat) and the night river tour of the Seine (http://www.bateauxparisiens.com/). You are a few blocks away from rue de Rivoli (where there is fabulous McDonald's) and from the metro stop. But, about the hotel- as you'd expect the rooms are small- but nice and clean. There is a small elevator that fits maybe 3 people without luggage. The concierges were very pleasant and very helpful every day - we were there for five nights. There was construction across the street- but we never noticed any noise. I recommend this hotel for your stay in Paris.

Room Tip: Our room was on the 2nd floor (ground is 0)- and we walked up and down the stairs all the time rathe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Cannot beat the location of this hotel, which is near Louvre, Notre Dame,Seine, Metro ...
Management staff is nice and accommodating. Just chat and ask for information. Did have the welcoming champagne drinks. Lift is small but hotel staff can help get your luggage to your room.
We chose a balcony room so we have a extra room to breath Paris air out of the small room.
We needed the adapter and got it from front desk easily. Breakfast is nothing to root about but convenient just in case you don't want the Parisian breakfast around every corners.
The construction is inconvenience and noisy during the day.

Room Tip: Ask for Balcony room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Dechampaigne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Dechampaigne

Address: 17 rue Jean Lantier, 75001 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Louvre / Place Vendôme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#284 Family Hotel in Paris
#407 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Dechampaigne 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Dechampaigne Paris, built in the XVIth century, is the symbol of the French hospitality tradition, with delicate French decoration and architecture a refined service.Our staff will be pleased to welcome you in French, English, Spanish, Russian, Italian and German. The Grand Hotel Dechampaigne combines a high standard of comfort and the refined service of a friendly mansion within Paris: Few steps from, the Rivoli Street, les Halles, The Louvre Museum, Tuileries Garden, Concorde Square and Champs Elysees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, Hotel.de, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Grand Hotel Dechampaigne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Dechampaigne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.