We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One plus and too many minuses” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Dechampaigne

Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel Dechampaigne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel Dechampaigne
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17 rue Jean Lantier, 75001 Paris, France (Louvre / Place Vendôme)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Free room upgrade
Ranked #551 of 1,794 hotels in Paris
Moscow
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“One plus and too many minuses”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

My family, friends and I were staying in this hotel for many times in the past few years - mainly due to its good location. In the past the indifference of the staff was toleratable, it was more or less ok, and there were couple of people who made an effort. This time the experience was next to disastrous.
No welcome, no explanations, no nothing. The person on duty threw the keys in our direction without raising his head from the monitor.
No welcome drink, which used to be a good tradition.
The room was the smallest I have ever seen in this hotel ( stay away from room 202). As a loyal guest, you would expect more.
Promised free wifi was not working. After a long conversation with the hotel rep, it still did not work. After two days we have managed to join the network which was not even hotel's.
There is a renovation going across the street so the noise is unbearable.
grand hotel de champagne paris
Beds are uncomfortable and breakfast for 13 euro is a high way robbery.
On top of this we were in Paris on Bastille day. No one at the hotel warned us about this, and the fact that some metro stations will be closed, as well as some shops.
Also, I think that they are working with the most overpriced taxi in Paris. When we were taking off to the airport, the driver walked into the hotel, since the entrance street is blocked by the construction, picked us up. The meter was running all that time. I know taxis are tricky all ov the world, but all the worst experiences I had in Paris were happening in this hotel.
It such a shame that staff and owners do not care for their guests at all.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alidalauf1607, Gérant at Grand Hotel Dechampaigne, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Dear Madame,
Thanks for your review.
We wish to say that we can not uderstand why you never asked to change your room if you didn't had satisfaction. As you know the hotel the most easy is to say it imediatley upon arrival and don't wait till your check out to say "for next time i don't like to have this room" as per your feedback with our staff upon departure. We are really surprised about your review.
About the internet connection we think you were not doing the good procedure to connect on our wifi network, what we explain carefully to all our guests upon request and that it was working propely during your stay.
We regret the noice from the renovation around the corner, but we try our best to avoid inconvinience to our guests regarding this situation totaly out of our hands.
Corcerning the beds, we think your feedback regarding this matter in not justified because the mattress has been changed not long time ago.
Regarding Bastille Day all the satff said to the guests making requests about this special date, but as you didn't come to ask for nothing we think that you were aware about it.
We inform you that all the taxi drivers have a counter machine in service in the car to count the amount of each trajet, so normaly the traject to Charles de Gaulle airport cost around 65 eur and around 50 eur to Orly airport, we don't know how much you have paid, but we use to work with all the official taxis companies from Paris.
We feel you are rude on your feedback by this system and nothing told about all you complaints at the desk or to the manager. We regret very much this situation.
Thanks you anyway.
Best Regards,
Ms Lauferon - Owner
Ms Fernandez Front Desk Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    163
    189
    50
    18
    16
See reviews for
92
185
27
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Quezon City, Philippines
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012 via mobile

After hours of train ride from Geneva heading to Paris. Weve arrived in the most underrated hotel in Paris, the Grand Hotel Dechampaigne.

I dont know if some hotels have been twistedly rated by hotel reviewers that this hotel has only 3-stars. Quite frankly, ive stayed in some 4-star hotels in Paris, but this one should be in that league. The room was very spacious with great interior that surely you will adore and most likely you would copy for your own room. The bathroom was huge and separated to the toilet which is very convenient if youre travelling with friends.

And lastly, the staff were so kind, friendly and attentive to your needs. Highly recommended to everyone who wants to stay in the very heart of Paris. This hotel is not so pricey that can compete with other overrated 4 stars.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope Island, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Our party of 4 stayed in 2 superior rooms for 5 days in June 2012. The hotel is cute and full of character and the staff all helped willingly on our adventures. Chose the breakfast most days. Even the smallest elevator in the western world was a hoot. Shopping for clothes, laundry and all the rest are just around the corner. We looked at apartments and other options but this proved the choice for value, location, convenience and did we mention location. A block and a bit from the Seine and easy walk or on-off bus to everywhere in the city that is a must see. And on every corner as you go, there is a wonderful cafe or restaurant worthy of your attention.

Room Tip: We had no noise trouble with rooms facing on to the street. By the time the builders start nearby, y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Our airline (United, in case anyone is wondering) cancelled our flight as we were leaving home so we lost one night at this hotel. When we finally arrived in Paris we went to our hotel but taxis could not reach it because of ongoing construction on the street. That's not their fault. But the streets are small and dirty and a bit intimidating if one is not accustomed to traveling. The hotel does not look at all like the drawing on their website; I keep looking for a building like it but could not find it until I saw the awnings.

