We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location- great hotel in Paris!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Dechampaigne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel Dechampaigne to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Dechampaigne
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17 rue Jean Lantier, 75001 Paris, France (Louvre / Place Vendôme)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Free room upgrade
Ranked #494 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Media, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great location- great hotel in Paris!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

While planning our trip to Paris and Venice we used Tripadvisor extensively and that is how we came up with Grand Hotel Dechampaigne and we were not disappointed. The location was terrific- on the Right Bank- an easy walk to Notre Dame where you catch the Batobus (hop on hop off boat) and the night river tour of the Seine (http://www.bateauxparisiens.com/). You are a few blocks away from rue de Rivoli (where there is fabulous McDonald's) and from the metro stop. But, about the hotel- as you'd expect the rooms are small- but nice and clean. There is a small elevator that fits maybe 3 people without luggage. The concierges were very pleasant and very helpful every day - we were there for five nights. There was construction across the street- but we never noticed any noise. I recommend this hotel for your stay in Paris.

Room Tip: Our room was on the 2nd floor (ground is 0)- and we walked up and down the stairs all the time rathe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    200
    50
    18
    16
See reviews for
98
193
28
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Cannot beat the location of this hotel, which is near Louvre, Notre Dame,Seine, Metro ...
Management staff is nice and accommodating. Just chat and ask for information. Did have the welcoming champagne drinks. Lift is small but hotel staff can help get your luggage to your room.
We chose a balcony room so we have a extra room to breath Paris air out of the small room.
We needed the adapter and got it from front desk easily. Breakfast is nothing to root about but convenient just in case you don't want the Parisian breakfast around every corners.
The construction is inconvenience and noisy during the day.

Room Tip: Ask for Balcony room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simsbury, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

The location is terrific. Less than a 10 minute walk to Louvre and just a 5 minute walk to Notre Dame, Seine, and Latin Quarter. I would stay here again just based on the location. The front desk staff was very nice and helped us call some restaurants where we wanted a reservation, even insisting on giving looking up the location and giving us a map so we could find the place.It is VERY clost to a metro station. We had a very easy time getting there from the airport and getting around when we needed the metro, although we walked to many places. It is close to a shopping street. The room itself could have used a little bit of updating and the shower was so small we could barely move in it, but overall it was clean, quiet, and the bed was very comfortable. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

My friend and I stayed at the Grand Hotel Dechampaigne after a business trip in Germany. The location is fantastic. Less than a 10 minute walk to Louvre and just a 5 minute walk to Notre Dame, Seine, and Latin Quarter. I would stay here again just based on the location. The front desk managers were very nice and gave directions and restaurant advice when asked. Another huge perk is that there is a small convenience store just a few steps away and because I don't drink coffee was a huge bonus in getting Diet Coke or waters in the morning. The room itself could have used a little bit of updating, but overall it was clean, quiet, and a good place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012 via mobile

Although it took us an hour to find the hotel, this is in the best location of the city. It is a couple feet away from the metro station. It was close to Norte dame, the pompidou, Lourve museum, and many more. There are many delicious cafes with great breakfasts in the area. The service was nice, with the hotel managers easily accessible. The rooms were good enough with comfortable beds, flat screen televisions, and air condition. The hotel building is over 800 years old and is adorable. It is a classic French building in the heart of the city. I highly recommend it!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Indiana
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

This hotel is overall very good but do be careful to specify that you don't want the top floor unless you are able-bodied enough to carry your suitcases up one flight of winding stairs. The elevator, which is small, goes only to the next to last floor, so if you are at the top you must walk the final flight. Not too difficult usually but very challenging and somewhat dangerous with suitcases. Had help carrying them down for our checkout but no help offered upon check-in. The check-in desk clerk was generally unfriendly (arguing with another customer in front of us, for example) and indifferent. The room was fine for this price range in Paris. The location is great, except for the inconvenience of the current street closing. Upon checkout, they insisted on an extra 2-Euro charge for a tax, even though the room was prepaid. Not going to argue over 2 Euros, but still this left a sour taste.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alidalauf1607, Gérant at Grand Hotel Dechampaigne, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Dear Guest,
First of all, we would like to thank you for your guest comment.
We are surprised in reading our staff was indiferent, we take care of each one of the guests comming at the desk looking to make them feel like at home, we regret if you had a wrong feeling about the staff. We'll take this like a suggestion to be more carefull in the future.
The 2 euro requested upon departure are the local city tax (1 eur per person per day), wich is mandatory and is given to the public treasury each year, is never included in the price, is the same in all parisiens hotels.
Thank you for taking time in giving your feeling about your stay.
We'll be pleased to welcome you next time in Paris.
Best Regards,
Ms LAUFERON Owner
Ms Fernandez Front Desk Manager
Nicolas / Anna front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

