We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Hotel In Paris -- and perhaps the world” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Dechampaigne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel Dechampaigne to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Dechampaigne
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17 rue Jean Lantier, 75001 Paris, France (Louvre / Place Vendôme)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Free room upgrade
Ranked #482 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Montecito, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Worst Hotel In Paris -- and perhaps the world”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Based on some of the reviews my wife and I booked this hotel for a brief stay in June of 2012. After struggling to find the hotel due to huge construction literally across the narrow street -- which nobody mentioned would start at 7 in the morning and continue all day -- we finally arrived by taxi. A very surely staff member was standing outside smoking. He refused to help us with our luggage. We went inside, the manager was equally unhelpful. Finally a cheery gentleman came out to help--and it turns out he was a guest!

To describe the room as a red nightmare, someone's idea of an old French bordello, would be a disservice to bordellos everywhere. Dirty, cramped, we had to crawl OVER the bed to get to the disgusting bathroom.

We had a sleepless night, the construction sounds loud through the thin walls started at the crack of dawn. When we complained we were met with indifference. We finally found a hotel across town that would take us and checked out. As a final insult we were charged for the small bottle of water the manager had given us as we waited to see if she would help us out.

Run as far away from this place as your tired legs will take you/

Room Tip: My tip is BOOK ANOTHER HOTEL! Noisy dirty rooms, small elevator, your name it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    207
    50
    18
    16
See reviews for
98
198
28
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Media, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

While planning our trip to Paris and Venice we used Tripadvisor extensively and that is how we came up with Grand Hotel Dechampaigne and we were not disappointed. The location was terrific- on the Right Bank- an easy walk to Notre Dame where you catch the Batobus (hop on hop off boat) and the night river tour of the Seine (http://www.bateauxparisiens.com/). You are a few blocks away from rue de Rivoli (where there is fabulous McDonald's) and from the metro stop. But, about the hotel- as you'd expect the rooms are small- but nice and clean. There is a small elevator that fits maybe 3 people without luggage. The concierges were very pleasant and very helpful every day - we were there for five nights. There was construction across the street- but we never noticed any noise. I recommend this hotel for your stay in Paris.

Room Tip: Our room was on the 2nd floor (ground is 0)- and we walked up and down the stairs all the time rathe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Cannot beat the location of this hotel, which is near Louvre, Notre Dame,Seine, Metro ...
Management staff is nice and accommodating. Just chat and ask for information. Did have the welcoming champagne drinks. Lift is small but hotel staff can help get your luggage to your room.
We chose a balcony room so we have a extra room to breath Paris air out of the small room.
We needed the adapter and got it from front desk easily. Breakfast is nothing to root about but convenient just in case you don't want the Parisian breakfast around every corners.
The construction is inconvenience and noisy during the day.

Room Tip: Ask for Balcony room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simsbury, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

The location is terrific. Less than a 10 minute walk to Louvre and just a 5 minute walk to Notre Dame, Seine, and Latin Quarter. I would stay here again just based on the location. The front desk staff was very nice and helped us call some restaurants where we wanted a reservation, even insisting on giving looking up the location and giving us a map so we could find the place.It is VERY clost to a metro station. We had a very easy time getting there from the airport and getting around when we needed the metro, although we walked to many places. It is close to a shopping street. The room itself could have used a little bit of updating and the shower was so small we could barely move in it, but overall it was clean, quiet, and the bed was very comfortable. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

My friend and I stayed at the Grand Hotel Dechampaigne after a business trip in Germany. The location is fantastic. Less than a 10 minute walk to Louvre and just a 5 minute walk to Notre Dame, Seine, and Latin Quarter. I would stay here again just based on the location. The front desk managers were very nice and gave directions and restaurant advice when asked. Another huge perk is that there is a small convenience store just a few steps away and because I don't drink coffee was a huge bonus in getting Diet Coke or waters in the morning. The room itself could have used a little bit of updating, but overall it was clean, quiet, and a good place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012 via mobile

Although it took us an hour to find the hotel, this is in the best location of the city. It is a couple feet away from the metro station. It was close to Norte dame, the pompidou, Lourve museum, and many more. There are many delicious cafes with great breakfasts in the area. The service was nice, with the hotel managers easily accessible. The rooms were good enough with comfortable beds, flat screen televisions, and air condition. The hotel building is over 800 years old and is adorable. It is a classic French building in the heart of the city. I highly recommend it!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Indiana
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

This hotel is overall very good but do be careful to specify that you don't want the top floor unless you are able-bodied enough to carry your suitcases up one flight of winding stairs. The elevator, which is small, goes only to the next to last floor, so if you are at the top you must walk the final flight. Not too difficult usually but very challenging and somewhat dangerous with suitcases. Had help carrying them down for our checkout but no help offered upon check-in. The check-in desk clerk was generally unfriendly (arguing with another customer in front of us, for example) and indifferent. The room was fine for this price range in Paris. The location is great, except for the inconvenience of the current street closing. Upon checkout, they insisted on an extra 2-Euro charge for a tax, even though the room was prepaid. Not going to argue over 2 Euros, but still this left a sour taste.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alidalauf1607, Gérant at Grand Hotel Dechampaigne, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Dear Guest,
First of all, we would like to thank you for your guest comment.
We are surprised in reading our staff was indiferent, we take care of each one of the guests comming at the desk looking to make them feel like at home, we regret if you had a wrong feeling about the staff. We'll take this like a suggestion to be more carefull in the future.
The 2 euro requested upon departure are the local city tax (1 eur per person per day), wich is mandatory and is given to the public treasury each year, is never included in the price, is the same in all parisiens hotels.
Thank you for taking time in giving your feeling about your stay.
We'll be pleased to welcome you next time in Paris.
Best Regards,
Ms LAUFERON Owner
Ms Fernandez Front Desk Manager
Nicolas / Anna front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Dechampaigne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Dechampaigne

Address: 17 rue Jean Lantier, 75001 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Louvre / Place Vendôme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#282 Family Hotel in Paris
#377 Business Hotel in Paris
#480 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Dechampaigne 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Dechampaigne Paris, built in the XVIth century, is the symbol of the French hospitality tradition, with delicate French decoration and architecture a refined service.Our staff will be pleased to welcome you in French, English, Spanish, Russian, Italian and German. The Grand Hotel Dechampaigne combines a high standard of comfort and the refined service of a friendly mansion within Paris: Few steps from, the Rivoli Street, les Halles, The Louvre Museum, Tuileries Garden, Concorde Square and Champs Elysees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Fastbooking, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotel.de and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hotel Dechampaigne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Dechampaigne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.