Prior to our trip I saw their website and read that every guest would receive a glass of champagne since the hotel was celebrating its 450th anniversary. No such glass was made available to us which really surprised us since it is right on the front of their web page. Oh well. . .

We checked in without problem but we were quite surprised to see the small size of the room and the fact that we had only one bed when I had explicitly requested two beds. I did ask at the front desk and I was told I was given what I requested, which I doubt is true because I booked through a travel agent and he got 2 beds for us at our other hotel).

The WIFI NEVER worked and the safe did not work either. The decor was unusual - two holes on the sides of the bed were covered by inserting fake flowers into them. Very odd indeed for a newly renovated room. The bed-side tables were only large enough to hold a glass of water, so most of my things went on the floor.

The bathroom was small but worked flawlessly and we had no complaint about it. The closet was also very nice.

The breakfast was wonderful. I took breakfast alone as my nephew was too tired and the lady in charge of the restaurant prepared a tray for him to eat in the room. She was very pleasant.

We stayed on the 2nd floor. The elevator is very small - for only 1 person - but I actually like these charming "old world" elements. The stairs work perfectly and we were happy to take them.

The AC worked very well and kept the room at a comfortable temperature. The view from our window was not anything special but we were not expecting one, so I have no complaints.

I suppose my greatest problems were the lack of WIFI and a working safe and the fact that our room did not come with 2 beds as requested.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cullman, Alabama
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

The location of this hotel is great... very close to the Metro, it is between the Louvre and Notre Dame - both within an easy walk. There are plenty of shops and dining choices and there is a small convenience/grocery store just around the corner also. The room was clean and tidy and it was not small by European standards either. The wi-fi is speedy and gave no problems. Breakfast was just right each morning - I stayed 6 nights in June 2012. The staff was always VERY friendly from the first moment throughout my stay and was able to offer great recommendations. We took a dining recommendation and it turned out great - good food and excellent service. At check-out the staff was helpful in arranging transportation to the airport. All this adds up to an EXCELLENT rating. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, England
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

Had 4 nights stay here over last weekend in a superior double room and enjoyed it a lot. The hotel building itself is very old but they have kept character in the restoration. Our room had plenty of room for us but be aware that because of the age of the building you are not going to get huge, spacious, minimal, trendy rooms......

The room was spotless, had working air-conditioning and for us English tea fans, the novelty of a kettle and cups in the room! This last weekend was very hot in Paris and although we used the air-con a bit, we actually slept with the windows open all night and heard hardly any noise to disturb us during the night. Our only disappointment was that there wasn't a single English speaking TV channel available - they were all French and whilst I can understand quite a lot, my partner doesn't know any.Breakfast was quite sufficient with a buffet selection of cold meats and cheeses, yoghurts, pastries, bread and the most divine apple tart. Tea, coffee,hot chocolate and fruit juices were available to drink. Oh, the lift by the way is very, very small but works ok so no problem.

Location wise, the hotel is brilliantly situated. It is literally 50 yards from the Chatelet metro/RER station. We took the RER from the airport, got off at Chatelet, took the rue du Rivoli exit and then 2nd right and the hotel was there. Perfect. The river is 2 minutes stroll away, the Louvre approx 10 mins and there are just so many sights to see nearby - just brilliant.

Would I stay here again if I am lucky enough to go back to Paris? Yes, definitely.

(PS Sorry have tried to load some pics of room but they won't load...)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARYLAND
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Lots of pluses as others have written. A nicely restored 450 year old (this year!), But it now has a problem. If you sleep past 7 am in the morning, there is construction 10 yards away. Just began, and will probably continue for 6 months, at least. A major remodeling of another old building. Too bad, but I feel visitors should be warned.

Room Tip: Room 308. forget 102.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Hotel Dechampaigne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Dechampaigne

Address: 17 rue Jean Lantier, 75001 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Louvre / Place Vendôme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#289 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Dechampaigne 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Dechampaigne Paris, built in the XVIth century, is the symbol of the French hospitality tradition, with delicate French decoration and architecture a refined service.Our staff will be pleased to welcome you in French, English, Spanish, Russian, Italian and German. The Grand Hotel Dechampaigne combines a high standard of comfort and the refined service of a friendly mansion within Paris: Few steps from, the Rivoli Street, les Halles, The Louvre Museum, Tuileries Garden, Concorde Square and Champs Elysees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Fastbooking, BookingOdigeoWL and Despegar.com so you can book your Grand Hotel Dechampaigne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Dechampaigne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.