My family, friends and I were staying in this hotel for many times in the past few years - mainly due to its good location. In the past the indifference of the staff was toleratable, it was more or less ok, and there were couple of people who made an effort. This time the experience was next to disastrous.
No welcome, no explanations, no nothing. The person on duty threw the keys in our direction without raising his head from the monitor.
No welcome drink, which used to be a good tradition.
The room was the smallest I have ever seen in this hotel ( stay away from room 202). As a loyal guest, you would expect more.
Promised free wifi was not working. After a long conversation with the hotel rep, it still did not work. After two days we have managed to join the network which was not even hotel's.
There is a renovation going across the street so the noise is unbearable.
grand hotel de champagne paris
Beds are uncomfortable and breakfast for 13 euro is a high way robbery.
On top of this we were in Paris on Bastille day. No one at the hotel warned us about this, and the fact that some metro stations will be closed, as well as some shops.
Also, I think that they are working with the most overpriced taxi in Paris. When we were taking off to the airport, the driver walked into the hotel, since the entrance street is blocked by the construction, picked us up. The meter was running all that time. I know taxis are tricky all ov the world, but all the worst experiences I had in Paris were happening in this hotel.
It such a shame that staff and owners do not care for their guests at all.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alidalauf1607, Gérant at Grand Hotel Dechampaigne, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Dear Madame,
Thanks for your review.
We wish to say that we can not uderstand why you never asked to change your room if you didn't had satisfaction. As you know the hotel the most easy is to say it imediatley upon arrival and don't wait till your check out to say "for next time i don't like to have this room" as per your feedback with our staff upon departure. We are really surprised about your review.
About the internet connection we think you were not doing the good procedure to connect on our wifi network, what we explain carefully to all our guests upon request and that it was working propely during your stay.
We regret the noice from the renovation around the corner, but we try our best to avoid inconvinience to our guests regarding this situation totaly out of our hands.
Corcerning the beds, we think your feedback regarding this matter in not justified because the mattress has been changed not long time ago.
Regarding Bastille Day all the satff said to the guests making requests about this special date, but as you didn't come to ask for nothing we think that you were aware about it.
We inform you that all the taxi drivers have a counter machine in service in the car to count the amount of each trajet, so normaly the traject to Charles de Gaulle airport cost around 65 eur and around 50 eur to Orly airport, we don't know how much you have paid, but we use to work with all the official taxis companies from Paris.
We feel you are rude on your feedback by this system and nothing told about all you complaints at the desk or to the manager. We regret very much this situation.
Thanks you anyway.
Best Regards,
Ms Lauferon - Owner
Ms Fernandez Front Desk Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Dechampaigne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Dechampaigne

Address: 17 rue Jean Lantier, 75001 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Louvre / Place Vendôme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#275 Family Hotel in Paris
#399 Business Hotel in Paris
#495 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Dechampaigne 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Dechampaigne Paris, built in the XVIth century, is the symbol of the French hospitality tradition, with delicate French decoration and architecture a refined service.Our staff will be pleased to welcome you in French, English, Spanish, Russian, Italian and German. The Grand Hotel Dechampaigne combines a high standard of comfort and the refined service of a friendly mansion within Paris: Few steps from, the Rivoli Street, les Halles, The Louvre Museum, Tuileries Garden, Concorde Square and Champs Elysees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Fastbooking, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hotel Dechampaigne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Dechampaigne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.